English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2015, 00:12   #721
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
For info...

Intro 7 Preview (Intro) by Delight > http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=74308

A500 OCS/ECS (most common) ... occasional interference !

Quote from from above link About:

"This intro was finally spreaded in front of at least one release with a regular scrolltext in English, after the occasional seizure bug was corrected."



First Division - New Cooperation (Intro) by Bamiga Sector One & Inertia & The Kent Team
http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=74217

A500 OCS 1.2 KS ... several static pixels! (see on pic.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BS1&TKT&INA-FirstDivisionNewCoop_001.png
Views:	148
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	42816  

Last edited by amilo3438; 13 January 2015 at 01:16.
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 January 2015, 19:49   #722
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Intro 7 Preview (Intro) by Delight > http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=74308

A500 OCS/ECS (most common) ... occasional interference !
A500 confirmed.

Quote:
First Division - New Cooperation (Intro) by Bamiga Sector One & Inertia & The Kent Team
http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=74217

A500 OCS 1.2 KS ... several static pixels! (see on pic.)
Confirmed and also OCS only. ECS = scroller is totally corrupted. (even more corrupted on real hardware as usual in these situations where bitplane dma crosses scanline and conflicts with refresh cycles)

(btw, don't event attempt to test any already tested demos, it would be only waste of time at this point)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 January 2015, 21:32   #723
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
(btw, don't event attempt to test any already tested demos, it would be only waste of time at this point)
Even if I wanted to, currently do not have time for it. (Thanks for your concern.)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 19 January 2015, 22:39   #724
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Cool Is The Rule Disk 1 Intro (Intro) by The Silents -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=74481

Tested on A500 KS1.2 OCS configs !? ... the problem = dashes (see on picture).

Note: if press F12 and change OCS to ECS Agnus = no dashes (but this is not a std. KS1.2 config)

also, it wont work on A1000 KS1.2 (rev.33.166) OCS config. !? (but it works with KS1.2 rev.33.180 = same KS used for A500 config)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TSL-CoolIsTheRule1Intro_001.png
Views:	139
Size:	13.6 KB
ID:	42924  

Last edited by amilo3438; 19 January 2015 at 23:26.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 18:44   #725
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Cool Is The Rule Disk 1 Intro (Intro) by The Silents -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=74481

Tested on A500 KS1.2 OCS configs !? ... the problem = dashes (see on picture).

Note: if press F12 and change OCS to ECS Agnus = no dashes (but this is not a std. KS1.2 config)

also, it wont work on A1000 KS1.2 (rev.33.166) OCS config. !? (but it works with KS1.2 rev.33.180 = same KS used for A500 config)
A1000 (with A500 KS 1.2 kick disk, demo has direct rom jump which makes it A500 1.2 only) confirmed. Didn't bother to try KS 1.2 ROM in A500.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 January 2015, 20:07   #726
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Didn't bother to try KS 1.2 ROM in A500.
Maybe it would be possible to soft-kick 1.2 KS (to $c00000 area) on an Amiga with 1.3 KS and test the demo on that way!

Otherwise pity, we will never know whether the dash-problem is connected with OCS chipset or not!?

EDIT: Forget it, maybe it is not worth the trouble! (except if someone with a real A500 KS1.2 can confirm the problem)

Last edited by amilo3438; 20 January 2015 at 22:16.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 21 January 2015, 08:38   #727
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Maybe it would be possible to soft-kick 1.2 KS (to $c00000 area) on an Amiga with 1.3 KS and test the demo on that way!

Otherwise pity, we will never know whether the dash-problem is connected with OCS chipset or not!?

EDIT: Forget it, maybe it is not worth the trouble! (except if someone with a real A500 KS1.2 can confirm the problem)
It will be done if/when more A500 KS 1.2 testing is needed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 January 2015, 23:31   #728
SaphirJD
Registered User
SaphirJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austria
Posts: 66
http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=9151

Tested with Quickstart A500 configs (KS1.2 OCS configs + KS1.3 OCS+ECS variants) - that part looks like it is not normal?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Appendix-Firehose.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	86.9 KB
ID:	43031  
SaphirJD is offline  
Old 26 January 2015, 17:52   #729
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaphirJD View Post
http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=9151

Tested with Quickstart A500 configs (KS1.2 OCS configs + KS1.3 OCS+ECS variants) - that part looks like it is not normal?
It is correct. Ugly "noise" effect.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 February 2015, 00:23   #730
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 565
A very AGA good demo !!!!

El ocaso del Payaso


http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=20177

But if you reset youre Amiga you get a very colorful screen...
( and you wont get away unless you power off the Amiga )

I never, ever experienced that in a demo .

