English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 September 2013, 21:59   #1
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,329
A500 4/8mb with IDE board completed

Hi All,

Just to let everyone i have built the 4mb/8mb fastmem board for the Amiga 500. Below are a couple of pictures. The A500+ is running kickstart 3.1 and this particular board has 4mb fitted (I wanted to get it built ASAP and tested) 8mb will work fine. I will be selling it, i am waiting for more chips, as it was, i had to steal the Xilinx chip from my other ide board.





This board should work with the A1000 and A2000, (CDTV without the autoconfig ram)


Price will be $74 CAD for 8mb version and $64 for 4mb version, and i will now accept pre-orders (no payment yet please)

Last edited by kipper2k; 25 September 2013 at 22:27.
kipper2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 September 2013, 22:13   #2
majsta
www.majsta.com
majsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Banjaluka/Republic of Srpska
Age: 36
Posts: 419
Now that is something
Man without too much talk build product maybe better that anything build in recent times. Maybe this is only we need for A500.
kipper2k nice work I m so happy right now especially because someone is mad for shore and you know what I m talking about
majsta is offline  
Old 25 September 2013, 22:16   #3
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by majsta View Post
Now that is something
Man without too much talk build product maybe better that anything build in recent times. Maybe this is only we need for A500.
kipper2k nice work I m so happy right now especially because someone is mad for shore and you know what I m talking about

LOL,

I assembled it and turned on computer and it didn't work, reinserted the CF card and away it went... Jig of Joy
kipper2k is offline  
Old 25 September 2013, 22:18   #4
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,329
BTW,

I received the Vampire 600 boards, but still waiting for my chips order. My fish will be cold by the time they get here
kipper2k is offline  
Old 25 September 2013, 22:29   #5
Orcish75
Registered User
Orcish75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Age: 42
Posts: 29
Amazing stuff Kipper2k!! Will you be making a board with a 44pin IDE header so that a CD-ROM or second CF card can be attached?

Cheers
Orcish75 is offline  
Old 25 September 2013, 22:31   #6
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orcish75 View Post
Amazing stuff Kipper2k!! Will you be making a board with a 44pin IDE header so that a CD-ROM or second CF card can be attached?

Cheers
Once i get some free time (which is tough for the next few months), i can add it. THe 40/44 pin header would have made the 2 layer board very busy
kipper2k is offline  
Old 25 September 2013, 22:33   #7
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,462
nice expansion. back in the days, my a500 would be happy if he got such addon

btw: since signatures are not visible to guests anymore, i suggest adding your website into the normal posting area
emufan is offline  
Old 25 September 2013, 23:42   #8
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Looking Great kipper

Put me down for one 8mb board
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 00:11   #9
imigger
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: england
Posts: 135
nice id like 1 please.
imigger is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 00:23   #10
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 850
kipper2k can send me only board, i have all components, but for test on cdtv i need place fastram at address 600000-A00000

thanks in advance
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 10:27   #11
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,170
Will it fit inside a 500 as it is, without relocating the board? There was some issues with the old mem expansion, so I would expect similar problems with this one.
demolition is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 11:29   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,839
I see you went with the K.I.S.S. approach and integrated the two separate designs onto a single board instead of merging the two into one CPLD. It works, which is cool.

Put me down for one.
alexh is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 12:51   #13
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Will it fit inside a 500 as it is, without relocating the board? There was some issues with the old mem expansion, so I would expect similar problems with this one.
It should now fit inside the Rev 5 as the height is now lower, you may still need a little surgery in laying down the caps on the board. If you want replacement caps i can supply them for people.

@ Alexh,

no point in reinventing the wheel,it was simple to integrate the 2 designs onto one board and of course less time consuming, and not introducing any bugs that may rear their ugly head down the road
kipper2k is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 12:58   #14
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 903
@kipper2k

Cool stuff. I'll take one too
ajk is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 13:16   #15
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,329
One more thing about leaving the fastmem CPLD unchanged is that people can swap out the CPLD if using it for the CDTV where autoconfig ram doesnt work due to mem conflicts. (CPLD can either be reprogrammed or swapped out with a non config version (which i have). I posted a link somewher to this, cant remember atm where
kipper2k is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 13:22   #16
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 358
Kipper2k, did you read my PM concerning autoconfig IDs for your boards?

Best regards,

Marcus
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 13:32   #17
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbob42 View Post
Kipper2k, did you read my PM concerning autoconfig IDs for your boards?

Best regards,

Marcus
Hi Marcus,

I don't see it, when did you send ? and can you resend please.

THanks
kipper2k is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 14:24   #18
Turran
Registered User

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 799
Put me down for one 8MB as well. My A2000 need love.
Turran is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 15:33   #19
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post

I don't see it, when did you send ? and can you resend please.
'bout three weeks ago - I did just sent it again.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 26 September 2013, 22:13   #20
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Put me down for one 8MB as well
Nice one kipper2k \o/
mfilos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 4MB RAM upgrade board (was 8MB) kipper2k Hardware mods 324 29 May 2015 20:03
No way to get over 8Mb on my IDE 80MB WD Hard Drive Foul support.Hardware 4 28 April 2010 18:13
Simple 4/8MB RAM board mod TreacleWench Hardware mods 8 30 March 2010 07:45
A600 8mb board question.. amiga600user support.Hardware 50 15 July 2009 15:37
Magnum Amiga 1200 8Mb RAM EXPANSION BOARD & CLOCK A1200 Sid MarketPlace 5 12 October 2005 13:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25700 seconds with 12 queries