English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 September 2013, 19:39   #101
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Spiritual connection by Amaze

Tested in beta 8 QS A500 (most common).

EDIT: But with ECS Agnus seems to run fine. So, forget on this one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Amaze_001.png
Views:	116
Size:	8.3 KB
ID:	36886  

Last edited by amilo3438; 21 September 2013 at 19:45.
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 September 2013, 23:43   #102
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Megademo by Trilogy

EDIT: Some vertical lines appears!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TRILOGY-MegademoA_001.png
Views:	110
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	36888  

Last edited by amilo3438; 22 September 2013 at 17:33.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 22 September 2013, 00:09   #103
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Today have just finished with verifying whole 16 pages (16 x 25 = 400) of pouet Amiga OCS/ECS demos sorted/filtered according to thumbs-up ... see on link.

Also, I am not interested anymore to continue with verifying further pages as most of those other demos looks to be boring and not such demanding for an WinUAE emu testing as previous.

Hope that those already verified should cover enough demo coding tricks, if not all possible, so that there is then no need to continue with further testings.
But if there anyone who would want to continue, just go ahead!

p.s. Now only waiting for next official (fixed) version of WinUAE to come out. Hope it will happen before .

EDIT:
Reminder on comments and current status -> http://eab.abime.net/911206-post57.html
Well, just from curiosity have been continued with pages 17,18,19,20 and now really decided to stop with further testing ... see no point as those demos are really look to be very simple in comparison to all others already tested before.

So, that would be now 20 pages x 25 demos/page = 500 demos already tested.

Current list of demos waiting to be fixed (acc. to http://eab.abime.net/911206-post57.html):

The end by trilobit
Hotbleeps by Loonies
Antediluvian Sloppy Spectacle by essence
COOL FRIDGE by UPFRONT
Megademo by Royal Amiga Force
Pax Americana by Complex

Some of above will maybe be difficult or impossible to fix without some more docs/schematics/diagrams that is required.

Others has already been fixed in newest WinUAE 2.7.0 Beta 8 version.

Last edited by amilo3438; 22 September 2013 at 00:37.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 22 September 2013, 17:30   #104
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Starflight by Phenomena

QS A500 need only 512kb ... scrolling text is blinking from pic.1 to pic.2 ...!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Phenomena-StarFlight88_001.png
Views:	108
Size:	17.2 KB
ID:	36891   Click image for larger version

Name:	Phenomena-StarFlight88_002.png
Views:	105
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	36892  
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 22 September 2013, 18:55   #105
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Spiritual connection by Amaze

Tested in beta 8 QS A500 (most common).

EDIT: But with ECS Agnus seems to run fine. So, forget on this one.
Another writing to blitter registers while blitter is already doing stuff. (Just check the log, these conditions are logged)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
EDIT: Last question ... If chipset master crystal=28.375160 why we have then in freq. option multipliers instead of dividers ?!
As I said, it allows emulation of async turbo boards. Also it allows custom values, for example if someone wants to adjust game speed very carefully.

Quote:
Does 3.549865 freq. meaning something important?
It is chipset "color" clock (dma clock) = 1:1 CPU/chipset ratio. It is listed because it is smallest ratio that UAE can support. (Agnus DMA clock is the base timing unit)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Starflight by Phenomena

QS A500 need only 512kb ... scrolling text is blinking from pic.1 to pic.2 ...!
Uses unemulated OCS feature (another: "keep hacking until it works instead of simply fixing the tiny bug in copper list", this is quite common in old, like 1988/87 or so demos), fixed. On ECS scroller does jump around but it does not get as corrupted as in emulation. (Not sure whats the cause)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 September 2013, 19:20   #106
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Megademo by Trilogy

EDIT: Some vertical lines appears!
A500 confirmed. No idea why sprite DMA is enabled or pointers point to garbage, probably usual "works accidentally using some specific configuration"..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 September 2013, 19:39   #107
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
As I said, it allows emulation of async turbo boards. Also it allows custom values, for example if someone wants to adjust game speed very carefully.

It is chipset "color" clock (dma clock) = 1:1 CPU/chipset ratio. It is listed because it is smallest ratio that UAE can support. (Agnus DMA clock is the base timing unit)
Thanks again for very detail explanation as usual.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 23 September 2013, 01:00   #108
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Another writing to blitter registers while blitter is already doing stuff. (Just check the log, these conditions are logged)
Yes, indeed: "BLITTER: channel mode changed while active (09->01) PC=00013d7c"
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 23 September 2013, 21:41   #109
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Critical Mass by Parallax (DMS) OR Critical Mass by Parallax (ADF)

Using QS A500+ ... it runs till pic.3 and then just stops?!

Have tried running the demo using both DMS or ADF versions, and got same behaving!

Maybe it needs some special configuration ... does anybody ever manage to run any of this demo files?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Parallax-CriticalMassB_001.png
Views:	95
Size:	25.2 KB
ID:	36902   Click image for larger version

Name:	Parallax-CriticalMassB_002.png
Views:	91
Size:	4.2 KB
ID:	36903   Click image for larger version

Name:	Parallax-CriticalMassB_003.png
Views:	86
Size:	3.3 KB
ID:	36904  
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 23 September 2013, 23:50   #110
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Application-Trackmo

QS A500 OCS/ECS ... "BLITTER: register modification during linedraw!"


