English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 October 2002, 19:34   #1
Leolo
 
Posts: n/a
Does V-Sync work on monitors?

Hi,

I'm using WinUAE v0.8.22R1, Windows XPSP1, and v30.82 of the Detonator drivers for my Geforce2 MX card.

My problem is that I can't get V-Sync to work with my monitor. (A 17inch mitsubishi Diamond Scan 70).

I'm trying to play the game TechnoCop, but the horizontal tearing of the screen is extremely annoying, making the game almost unplayable.

I thought that V-Sync would solve the problem, but it makes absolutely no difference to activate/deactivate it. The annoying horizontal tearing is always present (I've tried to activate/deactivate V-sync with the following refresh rates: 50, 60, 70, 85 and 100 Hz, but they all suffer exactly the same tearing effect).

Does V-Sync only work on TV screens? Will there be support for PC monitors in the future?

Thank you very much.
Kind regards.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 October 2002, 05:55   #2
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
Try using 720x576x16 @50Hz, with VSync and centering OFF.
If u don't already have this res available you may need to create it using Powerstrip or something similar. For me this gives a perfect res and flawless scrolling with no tearing whatsoever...
ps. Don't forget Technocop has rather poor scrolling anyway
 
Old 31 October 2002, 07:47   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
Vsync on/off does not cause or prevent tearing because WinUAE uses triple buffering (=prevents tearing) in full screen modes.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 October 2002, 14:11   #4
Leolo
 
Posts: n/a
Question Could it be the game's fault?

Thank you very much for your replies.

Now I understand that V-sync has no effect on my monitor when using full screen modes.

But, what is causing this tearing effect then??

I have taken a screenshot, please take a look at it and tell me your opinion.



Thanks a lot.
Cheers.
 
Old 31 October 2002, 14:42   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,971
What's your videocard?
Akira is online now  
Old 31 October 2002, 15:34   #6
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
What's your videocard?
He didn't specify the make/model only the GPU chipset, a GeForce 2 MX
jmmijo is offline  
Old 31 October 2002, 18:15   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,971
DUH!

It still is strange that he could snapshot the "crack" in the screen.... when you have a really shitty card that cannot scroll to save its momma, you can see shit like this happening but you cant snapshot it!
Akira is online now  
Old 31 October 2002, 19:54   #8
Leolo
 
Posts: n/a
Specs

Hello people,

I will list here my system configuration, although I hope it's not my cumputer's fault, but who knows:

Intel Celeron at 633 MHz (not overclocked)
ASUS CUSL2-C Mainboard (intel 815ep chipset)
256 MB SDRAM PC133
Guillemot Hercules 3D Prophet II MX 32MB AGP (bios v3.11.00.18)
SoundBlaster Live! Value
NIC Ovislink (Realtek 8139A chip)
Hauppauge WinTV-Nova satellite DVB card

WinXP SP1
nVidia generic detonator drivers v30.82

The screenshot was captured by pressing the "Print Screen" key and then pasting the result in Microsoft Paint (it came preinstalled with the operating system) and saving as a .PNG file.

All the screenshots I've taken show exactly the same tearing effect that it's present while playing. The screen is always torn in half during the game, it's really annoying!



Could it be a problem related to my graphics card and/or drivers?

Thanks a million.
Best regards.
 
Old 01 November 2002, 04:23   #9
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
I've got a feeling that the original was like this..but could be wrong. It appears the same on my sytem btw..
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync to refresh rate jbl007 support.FS-UAE 7 19 April 2013 22:12
Lo-Res sync problm XimeR support.Other 5 11 September 2010 23:19
LCD monitors for A1200 tha sync??? norseman12 support.Hardware 0 20 June 2007 17:06
Time sync mr_0rga5m project.EAB 2 24 April 2004 10:23
V-sync Problem bigly support.WinUAE 6 12 September 2002 17:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23081 seconds with 11 queries