English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 October 2014, 09:36   #61
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay View Post
So YT can *FINALLY* do 60fps...

http://kotaku.com/youtube-finally-su...ome-1652460542

Even though the Chrome-fanboy who wrote the article mentions Chrome only, I tried it on IE11 and FF33, and in HTML5 player mode both show beautifully smooth animation.

https://i.imgur.com/10IKdma.jpg

EDIT: Woops, looks like I was sleepy and wishful thinking last night. No, it doesn't work on FF...yet, I hope.

EDIT 2: Got it working in Firefox 36 using this http://www.ghacks.net/2014/07/25/ena...fox-right-now/
where I can download such FIrefox 36 version?
post a link please


BTW, 60fps seems to works here using FIrefox 33 but HTML 5 preferences here are not all enabled
also using HTML 5 the max video resolution in youtube here is 360p? wtf ?
Sandro is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 November 2014, 00:19   #62
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
FYI: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...nger-supported
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 01 November 2014, 10:33   #63
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
where I can download such FIrefox 36 version?
post a link please
https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla..../latest-trunk/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
BTW, 60fps seems to works here using FIrefox 33 but HTML 5 preferences here are not all enabled
No it doesnt. Right-click on vid and choose "Stats for nerds". Or check the resolution selection tool, it should say 60 - if it doesn't - it's not. That easy.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
also using HTML 5 the max video resolution in youtube here is 360p? wtf ?
Shows 720/1080 and even higher depending on the movie fine for me. Only them 60fps movied don't play at all, every resolution is supported.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
Erm, that's 3.6 not 36.

Last edited by Shoonay; 01 November 2014 at 10:53.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 01 November 2014, 11:29   #64
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay View Post
Erm, that's 3.6 not 36.
For my defense,it was late and I had a few beer after work.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 01 November 2014, 14:16   #65
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,526
Finally http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list...S8teoRKj7funAy

Last edited by pandy71; 01 November 2014 at 14:22.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 01 November 2014, 15:21   #66
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Exclamation Workaround for Firefox users!!!

Had some trouble with my FF33 playing 60fps stuff but now I got it working.

Go to 'about:config'
Look for 'media.mediasource.enabled' and set it on 'true'. (just doubleclick 'false')
Now go to 'https://www.youtube.com/html5' and enable HTML5 Player, if not allready done.

Search for a clip with 60fps, set it to 720p60HD and you're done.

edit:no beer involved this time...

Last edited by Michael Sykes; 01 November 2014 at 15:25. Reason: Sober ATM
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 01 November 2014, 19:46   #67
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Firefox don't works fine here

The best browser I tried which works at 60 fps using HTML 5 is chrome, it support all codecs etc
even in CHrome you can enable hardware accel in HTML 5 using this trick

http://www.webupd8.org/2014/01/enabl...in-chrome.html

yet playing videos at 1080p + 60fps requires a fast computer , here playing videos at 1080p/60 fps cpu is at 90% ( core 2 duo 8400) + geforce 8800 GTS
Sandro is offline  
Old 01 November 2014, 20:00   #68
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
btw, most of Amiga games runs at 25fps instead 50
so uploading such games in 50fps video on youtube is unnecessary

examples: Aladdin, Putty squad, Gods, chaos engine

smooth games that run at 50 FPS : Turrican series, Super frog,Assassin

but Alien breed 3d 2 is locked at 39 fps
Sandro is offline  
Old 01 November 2014, 20:07   #69
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,437
Yes Sandro, we're talking about uploading stuff that _requires_ >= 50 fps

Also, you'd want 720p, not 1080p, for Amiga captures.
Photon is offline  
Old 01 November 2014, 21:53   #70
jimmy2x2x
Beyond Mutton
jimmy2x2x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North West, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 347
is there any evidence that 50fps is actually supported, I have only seen 60fps and read that 48fps is supported
jimmy2x2x is offline  
Old 01 November 2014, 22:38   #71
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Yes Sandro, we're talking about uploading stuff that _requires_ >= 50 fps

Also, you'd want 720p, not 1080p, for Amiga captures.
yes 720p is ultra enough, but Id say 360 is enough,99 % of amiga games run at 320x256
Sandro is offline  
Old 01 November 2014, 22:43   #72
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
yes 720p is ultra enough, but Id say 360 is enough,99 % of amiga games run at 320x256
Yes but youtube compression is another thing - 360, hell, even 480 mode compressess the video too much giving VHS-quality blurry shitty picture.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy2x2x View Post
is there any evidence that 50fps is actually supported, I have only seen 60fps and read that 48fps is supported
LOL. ANY framerate between 1 and 60 is supported, just like before when you could upload any movie UP TO 30 frames it could've been at ANY framerate between 1 and 30.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 02 November 2014, 07:46   #73
jimmy2x2x
Beyond Mutton
jimmy2x2x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North West, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay View Post
LOL. ANY framerate between 1 and 60 is supported, just like before when you could upload any movie UP TO 30 frames it could've been at ANY framerate between 1 and 30.
OK, can you show me where you got this information from, I see 60fps and 48fp being mentioned exclusively. if its *ANY* frame rate why mention 2 specific values?

Seems like an odd way to announce any frame rate upto 60fps, by ONLY mentioning 2 specific values.
jimmy2x2x is offline  
Old 02 November 2014, 10:33   #74
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
[ Show youtube player ]

A german episode of Married with Children.
Stats for nerds shows 25fps.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 02 November 2014, 11:25   #75
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy2x2x View Post
I see 60fps and 48fp being mentioned exclusively. if its *ANY* frame rate why mention 2 specific values?

Seems like an odd way to announce any frame rate upto 60fps, by ONLY mentioning 2 specific values.
Well on the other hand why on earth would they mention every single framerate value from minimum to maximum?
Those two values are considered the standard and the massess don't care about any other value.
Just like HD/Full HD. Some can't even say the exact resolution they represent, and most don't know monitors had them, and much much bigger resolutions, since the 90's. But they're the standard now so whoopeedoo.

Last edited by Shoonay; 02 November 2014 at 11:35.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 02 November 2014, 14:27   #76
jimmy2x2x
Beyond Mutton
jimmy2x2x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North West, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 347
It's it possible to attempt a 50fps upload right now, or is it coming soon? Whoopeefeckindoo indeed.
jimmy2x2x is offline  
Old 02 November 2014, 15:21   #77
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Yes, it is possible to attempt it, not only that, it will actually work.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 03 November 2014, 16:41   #78
jimmy2x2x
Beyond Mutton
jimmy2x2x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North West, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 347
https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...ry=amiga+50fps


Ahhhh!
jimmy2x2x is offline  
Old 03 November 2014, 17:07   #79
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
So... how do you like it? Does it meet your expectations?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 03 November 2014, 17:11   #80
jimmy2x2x
Beyond Mutton
jimmy2x2x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North West, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 347
just exploring it now, have my monitor in 1920x1080 50hz and some captures look amazing full screen, really silky smooth. Others have slight juddering here and there, there hasn't been any missed frames according to 'stats for nerds'. Overall - AWESOME upgrade

EDIT: I would say that audio quality is heavily improved too
jimmy2x2x is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I would like to get permission to use Scans in YouTube videos CoverDiskMan AMR suggestions and feedback 0 26 August 2012 18:05
uploading toaster software source support.Apps 0 24 August 2011 21:44
Stunt car racer Pro and SCR at 60fps twinbee Retrogaming General Discussion 5 30 December 2010 11:50
TFT/LCD Monitors & 2D games 60FPS/ 120HZ ST Dragon Retrogaming General Discussion 25 18 March 2005 00:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.45046 seconds with 11 queries