English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 October 2013, 09:28   #121
Jacques
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wrocław, Poland
Posts: 85
Thanks Yeah, Doom (DoomAttack port) is fast indeed (I'd say normal), actually despite C2P it's much faster on 030 Amigas than on 386), Doom2 as well, Genetic Species Alien, Breed and many others (even Wolf3D under Mac emulation) are working fine. With exception for Alien Breed 3D II, which really requires 060
In general I didn't have any performance problems with my A1230, so not quite sure what can be a reason here. I didn't run AmiWolf from floppy, but once tried on clean AmigaOS 3.9 without million of patches which I normally have under AmigaOS 3.5, and the result is pretty much the same.
Plus the demo seems to be a bit slower than normal game, since there are a lot of enemies at the same time. I watched youtube videos and you can see Wolf3d running flawlessly on 286/16 MHz, hmm...
Anyway, no clue, every other program/game is working as you'd expect of 030@50 MHz Maybe someone else who has 030 could run Wolf3D demo and compare how it looks

@NovaCoder
I'm not Amiga programmer nor I wouldn't like to be "the smart one without actual programming it", but maybe the hardware-optimized C2P-routines (like in case of DoomAttack) could increase performance on different setups?
http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot...ttack#contents

Last edited by Jacques; 04 October 2013 at 13:19.
Jacques is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 October 2013, 17:24   #122
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 660
v1.10 ECS is definitely faster on A600, I'd say maybe 30-40%? But it's hard to quantify visually without some kind of FPS counter. Also tried it on Aca 1232 030/33: it runs at about the same speed as A600 030/40, but a bit smoother. The difference between 1.09 and 1.10 on A1200 is not as noticeable as it is on A600. It seems slightly faster though.
alenppc is offline  
Old 04 October 2013, 18:11   #123
Jacques
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wrocław, Poland
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Can someone test this on a real 030 and compare it with the last version, thanks

Now on AmiNet
I think there's still old version of AmiWolf_AGA on Aminet, even though the description says 1.10, there's still old binary in it (the one from Sep 25th, not Oct 2nd).

But to avoid confusion on speed issue: I was testing the latest version you originally attached in this thread before.

Last edited by Jacques; 04 October 2013 at 18:35.
Jacques is offline  
Old 04 October 2013, 18:24   #124
mc6809e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 281
I'm curious if anyone has profiled the code and determined where all the cycles are going. Anyone ideas?
mc6809e is offline  
Old 05 October 2013, 01:07   #125
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
I've just tried v1.10 and I THINK it's quicker than previous versions but there's not a lot in it. I'd be hard pushed to tell you which version was which in a Pepsi challenge. Performance with my ACA 1231/42 seems to be exactly the same as Jacques especially the Wolf demo2 although I'm desperately trying to get DoomAttack to work so I can see if I can get anywhere near that level of speed. So far I can't find helpful instructions on how to get it to work.

By the way, iPhones suck!

Last edited by vroom6sri; 05 October 2013 at 01:18.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 05 October 2013, 01:32   #126
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Novacoder - I've read the earlier post about using the mouse and strafing but would you please be able to setup AMIWOLF so you can aim with the mouse but move/strafe with the keys? I'm sure you know this already but when I'm strafing with A or D and move the mouse to turn all it does is act as a strafe input and thus conflict with my A or D Keys.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 05 October 2013, 01:40   #127
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hi guys,

Yep I just confirmed it's the old versions of AmiWolf & AmiSpear AGA on AmiNet? Not sure how that happened (maybe sleep deprivation), you can tell it's wrong by looking at the icon info.

Just disable the AUTO_STRAFE tooltype if you want the default (original DOS) movement.

I'll upload it here for now

Last edited by NovaCoder; 06 October 2013 at 00:59.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 05 October 2013, 15:10   #128
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
I've just tried your linked version (which incidentally is identified as V1.08 in the readme file) and there is no difference. I'm getting the same performance as Jacques showed on his video. Thanks for your efforts though Nova.

