English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 October 2013, 18:55   #1
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,153
final fight aga last demo in the zone !!!!

ok, i just uploaded in the zone a version with startup-sequence.
Just launch winuae, set in the quickstart menu : model a1200.
Then drag and drop the zipped file (FFAGA_ALPHA1.5) in the hard drives menu... Then, just push start and it should work.
Hope you will like it.
ps: don't forget to give your feeds back in this thread http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=66639&page=8
turrican3 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 October 2013, 20:22   #2
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,153
i add my configs files + the game, cli with startup-sequence version in the original thread. http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=66639&page=8

Hope you will enjoy.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 21 October 2013, 21:40   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
That looks pretty bad ass!
The main criticism is that the enemies don't react in the same way as the original.
I got to the end of the first level and the brown guy just never dies, I suppose this is on purpose on your part?

Keep up the great work
Akira is offline  
Old 21 October 2013, 22:11   #4
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,153
no normally every bad guy could be killed, there is a second level in our demo.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 22 October 2013, 00:47   #5
leathered
Registered User

leathered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
That looks pretty bad ass!
The main criticism is that the enemies don't react in the same way as the original.
I got to the end of the first level and the brown guy just never dies, I suppose this is on purpose on your part?

Keep up the great work
A valid criticism. It's obviously near impossible to replicate the arcade AI 1:1, we're largely looking at creating a game based on the original and taking some artistic license when it comes to it all including gameplay.
Currently the energy levels for the last 2 characters in stage 1 are higher than the arcade, this is actually a by product of testing and may need some tweaking.
One of the brown suited goons with the Elvis sideburns (Slash) will sometimes block but can still be thrown when blocking. The acrobatic goon (Hollywood) is missing his knife throw and has a weird 'Dim Mak nerve chi technique' where he just rushes at you and knocks you down a bug!
But both can be beaten and the pipe is unblockable if you can keep it until then.

The difficulty level is quite high which is purposeful, it's basically the engine throwing all it can at you to bring you down, as cheaply as possible.
I think for the short demo the difficulty level is just about right but there remains to be done a lot of balancing and some re-structuring of the sub-systems that connect the frames and change the way that some of the interactions work. So feedback is vital in getting it together and your comments are much appreciated!
leathered is offline  
Old 22 October 2013, 01:08   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Yeah I understand it would be impossible to get a 1:1 conversion just by looking at it, without starting a meticulously obsessive task of disassembling the original arcade and figuring it out, I would guess a task akin to Neo seeing things in "Matrix mode" .

But it's pretty evident as it is now which comes out weird. The fighters attack too much, and the brown guy just blocks EVERY hit I make, I can't proceed to the next level! It's not like that in the arcade at all. At least not in level one!

I just think that if you pay a bit more attention to the original you can balance it out more It's a great work nevertheless, looking forward to more progress!
Akira is offline  
Old 22 October 2013, 02:11   #7
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,153
for the last guy you should try to come from the bottom and catch him. That's true that the last guy is more difficult.
But the 2nd stage is one to see, this is the soddom stage, you now in a ring.
really great ! The soddom's stage is graphically very near the original one.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 22 October 2013, 03:57   #8
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,153
2 nd stage picture.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 22 October 2013, 18:05   #9
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,153
the demo is updated, should work for everybody now.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 22 October 2013, 18:07   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
for the last guy you should try to come from the bottom and catch him. That's true that the last guy is more difficult.
It shouldn't be like that really. It doesn't behave like the arcade one at all. You don't need to grab him in the arcade to beat him.

Also is it possible to jump? I didn't figure that out.
Akira is offline  
Old 22 October 2013, 19:07   #11
leathered
Registered User

leathered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 304
You need a 2 button stick. Slash can be beaten without grabbing him, and doesn't block all your attacks. Using one button however is a severe handicap! On the whole, most arcade players will be doing a fair amount of grabs as they take off a lot of energy, score you a lot of points and can round off a combo. There are also several frames of invulnerability to some of the attacks.
You're right though, we've got to look at the AI on the whole and get it up to scratch.

Last edited by leathered; 22 October 2013 at 19:31.
leathered is offline  
Old 23 October 2013, 13:41   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Maybe you should check out my WinUAE config, but Slash IS blocking my every attack. I can post a video for proof :P
Akira is offline  
Old 23 October 2013, 15:51   #13
leathered
Registered User

leathered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 304
You mean for the buttons? The config shouldn't affect anything in the code – since you've got it running.

Slash currently will only defend if advancing directly for an attack or if he is walking away – even then there is a small chance he can be hit as his AI 'slot' changes in which case it re-initialises and sets the defence flag to 0. If he's coming in at an angle, trying to sneak around you then he cannot defend.

I set the flags on for more slots than it is off to give the guy a fighting chance and to present a challenge for the demo with limited AI. He may be defending too much, but he cannot defend everything. Until revisions that's just the way it is.

Last edited by leathered; 28 October 2013 at 01:34. Reason: tidying up
leathered is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beats of Fire leathered Amiga scene 590 09 December 2017 21:26
New game vs Final Fight leathered Amiga scene 8 28 April 2013 21:39
Final Fight AGA? Amiga Forever Coders. General 15 25 April 2011 16:15
Final Fight Dastardly support.Games 3 02 June 2003 00:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24928 seconds with 11 queries