English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 December 2013, 06:31   #61
Olecranon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wisconsin - USA
Age: 49
Posts: 86
This is probably a dumb question, but I'll ask anyways.

Why aren't any of these cards 040 or 060 based? It's odd we had faster accelerators 20+ years ago. Is it because nobody makes a new 040 chip any longer, but the 030 chips are still available?
Olecranon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 December 2013, 07:23   #62
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olecranon View Post
This is probably a dumb question, but I'll ask anyways.

Why aren't any of these cards 040 or 060 based? It's odd we had faster accelerators 20+ years ago. Is it because nobody makes a new 040 chip any longer, but the 030 chips are still available?
The 030-ones are a little cheaper. 040 is a waste of time (dunno the prices) and sourcing 060's is expensive (yes they ask big money for this old processor!).
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 December 2013, 08:30   #63
crasbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 38
Also, Elbox doesn't have the knowledge to build such an accelerator.
68040 and 68060 are far more complex (and expensive) to adapt to the 68000 Bus.
crasbe is offline  
Old 18 December 2013, 23:00   #64
yssing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by crasbe View Post
Also, Elbox doesn't have the knowledge to build such an accelerator.
68040 and 68060 are far more complex (and expensive) to adapt to the 68000 Bus.
I very much doubt that is true. Besides, creating a 040/060 accelerator have been done quite a few times before.
yssing is offline  
Old 19 December 2013, 00:30   #65
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by crasbe View Post
Also, Elbox doesn't have the knowledge to build such an accelerator.
68040 and 68060 are far more complex (and expensive) to adapt to the 68000 Bus.
I love when people makes this kind of statements

Here is mine : All Elbox's employees have excellent skills to make sauerkraut.

PS. They adapted coldfire cpu to the 68000 bus
utri007 is offline  
Old 19 December 2013, 00:54   #66
crasbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by yssing View Post
I very much doubt that is true. Besides, creating a 040/060 accelerator have been done quite a few times before.
Yes, of course, but it requires quite some effort to do this with modern parts.

Well... if you don't want to make an accelerator, that's pushing the boundaries, it's easy...ish.
Then you can use a super tiny CPLD for the accelerator like on the Apollo-cards.

Georg Braun and Jens Schoenfeld built a very powerful and stable 68060-accelerator and these guys are probably the guys with the most experience in the german community.

Edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
[...]
PS. They adapted coldfire cpu to the 68000 bus
AFAIK there is no proove, that it ever worked. They showed the PCB, but not the software side.
If it would work, why isn't it on sale then? Needless to say that they sinked a whole lot of money into this thing.

Last edited by crasbe; 19 December 2013 at 01:02.
crasbe is offline  
Old 19 December 2013, 01:13   #67
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
The accelerator is due in February and right now a bit of 'cut them some slack' instead of 'proving that it's a hoax' might work better. Elbox has a backlog of not keeping up with what they say they will, but I think it's clear enough for now. Please keep this thread about updates for this accelerator.
TCD is offline  
Old 19 December 2013, 20:20   #68
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by crasbe View Post
Edit:

AFAIK there is no proove, that it ever worked. They showed the PCB, but not the software side.
If it would work, why isn't it on sale then? Needless to say that they sinked a whole lot of money into this thing.
So these photos must be fakes

http://tdolphin.org/amikrak/amizaduszki2006.php

Quote:
Update (11 November 2006): On 11 November 2006 we had presentation of DRAGON 1200 at Amizaduszki meeting in Krakow. Here are many pictures and movies from this meeting: pictures 1, pictures 2, movies: MOV and the same in MXVid.
utri007 is offline  
Old 19 December 2013, 21:55   #69
crasbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
No, they aren't. Well, there's one picture, that LOOKS, like it's working.
Maybe I was wrong, and the prototype was actually working... in some kind.

The main problem with the coldfire is, that it isn't binary compatible and Elbox noticed that at some point.
I don't know, if it's compatible enough to run AmigaOS, but with that CPLD on the board, you can't trap that.

So, MAYBE that can build a 68040/060 accelerator. I'm gonna believe it, when I can hold it in my hands.
crasbe is offline  
Old 09 January 2014, 01:31   #70
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
I'm gonna get a Kippper 8mb/cf card for one of my A500's, an ACA with my 1232 for one of my other 500s (if someone makes a nice case!) and an Elbox530 for a third one.. What's the problem??