(tested under Winuae and Real hardware)

What is going on here ? Is this dangerous ? or are the just kidding around ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	elocaso-reset.JPG
Views:	159
Size:	137.0 KB
ID:	43300  
Nibbler is offline  
Old 21 February 2015, 09:54   #731
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
It is not that rare, KS has feature that allows to run code after reset (if memory has not been cleared). RAD ram disk uses it and of course viruses too

UAE has hard reset option that clears memory if you want to be sure old data is gone. (GUI reset button is hard reset and left win key + right win key + ctrl = normal reset, add alt = hard reset)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 February 2015, 16:16   #732
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 565
Hope thats not an Virus i think it´s a joke .. or something
After this Demo you have to turn of youre Amiga, "because she is so hot ....."

The Demo is very nice ;besides that !

Greetings Toni
Nibbler is offline  
Old 10 March 2015, 10:02   #733
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 960
I have noticed a problem on right side of screen during scrolling picture in 'Seven Seas' by Andromeda. (see pic).

I've noticed the same problem with quite a few other old demos that have some sort full framerate scrolling. At first I thought it was just some typical 'overscan area issue', but now I'm not convinced since I'm sure Seven Seas used to work correctly.

The screenshot is taken from 720x576 mode, but the issue is visible using standard A500 quickstart.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sevenseasglitch.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	121.8 KB
ID:	43534  
ED-209 is offline  
Old 11 March 2015, 02:20   #734
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 960
Toni, I went through old public versions and last confirmed working was 2.7.0
ED-209 is offline  
Old 11 March 2015, 15:53   #735
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
I have noticed a problem on right side of screen during scrolling picture in 'Seven Seas' by Andromeda. (see pic).

I've noticed the same problem with quite a few other old demos that have some sort full framerate scrolling. At first I thought it was just some typical 'overscan area issue', but now I'm not convinced since I'm sure Seven Seas used to work correctly.
It is correct behavior in most situations (It is chipset design flaw). Seven Seas seems to be an exception

It seems to have workaround copper list, every scan line has copper wait that tries to compensate for the bug (by writing to BPLCON1 with "incorrect" value) but it does not work in emulation. Probably simple off by one timing issue.

Previously it only worked accidentally (as in BPLCON1 write didn't do anything all until it was too late and display ended)

EDIT: It is not simple fix. Amiga display has an offset, chipset horizontal position counter equals zero exactly where the glitch starts (This also explains common color change bug in right border when copper was used to wait for hpos=0, hpos=0-5 or so is visible in right border).

Display emulation scanline ends at this point, whatever is left in Denise's shift registers is shifted out but any write to custom register takes visible effect only after display has ended (in other words, next scanline). Only color register modifications are handled as a special case.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 11 March 2015 at 20:05.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 March 2015, 19:47   #736
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Next beta will fix Seven Seas overscan scroll glitch.

Fix is a hack, it checks in hsync handler code if following cycle copper would write to BPLCON1 and if it does, it internally does hidden copper fetch 1 cycle early and stores it for later use, this way denise bitplane shifter emulation sees the correct new value before it is too late.

This also confirms glitch emulation has to be correct because demo's workaround does now work perfectly in emulation
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 March 2015, 01:37   #737
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 960
Excellent, thank you toni
From memory, some other demos that feature text/scrollers at full overscan width had exact same glitch - so this fix should effect more then few productions overall
ED-209 is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 08:10   #738
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
Excellent, thank you toni
From memory, some other demos that feature text/scrollers at full overscan width had exact same glitch - so this fix should effect more then few productions overall
Most of them really do have that glitch when running on real hardware.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 March 2015, 00:56   #739
heavy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: europe
Posts: 169
Hi

I just noticed a problem with this intro by United Forces :
http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=27299

The scrolltext doesn't appear : test from winuae 2.7.1 to 3.1.0 b13
works fine with version 2.7.0 b16 and before
(standard quickstart A500 1.3)
heavy is offline  
Old 25 March 2015, 18:03   #740
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy View Post
I just noticed a problem with this intro by United Forces :
http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=27299
Fixed. New chipset edge case emulated (sprite related). As usual, previously it only worked accidentally
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problematic GVP A530 Turbo Mogsy support.Hardware 22 13 November 2012 19:12
Problematic thread? prowler project.EAB 5 28 October 2011 00:06
Problematic Holiday Lemmings 94 demo disk MethodGit support.Games 19 08 November 2010 03:56
Problematic slaves list keropi project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 44 28 November 2008 12:46
Looking for two demos... eternalcrusader request.Demos 3 01 August 2006 08:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23887 seconds with 12 queries