EDIT: New dms file found that hasnt such problem (pic.2): Trackmo (Trackmo) by Application
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	APLICATI_001.png
Views:	113
Size:	12.1 KB
ID:	36907   Click image for larger version

Name:	Application-Trackmo_001.png
Views:	82
Size:	12.0 KB
ID:	38000  
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (6.2 KB, 41 views)

Last edited by amilo3438; 26 November 2013 at 21:12.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 24 September 2013, 07:25   #111
britelite
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Critical Mass by Parallax (DMS) OR Critical Mass by Parallax (ADF)

Using QS A500+ ... it runs till pic.3 and then just stops?!

Have tried running the demo using both DMS or ADF versions, and got same behaving!

Maybe it needs some special configuration ... does anybody ever manage to run any of this demo files?
This one has troubles running on a real A500 too, I think the main reason was a really buggy loader.
britelite is offline  
Old 24 September 2013, 08:45   #112
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
All known images of Critical Mass have broken landscape part at the beginning. 1M chip ram config usually prevents the crash.

Later it usually hangs (can happen on real hardware too but appears to be more rare, probably some internal CIA timing not yet fully emulated), reason is simple: music player (which uses CIA) can clear CIA interrupt register when trackloader is using CIA for delays, unfortunately trackloader CIA delay uses same CIA chip (but different timer) and it also polls interrupt register. It should have polled CIA timer on/off bit.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 September 2013, 11:48   #113
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Copper Slave by Ram Jam

QS A500 OCS/ECS ... Does it happens on a real A500?!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RAMJAM-CopperSlave_001.png
Views:	105
Size:	13.2 KB
ID:	36912   Click image for larger version

Name:	RAMJAM-CopperSlave_005.png
Views:	97
Size:	10.9 KB
ID:	36913  
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 24 September 2013, 17:09   #114
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Corsair's Latest by the company

WinUAE b8 QS A500 OCS/ECS ... ?!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	COMPANY-CorsairsLatest_001.png
Views:	103
Size:	2.0 KB
ID:	36916   Click image for larger version

Name:	COMPANY-CorsairsLatest_003.png
Views:	110
Size:	2.1 KB
ID:	36917   Click image for larger version

Name:	COMPANY-CorsairsLatest_004.png
Views:	101
Size:	2.0 KB
ID:	36918   Click image for larger version

Name:	COMPANY-CorsairsLatest_005.png
Views:	107
Size:	1.8 KB
ID:	36919  
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 24 September 2013, 18:42   #115
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Rapiad by Byterapers

WinUAE b8 QS A500 OCS/ECS ... ?!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BR-Rapiad_001.png
Views:	102
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	36922  
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 24 September 2013, 20:02   #116
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Starflight by Phenomena

QS A500 need only 512kb ... scrolling text is blinking from pic.1 to pic.2 ...!
Now fully emulated, scroller will jump correctly in ECS mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Copper Slave by Ram Jam

QS A500 OCS/ECS ... Does it happens on a real A500?!
Fixed. (Modifying bitplane modulo one cycle before modulo is added will use old value)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Rapiad by Byterapers

WinUAE b8 QS A500 OCS/ECS ... ?!
Same corruption seen on my real A500.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 September 2013, 20:11   #117
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Corsair's Latest by the company

WinUAE b8 QS A500 OCS/ECS ... ?!
This was really boring to watch on real hardware. No warp mode..

But yes, exact same fill leak happens on my real A500, including quite jittery speed.

EDIT: It even crashes identically when it says "What about some nice overscan 32 colors inconvex shaded filled vectors in one frame" (Borken executable?)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 September 2013, 00:07   #118
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Well, just from curiosity have been continued with pages 17,18,19,20 and now really decided to stop with further testing ... see no point as those demos are really look to be very simple in comparison to all others already tested before.

So, that would be now 20 pages x 25 demos/page = 500 demos already tested.
Again, just from curiosity finished with testing next 8 pages, thus it would be now 28 x 25 = 700 demos already tested from pouet link ...
and that present almost 30% of all Amiga OCS/ECS demos currently existing there.

Well, I have also reached the point where continuing with further demo testing make no more fun anymore, so that would be all for now ... and this time mean ... real.

I have already added those new findings in the demo status list http://eab.abime.net/911206-post57.html so everything now can be found on one place.

A little statistics:
----------------
700 demos tested
27 problems found
12 found not to be an emu problem
6 demos already fixed now
9 demos remain to verify and/or fix .... and that present 1.29% of all already tested demos!

Last edited by amilo3438; 25 September 2013 at 00:56.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 25 September 2013, 08:34   #119
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Could you put demos that have "blitter active" issues in separate list? (In first post for example) I am planning to examine them more carefully later.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 September 2013, 23:38   #120
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Well, I have also reached the point where continuing with further demo testing make no more fun anymore, so that would be all for now ... and this time mean ... real.
Just for info...
Well, the above does not mean completely giving up...
I will certainly continue, but much slower pace, very slowly, very...
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problematic GVP A530 Turbo Mogsy support.Hardware 22 13 November 2012 19:12
Problematic thread? prowler project.EAB 5 28 October 2011 00:06
Problematic Holiday Lemmings 94 demo disk MethodGit support.Games 19 08 November 2010 03:56
Problematic slaves list keropi project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 44 28 November 2008 12:46
Looking for two demos... eternalcrusader request.Demos 3 01 August 2006 08:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35324 seconds with 12 queries