English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 December 2013, 03:38   #21
crasbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
But will it fit inside if you have an Indivision ECS installed though?
Feel free to send an e-mail to turboflyer@elbox.com
Maybe you're gonna get an answer...
As elbox hasn't posted any fotos or benchmarks or other evidences of the existance of their announced accelerator, only they know.

An answer to your question: A clear 'maybe'.
crasbe is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 December 2013, 04:29   #22
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Delshay's doesn't count

You 9.5mb/sec is impressive though, I've squeezed about 8mb/sec out of my old MkII FastATA
No, yes I know . But this is from Paul1981 And I was wrong; 9,500 has always been with my MKII, the same than yours. Now with the MKIV is around 8.xxx ... don't remember, but I haven't look much, perhaps I've got another Pio to try; I installed it fast -and on the safe way-.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 04:41   #23
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by crasbe View Post
Feel free to send an e-mail to turboflyer@elbox.com
Maybe you're gonna get an answer...
As elbox hasn't posted any fotos or benchmarks or other evidences of the existance of their announced accelerator, only they know.

An answer to your question: A clear 'maybe'.
Not really that bothered, invested in an ACA500 + ACA1232 which is actually being sold and not 'vapourware'
BarryB is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 10:32   #24
meckert
Registered User

meckert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 162
From what I read it was developed for some time but everyone who knew was asked for discretion. apparently the didn`t want to spread the news until they were 100% sure they will sell the product.
meckert is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 10:34   #25
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by meckert View Post
From what I read it was developed for some time but everyone who knew was asked for discretion. apparently the didn`t want to spread the news until they were 100% sure they will sell the product.
So how about a picture that shows how it fits together with Indivision ECS?

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 13:46   #26
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Sounds like a lot of FUD to me.
Arnie is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 15:12   #27
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 407
Me also. And even if it wasn't I'd prefer to buy Jen's stuff to theirs. To my knowledge he hasn't written any routines that may accidentally blow away my HD in his drivers.
tin is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 15:37   #28
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,025
Jens has a different kind of business ethics. I think the last time it was to sell the Indivision and having paying customers wait over a year until the firmware and software was released (does it work correctly yet?). He's less interested in taking away the contents of your hard drive, and more focused on figuring out ways to take away the contents of your wallet.

In any case it's too early to call Elbox out on this until we've passed February. Or February next year, I think they deserve the same breaks Jens got on the Indivision.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 16:24   #29
crasbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 38
IMHO an accelerator is less complex than a FPGA powered Framebuffer with DVI output.

In the a1k, we have half a dozen people, who can build a 68030-accelerator from scratch. But something like the Indivision AGA Mk2 (I think that is, what you meant) can only be built by one person. Jens.

Well... the others haven't tried yet, but anyway... an 68030 accelerator can be built with a few logic gates. A memory interface too, if you try.
The Indivision has a fat FPGA with 6000(?) Logic Elements. That are a few hundret thousand gates. You see the difference?

BTW: Elbox is interested in taking away both the contents of your hard drive and the contents of your wallet.
They're selling a 5€ USB-card from china with some bits flipped in the configuration ROM for more than 80€ with an illegal copy of Poseidon....
crasbe is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 16:58   #30
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Wow cool, hopefully elbox will come through with this, and i am surprised at all the skeptics in here every time someone apart from Jens releases a new Amiga product!

I am thinking of adding an A500 into my collection and would like to be able to whdload on it.
The ACA500 seems limited with only 2mb of fast ram, which really isn't enough for larger whdload games to run 100% smoothly in, plus the elbox has a much faster cpu on it without the need of adding in a 2nd accelerator.

I can't wait And it's always good to have competition!
hansel75 is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 17:56   #31
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by crasbe View Post
btw: Elbox is interested in taking away both the contents of your hard drive and the contents of your wallet.
They're selling a 5 usb-card from china with some bits flipped in the configuration rom for more than 80 with an illegal copy of poseidon....
this
tin is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 19:14   #32
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,025
That's not what I meant with bad business ethics. All stores and shops do this, they need margins on the items they sell. AmigaKit f.ex buys adapters and CF cards and slap their own stickers on them and then mark up the price by €10-15.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 08 December 2013, 19:57   #33
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Let's please keep this thread about the accelerator and news for it. Thank you.
TCD is offline  
Old 09 December 2013, 18:09   #34
imigger
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: england
Posts: 135
I would be interested but 16mb isn't enough these days , I want at least 128mb or 256mb that would be nice .
imigger is offline  
Old 09 December 2013, 18:21   #35
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by imigger View Post
I would be interested but 16mb isn't enough these days , .
Enough for what?
I have 128M in my 1200, but to be honest, when I had 8M, it ran everything I am running today on my 1200...
There might be something I couldn't run, but I can't think of what...

Now, more memory is always a good thing, but I would think 16M is enough for most original Amiga owners.

Especially out of an 030.. I would think the things that might need more than 16M would really want more than an 030 also...

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 09 December 2013, 21:31   #36
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 407
Have to agree. Struggle to fill 16mb.
tin is offline  
Old 09 December 2013, 21:34   #37
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Yes but if we want stuff like decent web browser we need more ram.
lukassid is offline  
Old 09 December 2013, 21:57   #38
damiraga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina
Posts: 33
I welcome another A500 accelerator to this small market. We need competition if not for better prices, then for better products.

As for included RAM, classic Amiga and OS3.9 have not been usable for modern (everyday) use (incl. web browsing) since 2000, and no amount of RAM would change that.
damiraga is offline  
Old 09 December 2013, 23:22   #39
mfletcher
Bawbag.

mfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 368
Two More Weeks? (tm)
mfletcher is offline  
Old 10 December 2013, 20:10   #40
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukassid View Post
Yes but if we want stuff like decent web browser we need more ram.

And a quadrazillion mhz 060. HTML has gone completely bonkers that it requires so much CPU to render what it is supposed to look like.
tin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Harms 68030 Accelerator for A500 Kai Hardware mods 2 05 May 2011 15:07
For sale: 50 MHz 68030 accelerator for A1200 with 128MB RAM Photon MarketPlace 1 19 October 2009 19:05
WTB: 68030 or 68040 accelerator for A2000 Shadowfire MarketPlace 2 19 September 2009 18:52
FS: Microbotics M1230 XA 68030+MMU+FPU 50Mhz Accelerator 64MB Silver MarketPlace 3 17 May 2009 16:54
Amiga A1200 68030 Accelerator with 32meg ram for sale.. Big-Byte MarketPlace 1 12 February 2006 20:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38149 seconds with 11 queries