I'm sorry that you had to repeat yourself about the AUTO_STRAFE but I had read that bit in this thread and it wasn't what I meant. Like Quagliarulo said in his post I was expecting the mouse to work for aiming and the keys to work for movement. That'd be totally awesome.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 10 October 2013, 13:44   #129
Jacques
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wrocław, Poland
Posts: 85
I wonder if there's any room for further optimization? NovaCoder?
Jacques is offline  
Old 10 October 2013, 19:30   #130
Bluntman
Registered User

Bluntman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
Hey dudes! Thanks to NovaCoder for the grouse new Amiga port, I've added a couple of videos of Wolfenstein running on some Amiga computers along with a bunch of other systems it's been ported to on my playlist. Check it out and compare how it runs on all this classic hardware!

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list...xFaDuDj6-kLesH
Bluntman is offline  
Old 11 October 2013, 03:09   #131
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacques View Post
I wonder if there's any room for further optimization? NovaCoder?
It's already very optimized

Certainly it's the fastest Wolfenstein 3D Amiga port to date and also the most complete, that's good enough for me

Actually, I did make one last change the other day which will make it slightly faster, I'll upload new versions to AmiNet when I get a second.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluntman View Post
Hey dudes! Thanks to NovaCoder for the grouse new Amiga port, I've added a couple of videos of Wolfenstein running on some Amiga computers along with a bunch of other systems it's been ported to on my playlist. Check it out and compare how it runs on all this classic hardware!
Cool, thanks looking good
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 October 2013, 14:16   #132
Jacques
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wrocław, Poland
Posts: 85
Jacques is offline  
Old 11 October 2013, 14:28   #133
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Can / have you code profiled it to see where most of the CPU time is taken up?
alexh is offline  
Old 12 October 2013, 16:13   #134
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Can / have you code profiled it to see where most of the CPU time is taken up?
I think Storm C++ V4 had a profiler with their hacked gcc v2.9? I'm using a newer version of gcc 3.4, don't know of any working profiler that I can use

Don't even have a working debugger, makes any kind of Amiga development very difficult (I've learnt to write lots of logging statements).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 12 October 2013, 17:37   #135
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Just a note to add that that the Spear of Destiny Mission packs seem to work ok in AmiSpear. No extra lsfx/music to process as they use the same as the main game. However the normal sfx folder does need swapping. They are packaged with the steam version of the game.

3 files change for each pack. GAMEMAPS,MAPHEAD and VSWAP.

*.SD1 = Spear of Destiny
*.SD2 = Mission 2: return to Danger
*.SD3 = Mission 3: Ultimate challenge

Just rename the 3 files to *.SOD to play each mission pack and add the relevant SFX folder from files extracted by WolfExtractor. (mission 2 and 3 seem to share the same sample set ) Edit: it looks like you should overwrite the M1 sample set but only for the M2/M3 levels else samples from m1 that are used will be missing.

I cant say if it works perfectly or not as im not sure if Amispear knows about the new sample placements.

Last edited by Mad-Matt; 12 October 2013 at 21:08.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 18:46   #136
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 49
Posts: 918
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
It's already very optimized

Certainly it's the fastest Wolfenstein 3D Amiga port to date and also the most complete, that's good enough for me

Sorry, but if this port needs 300000 bytes of stack, then can be optimised much more, stack accesses are slow, better use registers only. Anyway perhaps the fastest 68k port of Wolfenstein is Atari ST port:
http://www.atarilegend.com/games/gam...p?game_id=3991
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 19:13   #137
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
How about Wolf 3D running on Sega Genesis http://www.sega-16.com/forum/showthr...r-sega-genesis
I wonder if the code is open sourced?
amiman99 is offline  
Old 19 October 2013, 18:49   #138
mendark
 
Posts: n/a
@novacoder I'm desperate to try it on my Amiga 600 with Vampire turbocard, but I don't get AmiWolf to work. The GURU "8000 000B" keeps appearing.

Is a FPU necessary or is it something else (Snoopdos OK'ed all PC files)?
 
Old 19 October 2013, 19:05   #139
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
@mendark

If you have a Chip Ram expansion board lease try to remove it and see if AmiWolf now works
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 October 2013, 20:23   #140
mc6809e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 281
Any chance of seeing the source code?
mc6809e is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmiWolf - new AGA Wolfenstein 3D Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 100 16 September 2013 02:44
Quake 68k port for MAC Sandro request.Old Rare Games 11 02 September 2013 03:08
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 2 02 June 2013 14:06
ScummVM (v1.0.0) 68K Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 7 04 September 2010 13:58
Is there a 68k Quake 2 port for the Amiga? Ironclaw request.Other 7 22 September 2006 21:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22643 seconds with 12 queries