English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 September 2013, 10:07   #1
christopherpm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fort William
Posts: 116
(Inter)Networking an A2000

What is the cheapest and / or easiest way of getting an A2000 on the internet?
christopherpm is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 September 2013, 12:32   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,480
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Cheapest: RS232 + null modem + a suitable PPP server on another computer and you also need to buy and install a tcp/ip stack on the Amiga.
Easiest: buy and install a network card and a tcp/ip stack for the Amiga

You didn't mention how powerful your A2000 is. If it has 1MB of RAM and a 68000, then you didn't realise it yet, but you don't actually want to network it at all. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 12:34   #3
christopherpm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fort William
Posts: 116
Hi Jope. Sorry - the A2000 currently has the standard 68000 but 9 MB RAM (1MB Chip, 8MB Fast).

Would any ISA network card work?
christopherpm is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 12:57   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by christopherpm View Post
Would any ISA network card work?
No. A2000, A3000 and A4000 ISA slots are not directly connected to the Amiga and not active without a bridgeboard. Something like a GoldenGate II. But these bridgeboards cost more than a dedicated Zorro Ethernet card.

X-Surf, Hydranet, Ariadne are all 10Mbit Zorro II network cards. With the release of the X-Surf 100 (100Mbit Zorro III). Lots of people are trying to unload their old network cards. Prices are going down but not by much. Expect to pay 80

However without an accelerator you can't do anything worth doing.

Last edited by alexh; 26 September 2013 at 13:03.
alexh is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 15:28   #5
metalguy66
 
Posts: n/a
http://lallafa.de/blog/amiga-projects/plipbox/

That uses the paralell port, direct to ethernet, and you can use any TCP stack just like you would with an ethernet card.

It's not as fast as an ethernet card, but it's about 4 times faster than 56k dial-up.

Zorro II ethernet cards do not perform with spectacular speed, even with the fastest cpu accelerators, and the cards are getting rather rare/expensive. Unless you need every ounce of speed you can get, I wouldn't waste the money.

You will need a TCP stack regardless of what connection method you use. Roadshow is one of the fastest ones and is available in a demo version for free download.

here is a pic of my A500 with the PLIPBox, in case you are interested:
http://www.rasterline.com/images/PLIPBOX.jpg

It costs about $20.00US in parts to build, and there are plenty of people on the various forums who can build one for you, if you prefer not to build it yourself.
 
Old 26 September 2013, 16:59   #6
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalguy66 View Post
http://lallafa.de/blog/amiga-projects/plipbox/

That uses the paralell port, direct to ethernet, and you can use any TCP stack just like you would with an ethernet card.

.
.
.

It costs about $20.00US in parts to build, and there are plenty of people on the various forums who can build one for you, if you prefer not to build it yourself.
IMHO there is plenty cheap ARM SoC's that can be used as network coprocessor for Amiga (Ethernet interface and TCP/IP stack that runs on 32 bit, 50 - 80MHz ARM) - imagine Raspberry PI as Amiga communication coprocessor.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 17:25   #7
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Using a serial null-modem cable and an online PC is the cheapest option, and more than sufficient for your machine I think.

Try this method with a null modem cable hooked up to a PC, it's a lot lighter on the Amiga side since it doesn't require a TCP/IP stack to be running: http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/mlink132

Speed is faster than a 56k modem, which is fast enough for just about anything you'd want to do on a 68000. It'll be fine for E-mail, chatting on IRC, battling your way through MUDs, even browsing some websites (slowly, but your CPU is the bottleneck here, not the transfer speed).
Cammy is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 17:43   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
imagine Raspberry PI as Amiga communication coprocessor.
The Raspberry Pi can be used now as a SLIP host.

Pi plus an SD card and a few wires plus a level shifter. Total cost ~35.

[edit : I think this *may not work* with the Amiga as the serial port may be +/-12v and not +/-5v TTL]

Last edited by alexh; 26 September 2013 at 18:20.
alexh is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 18:18   #9
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
The Raspberry Pi can be used now as a SLIP host.

Pi plus an SD card and a few wires plus a level shifter. Total cost ~35.

[edit : I think this *may not work* with the Amiga as the serial port may be +/-12v and not +/-5v TTL]
Will work without problems as they use level translator which is equipped internal in charge pump that produce from 3V +-12V (MAX3232 and similar devices).

But i mean once again - use ARM as coprocessor perhaps even page rendering (application coprocessor) can be run on it...
Even MC68000 software emulation (AROS?) then just displaying on Amiga.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 16:13   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
However without an accelerator you can't do anything worth doing.
I beg to differ. I asked the AWeb developers to compile a 68000 version, they didn't think it would be usable but it actually runs quite well. I believe it's available on aminet.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 23:54   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,997
Aweb compatibility was poor when it was released (which is why everyone was always begging for a new browser port!). It must be getting even less compatible with every passing year with more and more updates to HTML, Flash, CSS, Javascript etc.

Intriguing fun getting it to work then 2 seconds later... you'll never use it again and switch to using the web-browser in your phone, TV, glasses or whatever comes along next... maybe web-enabled toilet paper.

Don't waste your time, there REALLY isn't really anything worth doing on a 7MHz Amiga connected on the net. Play a game/demo instead. Something the Amiga is good for.
alexh is offline  
Old 30 September 2013, 11:28   #12
jiffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Don't waste your time, there REALLY isn't really anything worth doing on a 7MHz Amiga connected on the net
Seconded. If you want any classic Amiga to be usable online, use as fast a turbo board as you can get. With a decent 68030, things like mail, chat & ftp become quite usable.
jiffy is offline  
Old 30 September 2013, 13:51   #13
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,234
No experience with Amiga email clients, but AmFTP & AmIRC run just fine on the 68000.

I couldn't agree more that browsing the web on the Amiga is a horrible experience, but for sites such as aminet it is useful to download directly to the Amiga instead of downloading on a PC and transferring it over.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 11:36   #14
ajack
Registered User
ajack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalguy66 View Post
http://lallafa.de/blog/amiga-projects/plipbox/

That uses the paralell port, direct to ethernet, and you can use any TCP stack just like you would with an ethernet card.

It's not as fast as an ethernet card, but it's about 4 times faster than 56k dial-up.

Zorro II ethernet cards do not perform with spectacular speed, even with the fastest cpu accelerators, and the cards are getting rather rare/expensive. Unless you need every ounce of speed you can get, I wouldn't waste the money.

You will need a TCP stack regardless of what connection method you use. Roadshow is one of the fastest ones and is available in a demo version for free download.

here is a pic of my A500 with the PLIPBox, in case you are interested:
http://www.rasterline.com/images/PLIPBOX.jpg

It costs about $20.00US in parts to build, and there are plenty of people on the various forums who can build one for you, if you prefer not to build it yourself.
What TCP stack did you use on your A500? Can you help me build one?
ajack is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impact A2000-HC+8 Series II & BridgeBoard A2386 on A2000 rev6.3 cyberfox_it support.Hardware 3 17 June 2012 23:38
You're Stealing it Wrong: 30 Years of Inter-Pirate Battles Akira Nostalgia & memories 16 16 November 2010 11:21
Networking Help asm1 support.Hardware 7 31 August 2009 13:20
Making an OCS A2000 (Rev 4.6) to an ECS A2000 Drake008@ support.Hardware 15 27 February 2007 23:24
Networking an Amiga MajicMushroom support.Hardware 2 26 November 2004 01:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25357 seconds with 11 queries