English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 November 2013, 21:50   #1
ghost_of_war
Registered User
ghost_of_war's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 45
Posts: 57
Help this dumb Yankee...

Hello fellow Amiga users, I am using an A500 that I acquired from another Yank here in the 'States... my question is, the machine is NTSC and I found a fellow in the UK that has several great game titles available, but they're PAL... will they still load and work in my NTSC machine? Bear in mind, I am using a lousy A520 adapter as well... thanks for your time!
ghost_of_war is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 November 2013, 06:43   #2
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,102
They may work, does your A500 have the Fat Angus? You can use some software switches to make the machine boot into PAL and all the European games will work. But here is the catch, you will need a PAL capable monitor or TV. So you can't use your A520 in PAL. Try the games in NTSC and see if they work, some do.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 14 November 2013, 14:04   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
The above is not entirely correct.

Booting an NTSC Amiga into "PAL" mode actually boots it into a 50hz NTSC mode, therefore you do NOT need a PAL-capable TV, but rather a TV which will display a 50hz signal.

Do yourself a huge favour and invest in a RGB SCART to Component converter. The picture quality from the A520 is absolutely appalling.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 15 November 2013, 02:32   #4
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,102
Not true, I could not correctly display the 50Hz NTSC screen on my American NTSC TV! The screen would roll really bad and was not usable. On the other hand an A600 that was PAL was able to display a B&W screen that was clean. Weird.

Yes it may not do 100% EU spec PAL, but it does produce a 50Hz screen: Which I have found is incompatible with most NTSC TV's. RGB monitors is a different story.

But OP should just try it on his TV and see if it works. Not all TV's are the same.

Last edited by TjLaZer; 15 November 2013 at 02:43.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 16 November 2013, 15:57   #5
tesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vista, Calif
Posts: 194
We don't have Scart in North America.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
The above is not entirely correct.

Booting an NTSC Amiga into "PAL" mode actually boots it into a 50hz NTSC mode, therefore you do NOT need a PAL-capable TV, but rather a TV which will display a 50hz signal.

Do yourself a huge favour and invest in a RGB SCART to Component converter. The picture quality from the A520 is absolutely appalling.
tesla is offline  
Old 16 November 2013, 18:30   #6
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 914
But you do have component, therefore the SCART-to-component converter
ajk is offline  
Old 16 November 2013, 19:10   #7
tesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vista, Calif
Posts: 194
If I have this right, (I must have it wrong) your saying that the NTSC Amiga has a scart output? (to be converted to component?)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
But you do have component, therefore the SCART-to-component converter
tesla is offline  
Old 16 November 2013, 19:38   #8
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 914
There is no SCART connector on the Amiga of course, but you can use an off-the-shelf DB23-SCART cable between the Amiga and the converter. SCART is not a signal type but a connector.

Of course if there is another kind of RGB-component converter available that has some other type of input connector on it, that's fine too.
ajk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Probably a dumb question.. xlar54 support.Other 6 03 January 2010 21:20
Team Yankee mai HOL contributions 0 10 March 2009 12:53
Team Yankee Asle HOL data problems 0 21 December 2008 00:49
REQ: Team Yankee & Snoopy CDTV mk1 request.Old Rare Games 6 14 September 2007 18:18
Probably a really dumb question... BumpyCarrot New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 28 February 2003 02:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17479 seconds with 11 queries