English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

Old 27 October 2013, 12:36   #1
SuperPlay

Another help me with a 4GB CF card setup post

Please help!

I am now into my second day of trying to get my A1200 to boot Classic WorkBench from a 4GB CF card.

I have never done this before so I have been reading all sorts of forum posts and watched several videos on YouTube and I still cannot make this work in a my real A1200. I am now lost in all of the available information.

Setup:

Roms 3.00 39.106
Board REV 2B
Transcend 4GB CF x133

Summary!

Day 1:

Guided by:

[ Show youtube player ]

Cleared the cards partition using Windows 'diskpart' command
Booted into WB 3.1 and selected 'HD ToolBox'
This displayed the error "'Unit is not a disk' (Type 7)" when I selected ' read drive information'
If I ignored this is only lets me see the drive as a 20MB (or it may have been 10MB!)

So I moved on and tired HDinst (from Aminet)

This recognised the drive, so I set up the partitions and clicked "use" and then SAVE however on a reboot all of the partitions vanish!

Day 2:

Guided by:

[ Show youtube player ]

Using WinUAE
Add CF card as Hard Drive
Booted WB 3.1
Changed properties of 'HD toolbox' to SCSI_DEVICE_NAME=uaehf.device
Loaded HD ToolBox which does not show the "'Unit is not a disk' (Type 7)" error when 'read drive information' is selected.

Created partitions of:

DH0: 200 Meg (Bootable)
DH1: 1815 Meg
DH2: 1799 Meg

Changed the MaxTransfer to 0x1FE00 on all partitions

Installed Classic Workbench Lite using my WB 3.0 disks and all works perfect in WinUAE

Put the CF into my real 1200 and no boot, I just get the insert disk animation.

Boot from WB 3.1 disk
Run 'HD ToolBox' it sees a drive on 0 0 UNKNOWN
all I can do is select 'change drive type' all other options are greyed out.

Where now?

Old 27 October 2013, 13:05   #2
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

hi have a look at my guides in sig but you cant use the 3.9 use the lite