English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 March 2014, 16:01   #81
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,749
I think we can see where Spirantho is coming from. This project is effectively the successor to the MAS player. While it's features overlap some of the features of a re-target-able sound card that was not the purpose of it's invention.

I do question if there is a market for a Music Player on the Classic Amiga.

Whereas there certainly is a market for a sound card.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 March 2014, 22:15   #82
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 282
I think the real test will be - will the music sputter or click or pop if you are also doing other heavy, cpu intensive things, like web browsing, lots of disk activity, or lots of graphic activity?

Hopefully it will be rock solid.

It won't have zero CPU load because the data still has to come from the hard disk drive and travel through the system to the zorro bus (or clock port) and out to the prisma, so I estimate minimum 5-10% cpu usage on a 68060 just to get the data "out the door" so to speak. It could be more if coming from a PIO hard drive.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 21 March 2014, 15:33   #83
Spirantho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aberystwyth, Wales
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenHD View Post
I think the real test will be - will the music sputter or click or pop if you are also doing other heavy, cpu intensive things, like web browsing, lots of disk activity, or lots of graphic activity?

Hopefully it will be rock solid.

It won't have zero CPU load because the data still has to come from the hard disk drive and travel through the system to the zorro bus (or clock port) and out to the prisma, so I estimate minimum 5-10% cpu usage on a 68060 just to get the data "out the door" so to speak. It could be more if coming from a PIO hard drive.
You will never get the audio rock solid if you're doing lots of disk activity. If the process can't get the data (because another process is chewing up the data source, especially the slow IDE bus if you use that) then obviously the card won't be able to carry on playing. What's important in this case is that the card cleanly stops until data is available again.
There are ways to lessen the problem, though - by changing the disk buffer size you can minimise disk access, and make it load in larger lumps of data at a time. Of course this requires more RAM (Can't have your cake and it, after all).
It should be less than 5% of a 68060 as the IRQ is pretty optimal now (it has to run on a 68000, after all), but when the disk activity kicks in that'll all change - not a lot I can do about that if you're using IDE.

I'm currently hooking the IRQ into a CIA timer, but I can also use the VBL which may make things more reliable (but it's a bit less "clean").
Spirantho is offline  
Old 21 March 2014, 19:46   #84
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,489
@Spirantho:
Is that right you are writing the software (ahi driver, ...)? If yes, can you explain what is the difference between other sound cards (I`m still not sure if I understood)? Especially, using music software. Other cards have more then two channels, ok. For me, and the most others, more then 2 channels aren`t used. DigiboosterPro uses only 2 channels. Sampling Software needs one or two channels. SoundFX can handle multiple channels but I guess nobody need that.

So what can be done with the old know sound cards what can`t with Prisma?
daxb is offline  
Old 22 March 2014, 19:56   #85
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,250
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
When do you think it will be available?

Will it be able to play radio streams like the MAS?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 26 March 2014, 17:10   #86
Spirantho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aberystwyth, Wales
Posts: 16
@daxb
Yes, I am.
It's less a sound card and more a music card. It's a card dedicated to streaming audio, not to playing spot effects - so if you're usage is music it's an excellent device. What it can't do it (for example) play games like a proper sound card (Soundblaster sort of thing).

@Retrofan
Don't know yet.. still got a few thing to iron out yet.
Will it play radio streams? If someone adds support, sure. The writer of the radio player would have to support it, either via prisma.library or the MHI device. Possibly the AHI....
Spirantho is offline  
Old 20 April 2014, 03:35   #87
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,685
What do we have here



amigakit.com is offline  
Old 20 April 2014, 11:57   #88
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 299
C'mon, give us a preorder button now!
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 20 April 2014, 13:26   #89
tomse
We need more scans!

tomse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 41
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbob42 View Post
C'mon, give us a preorder button now!
Or free samples...

"the first is for free....." ;-)

Still no idea what the price will be ?
tomse is offline  
Old 21 April 2014, 12:32   #90
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
What do we have here

Mmmm sexy
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 22 April 2014, 18:45   #91
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 218
Gimme gimme!
Reido is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 01:32   #92
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
[ Show youtube player ]

NovaCoder is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 01:45   #93
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,250
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I must have some problem with the sound because I hardly hear anything of your video.

Edit: Forget it, it plays ok, don't know what happened.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 12:56   #94
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Does it work for mixing CD music with Games like T-Zer0 and Payback?

I have a CDROM in my A1200 but no way as yet to mix CD Audio.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 13:26   #95
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,685
Yes of course. It has a CDDA header on it for mixing CDDA input with Paula/Prisma.

@Novacoder

Thanks for the great video demonstrating Prisma with your Duke Nukem port :-)
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 14:03   #96
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks, it's becoming a tempting upgrade for my A1200

Last edited by fitzsteve; 26 April 2014 at 14:23.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 14:19   #97
CMTX
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Mallorca es Funki
Posts: 24
It's a real pitty that Megamix doesn't support full AHI. I hope future versions will do, because I am a musician and this card is pointless for me sadly

But hey, keep up the work. It's amazing to see new hardware coming in 2014, and i'm sure a lot of people will want to listen their music in their amigas without CPU load.
CMTX is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 15:55   #98
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 39
Posts: 6,622
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
where do you connect them on a regulat A1200 ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 16:22   #99
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
where do you connect them on a regulat A1200 ?
Clock port :-)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 16:53   #100
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 218
Great video alright. The big questions: price and availability?
Reido is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sun68 - GABBER MEGAMIX 2 / 94 sun68 Amiga scene 4 10 August 2011 04:52
Only Amiga Megamix other_reality Nostalgia & memories 8 24 April 2011 23:12
Know How to make a module megamix ? Galatran request.Modules 0 30 August 2008 22:08
3-State Megamix II Drake008@ support.Hardware 1 28 February 2007 15:25
Amiga Megamix? Malc request.Modules 13 20 December 2001 05:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29310 seconds with 12 queries