Looking forward to this card! I have faith
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 09 January 2014, 12:50   #71
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by crasbe View Post
Georg Braun and Jens Schoenfeld built a very powerful and stable 68060-accelerator and these guys are probably the guys with the most experience in the german community.
They did? Which one?
alexh is offline  
Old 09 January 2014, 14:44   #72
crasbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
They did? Which one?
They did. This one: http://gb97816.homepage.t-online.de/gba_tk02.htm
crasbe is offline  
Old 09 January 2014, 15:17   #73
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
This accelerator seems very powerful, A500 owners really are getting spoiled for choice Straaange that news post didn't have any photos 2 months before release. Which makes me think it will be delayed. But that's maybe only negative speculation.

To address some stuff said above, acceleration on A500 is useful for anyone who uses Workbench, just like on all other Amigas. The faster the CPU, the better the experience. Some may also have a few special uses that makes them want a 68040 or 68060.

The reason why nobody builds a 68040 or 68060 accelerator anymore is that they would have to source used CPUs and give warranty on the accelerator with them inserted. 68030 CPUs, at least certain models, can be ordered NOS in quantity from Hong Kong cheaply.

I wouldn't mind seeing an upgrade path for people who do have old 68040/68060 accelerators and want to swap out the board and keep the CPU. But that's a little bit less of a "consumer product", even if most of the accelerators require quite a bit from the consumer already, so I really think they could normal, successful products, even when delivered without a CPU.

These CPUs are quite a step up from 030 and below, in performance but basically in every aspect imaginable, really quality products. So I hope it happens.
Photon is offline  
Old 09 January 2014, 16:29   #74
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post

The reason why nobody builds a 68040 or 68060 accelerator anymore is that they would have to source used CPUs and give warranty on the accelerator with them inserted. 68030 CPUs, at least certain models, can be ordered NOS in quantity from Hong Kong cheaply.
I think 68030 cpus are not being manufactured either
please note that Jens is using second hand 030s in ACA accelerators
Sandro is offline  
Old 09 January 2014, 22:14   #75
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
The point was that he doesn't; that some electronics dealers around the world still have new CPUs manufactured in the 1990s in stock (NOS=New Old Stock).

Extensive burn-in and testing of used CPUs (as well as finding various boards that have the correct CPU model to remove, clean up, and inspect) is very time-consuming.
Photon is offline  
Old 09 January 2014, 23:12   #76
AMike
Registered User
AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by crasbe View Post
Georg Braun and Jens Schoenfeld built a very powerful and stable 68060-accelerator and these guys are probably the guys with the most experience in the german community.
To be more precise - Georg Braun was the mastermind and built this card. Jens gave him few tips - thats all.
AMike is offline  
Old 10 January 2014, 11:49   #77
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMike View Post
To be more precise - Georg Braun was the mastermind and built this card. Jens gave him few tips - thats all.
Really? I think that "teaching how to use SD-Ram" and "making CPLD source codes available" is a tiny bit more than "a few tips". Georg will surely confirm the myriads of eMails with all the details. They're not only on his, but also on my harddrive.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 10 January 2014, 16:13   #78
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
The 68060 CPU are still available new. Ridiculous cost though, nearly 300 EUR from memory. I'm sure there would still be a market for the accelerator even at this price though.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 10 January 2014, 16:26   #79
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
The 68060 CPU are still available new. Ridiculous cost though, nearly 300 EUR from memory. I'm sure there would still be a market for the accelerator even at this price though.
I doubt there would be a market. However users can get a regular supply of them from former telecom equipment. But would a vendor make a "BYOC" accelerator?
alexh is offline  
Old 15 January 2014, 23:10   #80
AMike
Registered User
AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 114
Just in case if someone needs a little advice to build a 060 board for the Amiga.

http://www.gb97816.homepage.t-online.de/gba_tk02.htm
http://www.gb97816.homepage.t-online.de/projekte.htm
AMike is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Harms 68030 Accelerator for A500 Kai Hardware mods 2 05 May 2011 15:07
For sale: 50 MHz 68030 accelerator for A1200 with 128MB RAM Photon MarketPlace 1 19 October 2009 19:05
WTB: 68030 or 68040 accelerator for A2000 Shadowfire MarketPlace 2 19 September 2009 18:52
FS: Microbotics M1230 XA 68030+MMU+FPU 50Mhz Accelerator 64MB Silver MarketPlace 3 17 May 2009 16:54
Amiga A1200 68030 Accelerator with 32meg ram for sale.. Big-Byte MarketPlace 1 12 February 2006 20:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24112 seconds with 11 queries