English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 December 2013, 22:32   #1
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 133
A500 graphics card

Anyone seen this:

http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread....ne+grafikkarte

I think it's great! I just love all the hardware projects that are cropping up lately

I just wonder were to get a graphics chip like that - time to dig in my old PC parts box ...
chaos is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 December 2013, 23:27   #2
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos View Post
I just wonder were to get a graphics chip like that - time to dig in my old PC parts box ...
Why? FPGA can be better than CL GD5434.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 05 December 2013, 23:31   #3
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
Why? FPGA can be better than CL GD5434.
I agree, I'd love to do a CPU accelerator / graphics card / ethernet / sound card in a FPGA for the A500, if only someone would help me write the Picasso96 / AHI / SANA drivers
chaos is online now  
Old 23 January 2015, 12:51   #4
Matze
 
Posts: n/a
The Cirrus Logic GD5434 is very well available as new old stock in Hong Kong for less than 10$/pcs.!

Of course is a FPGA-design nicer, but who writes the driver? This VGA-chip has a working driver. A mixture of PicassoII+ and the PiccoloSD64, which gives you the speed of the Piccolo and the compatibility of the Picasso !

Best regards
 
Old 23 January 2015, 14:16   #5
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matze View Post
Of course is a FPGA-design nicer, but who writes the driver? This VGA-chip has a working driver. A mixture of PicassoII+ and the PiccoloSD64, which gives you the speed of the Piccolo and the compatibility of the Picasso !
Then FPGA with same registers as in CL/VGA - in fact most of FPGA's video cores is VGA like... perhaps slightly modified driver is sufficient - some WinUAE compatible interface (i believe Toni emulate real HW) is a guide how to create FPGA interface (speed and additional functionality can be better than on real Picasso).

btw i don't like a1k as they prevent to display attachments (at least pictures) without login...
pandy71 is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 16:38   #6
Matze
 
Posts: n/a
Of course 90% of the cirrus is standard VGA-stuff and easily implementable for FPGA-Logic, BUT (written very big!):

A VGA Chip also handles the digital to analog conversion (DAC) for RGB-Output. Furthermore the VGA-Chips compensates the temperature drift within the DAC to guaranty the color correctness.

Try this with an FPGA!

If you want RGB, you need at least a external DAC. If you want to implement DVI /HDMI/DisplayPort you can avoid this, but then the complexity of your FPGA increases. DVI looks simple but it is hard to implement, because you have to deal with a lot of bad designed Monitors...

Regarding A1k-Image policy:

AFAK that's because of German laws in combination with recent spam-bot attacks:

There have been lawyers, who cooperate with spam-bots, who post illegal stuff. Afterwards the lawyer impeaches the forum to press charges. A very nice and friendly business model! Unfortunately German law is very lawyer friendly in this case and you have little chances to get a fair trial with no costs.

So: No attachments without login and the first five posts are checked by a mod, then you can upload images.

Best regards
 
Old 23 January 2015, 16:53   #7
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Thanks for your replies Matze, very interesting project you have there!

Would this also work in a Zorro 2 equipped Amiga? (I can see a cut-out PCB part...)

Thanks!
jbenam is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 17:51   #8
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matze View Post
Of course 90% of the cirrus is standard VGA-stuff and easily implementable for FPGA-Logic, BUT (written very big!):
Even today modern GPU retain old VGA structure...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matze View Post
A VGA Chip also handles the digital to analog conversion (DAC) for RGB-Output. Furthermore the VGA-Chips compensates the temperature drift within the DAC to guaranty the color correctness.

Try this with an FPGA!
First this sound odd (this is CL datasheet?), second time when CL was released, only ancient IC technology (when compared to nowadays) was available - previously integration analog and digital at the same die was very challenging - today... today there is no FPGA with DAC integrated (AFAIK) so unavoidable is to use external video DAC - then thermal compensation is not needed. (But i can imagine single bit video DAC similar to single bit audio DAC's - not sure only if with low oversampling ratio it will provide sufficient dynamic)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matze View Post
If you want RGB, you need at least a external DAC. If you want to implement DVI /HDMI/DisplayPort you can avoid this, but then the complexity of your FPGA increases. DVI looks simple but it is hard to implement, because you have to deal with a lot of bad designed Monitors...
That's my point - as analog video dying anyway, external HDMI/DP transmitter will be sufficient for almost all customers (high chance that in less than 5 years from now there will be no TV's with analog input at all).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matze View Post
Regarding A1k-Image policy:

AFAK that's because of German laws in combination with recent spam-bot attacks:

There have been lawyers, who cooperate with spam-bots, who post illegal stuff. Afterwards the lawyer impeaches the forum to press charges. A very nice and friendly business model! Unfortunately German law is very lawyer friendly in this case and you have little chances to get a fair trial with no costs.

