English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2013, 04:51   #1
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
AmiWolf - new 68k Wolfenstein 3D port

Hiya,

As some of you guys know there are a couple of existing Amiga Wolfenstein 3D ports but I thought it was about time we had one with SFX and music.

This port started off as a quick test of the new AGA SDL but then I decided to turn it into a proper 030 targeted (non-SDL) release. It looks like it's playable on an 030 so mission accomplished

Features:
  • AGA
  • SFX
  • MIDI music playback using the DOOM Sound Engine
  • 256 color AGA double buffered C2P graphics
  • Auto strafe
  • PAL/NTSC support

It's a complete hack really, the best Wolfenstein port is called Wolf4SDL but that port doesn't support Big Endian so I had to base this port on about 3 different ports and it also includes code from DOOM, Quake and even Quake 2

I cannot include the SFX/music data with the release for copyright reasons but I'll include tools and instructions so people can convert them.

This port only supports the full retail version of Wolfenstein, it proved too complicated to include support for the shareware release.

If I have the energy I'll also to do a Spear of Destiny release


[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by NovaCoder; 20 October 2016 at 03:45.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 September 2013, 10:27   #2
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
Wow that is really cool. Looking forward to next week when it said you'd upload it to Aminet
Viserion is offline  
Old 13 September 2013, 12:19   #3
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,353
Epic !!
kriz is offline  
Old 14 September 2013, 09:08   #4
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viserion View Post
Wow that is really cool. Looking forward to next week when it said you'd upload it to Aminet
It's on AmiNet now
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 14 September 2013, 12:54   #5
groundplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 56
Just installed on real Amiga (1200 + 68060), converted sfx (converted sfxfiles have to be 8bit), working great, thankyou NovaCoder !!
groundplayer is offline  
Old 14 September 2013, 16:14   #6
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
I've got it all converted and running, and running well it does to I had to remove CGX-AGA driver also else I just got a blank or corrupted screen.

Might be worth adding midi3mus http://www..com/download/5l...oz/midi3mus.7z for those on a 64bit os as mid2mus refused to work in this environment.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 14 September 2013, 17:36   #7
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Top work Nova!

Will test this final full version out tomorrow!

Thanks for the port!
hansel75 is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 00:09   #8
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
It's on AmiNet now
That's good news

Will try it tomorrow.
Viserion is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 00:31   #9
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Thanks very much for your work on this. Does the addition of music compromise the 3d engine speed at all? Sorry if that's a naive question to ask.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 03:20   #10
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri View Post
Thanks very much for your work on this. Does the addition of music compromise the 3d engine speed at all? Sorry if that's a naive question to ask.
Thanks guys, I am just happy to finally have a version of this game with sound on my Amiga

Yes the music will slow down the graphics a little, you can turn it off in the menu.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 08:47   #11
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Which files are exactly needed to run this? Because I tried my old Wolfenstein installation containing these files (which didn't work):
Code:
AUDIOHED.WL1
AUDIOT.WL1
config.wl1
GAMEMAPS.WL1
MAPHEAD.WL1
VGADICT.WL1
VGAGRAPH.WL1
VGAHEAD.WL1
VSWAP.WL1
Another W3D port already worked by copying these files into it's folder. I assume it's not that easy with yours

Edit: Scratch that - I didn't perform the midi conversion yet...

Last edited by pintcat; 15 September 2013 at 08:54. Reason: I just RTFM
pintcat is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 09:04   #12
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hiya,

Those look like the shareware files, you need the retail game files for AmiWolf.

You don't need the music data to play, it should still run without sound and music data.

Check both of the log files in the AmiWolf folder if you have any issues, the log file writes a lot of information about missing SFX/music data.

NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 15:34   #13
Zoltar
Registered User
Zoltar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 34
Just tried this out in WinUAE and it works great. Can I be a bit cheeky and ask if somebody could stick the converted audio files in the zone?
Zoltar is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 21:04   #14
groundplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 56
Just a little question to NovaCoder: is there anyway to adjust the sound volume, cause my setup both sfx and music volume is very weak ? Been playing couple of episodes allready , working great ! Thanks !

