English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 November 2002, 13:44   #1
Iron Butterfly
 
Posts: n/a
WB Launch probs

I have written a little prog in asm that just displays a gfx. I used the HowtoCode7 startup code. The gfx file was just incbin'd into the prog. It worked when I clicked the icon Devpac created.

I changed it to load the gfx from disk and now the icon launch fails. It just flashes and nothing happens, but it works from the Shell and also from Devpac->RUN.

Does anyone know why this might be?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 05 November 2002, 14:06   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
Be sure that the prog is maked as EXECUTABLE in WB Information !
RetroMan is offline  
Old 05 November 2002, 16:41   #3
Iron Butterfly
 
Posts: n/a
Yes, it is. It tries to execute, but fails...
 
Old 06 November 2002, 12:43   #4
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
I don't know if you're trying this out on a real Amiga or on an emulator (?)
If it happens on the real Amiga, your program has a bug.
If it happens on the emulator, it could be an emulation problem...
andreas is offline  
Old 06 November 2002, 21:18   #5
Jherek Carnelia
Dazed and Confused
Jherek Carnelia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: portsmouth/uk
Posts: 225
I had a similar problem. I cured it by making the filename the complete filepath , alternatively you could make an assign (before you run) to the directory the files are in and use the assign in the filename, i.e - dc.b "myassign:myfile",0.

As an aside I tried to make calls to DOS Lock(), CurrentDir() & UnLock() thinking that this might do it, however I couldn't get the program to run at all!

(I still think that the DOS calls are the answer (probably I'm completely wrong) but I'm buggered if I know how to do it!
Jherek Carnelia is offline  
Old 07 November 2002, 18:10   #6
Iron Butterfly
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks.
I'll try it and let you know.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AG Launch 7c not working in MultiBoot. spannernick Amiga scene 1 18 June 2012 12:50
how to launch games with no icon ? phaistos project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 10 03 December 2009 18:22
How do you launch your retro games? plankton Retrogaming General Discussion 3 25 November 2009 13:25
Program Launch zeke1312 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 13 January 2008 06:27
On WinUAE launch Unregistered support.WinUAE 3 06 August 2004 16:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16072 seconds with 11 queries