So: No attachments without login and the first five posts are checked by a mod, then you can upload images.

Best regards
Not sure about German law but this sound weird - things you describing is plainly cyber crime and as such is pursued by any normal country.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 22:31   #9
BigFan
Registered User

BigFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
Not sure about German law but this sound weird - things you describing is plainly cyber crime and as such is pursued by any normal country.
It is weird and it's not true. As a hoster you are partially responsible what means you have to delete content that violates the law immediately after you have been informed about this.

And laws in germany aren't better or worse than those in the states or uk. If you don't care, then the lawyers get a homerun.

Blackmailing like descripted above would lead to withdrawal of admission as attorney.
BigFan is offline  
Old 24 January 2015, 04:51   #10
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
love the design, don't like anything external on the a500, the a500 is wide enough without taking up more desk space. especially when it's open
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 December 2015, 11:54   #11
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
Card(s) for sale, account required http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=52795

Last edited by s2325; 16 December 2015 at 14:14.
s2325 is offline  
Old 16 December 2015, 17:52   #12
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 349
Could someone share some pics of the device here, and some detailed specs?
brett71 is offline  
Old 17 December 2015, 00:16   #13
Foxman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by brett71 View Post
Could someone share some pics of the device here, and some detailed specs?
http://amiga68k.de/2015/12/14/neue-g...vorbestellbar/

Your can change the language to english directly on the page.
Foxman is offline  
Old 17 December 2015, 14:49   #14
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxman View Post
http://amiga68k.de/2015/12/14/neue-g...vorbestellbar/

Your can change the language to english directly on the page.
I was interested in this... Then I looked at the price. 229. What.

I know it's bad form to criticise Amiga HW prices, but this one takes the cake. You can read in this same thread that the Cirrus Logic chips used are sold for cheap, so I can't fathom where such a high price is coming from - especially considering that there wasn't much software development needed at all, as it reuses pre-existing P96 drivers.
jbenam is offline  
Old 17 December 2015, 15:01   #15
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I dunno, manufacturing costs (those connectors aren't cheap). Hours spent on PCB design?

It is what it is, One off Amiga stuff is expensive.

I wonder if it has a pass thru for the ACA?
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 December 2015, 16:32   #16
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
I dunno, manufacturing costs (those connectors aren't cheap). Hours spent on PCB design?

It is what it is, One off Amiga stuff is expensive.

I wonder if it has a pass thru for the ACA?
Recommended CPU is 020 or 030 so hogging the expansion port without pass-through will make satisfying those recommended specs... hard..
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 17 December 2015, 17:40   #17
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
(those connectors aren't cheap)
You're probably thinking of the A1200/A4000 connectors - this card uses neither, just bog standard connectors that can be bought for peanuts.

But you make a good point - he might've spent a lot of time on this. I suppose it's just for people with deeper pockets than mine
jbenam is offline  
Old 17 December 2015, 20:51   #18
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
FPGA is cheaper and better - some open cores with VGA++ (also 2D/3D acceleration exists with simple texturing can be added or direct integration with Amiga graphics).
pandy71 is offline  
Old 17 December 2015, 21:01   #19
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
FPGA is cheaper and better - some open cores with VGA++ (also 2D/3D acceleration exists with simple texturing can be added or direct integration with Amiga graphics).
Will you write the drivers?
Megol is offline  
Old 17 December 2015, 21:05   #20
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 302
So, will you make one?

Thanks,
McT

Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
FPGA is cheaper and better - some open cores with VGA++ (also 2D/3D acceleration exists with simple texturing can be added or direct integration with Amiga graphics).
McTrinsic is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Merlin graphics card ceaser support.Hardware 10 20 May 2011 09:50
Graphics Card Wanted Miked MarketPlace 0 15 May 2006 20:51
1084S to PC Graphics Card???? pepemama support.Hardware 2 28 January 2006 09:27
Which Graphics Card ? THX1138 support.Hardware 36 27 January 2003 17:39
New graphics card...New problems! AdamSelene support.WinUAE 13 20 July 2002 05:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22717 seconds with 11 queries