Last edited by groundplayer; 15 September 2013 at 21:17.
groundplayer is offline  
Old 16 September 2013, 02:20   #15
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Hiya,

Those look like the shareware files, you need the retail game files for AmiWolf.

You don't need the music data to play, it should still run without sound and music data.

Check both of the log files in the AmiWolf folder if you have any issues, the log file writes a lot of information about missing SFX/music data.

You're right, it was the shareware version. I had this all the years without knowing. Seems like I didn't care much about this game in the past . I now got hold of the full version and it works like a charm. My first quick test was without sound and it ran very fluid - much better than this old W3D port! As next step I'll try the audio extraction and see how good this works.
Question: Is there a way to use cursor keys for movement? I'm unable to define these keys in the menu since they are used for menu control.
pintcat is offline  
Old 16 September 2013, 02:40   #16
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hiya,

Glad it's working well for you

I thought you could define the cursor keys for movement, it shouldn't make any difference that they are also used to control the menu. You should be able to hit 'enter' on the key you want to define which should turn it grey with a blinking question mark, you then just select the key you want to use.

I can't do anything about the low sound volume, the easy thing to do is to just turn up your speakers

I actually found a bug myself last night, it seems on my 1260 some of the items are not drawn (you can toggle all the items on a map by going to the map screen and then holding down the space bar and the left cursor key).

Code:
if (IN_KeyDown(sc_UpArrow)) {
                Auto_Map.walls ^= 1; // C + Up = toggle walls
                while (IN_KeyDown(sc_UpArrow))
                    IN_ProcessEvents();
            }
            if (IN_KeyDown(sc_DownArrow)) {
                Auto_Map.secrets ^= 1; // C + Down = toggle secrets
                while (IN_KeyDown(sc_DownArrow))
                    IN_ProcessEvents();
            }
            if (IN_KeyDown(sc_LeftArrow)) {
                Auto_Map.items ^= 1; // C + Left = toggle items
                while (IN_KeyDown(sc_LeftArrow))
                    IN_ProcessEvents();
            }
            if (IN_KeyDown(sc_RightArrow)) {
                Auto_Map.enemies ^= 1; // C + Right = toggle enemies
                while (IN_KeyDown(sc_RightArrow))
                    IN_ProcessEvents();
            }
The bug is caused by the compiler optimizations, it might only effect 1260 users?

I'll have to do some investigation and see if I can fix it, even anyone has this bug with a 1230 then let me know
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 16 September 2013, 04:16   #17
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Hiya. Great work. What screen mode are you using with the Indi?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 16 September 2013, 05:12   #18
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Hiya. Great work. What screen mode are you using with the Indi?
Thanks

It just uses a standard PAL/ECS screen mode.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 16 September 2013, 14:28   #19
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 231
Congrats on another great port, really enjoying playing this.
Reido is offline  
Old 16 September 2013, 15:27   #20
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Thanx


Ok I just did a quick and dirty port to OCS/ECS 64 color EHB mode.

The first BETA (v1.01) is in the Zone

You'll need a fast 030 card to play this and it will still probably be very slow.

[ Show youtube player ]

Obviously it won't run anything like this fast on an 030 OCS/ECS machine but it's the only one I've got for testing

Looks pretty good for only 64 colors though I think.

Each frame this version has to convert each pixel from 256 colors to 64 colors and then convert it from chunky to planar.....ouch!

Last edited by NovaCoder; 16 September 2013 at 16:50.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmiWolf - new AGA Wolfenstein 3D Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 100 16 September 2013 02:44
Quake 68k port for MAC Sandro request.Old Rare Games 11 02 September 2013 03:08
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 2 02 June 2013 14:06
ScummVM (v1.0.0) 68K Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 7 04 September 2010 13:58
Is there a 68k Quake 2 port for the Amiga? Ironclaw request.Other 7 22 September 2006 21:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32428 seconds with 12 queries