English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 December 2014, 21:58   #681
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saghalie View Post
Working with 2.8.1 see attached.

I didn't try to get it working with the quick start. I just kept ticking switches until it worked.
I think you missed the point of this thread..
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 December 2014, 22:15   #682
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 104
oh...
Saghalie is offline  
Old 12 December 2014, 23:12   #683
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Yep, it first breaks (graphical corruption then crash at rotating/warping purple Old Bulls image) with WinUAE 2.7.1b1, so maybe one of the many changes for better emulation accuracy wasn't quite right.
It first breaks with test winuae_2710b0.exe (2013.12.22. 17:20) version.

I still have all those test versions from my active period of demo testing.

Mention it only for historical correctness. ;-)

Btw. quick and dirty fix for that problem would be to enable Immediate Blitter in Chipset options.

Last edited by amilo3438; 12 December 2014 at 23:19.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 13 December 2014, 05:10   #684
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 960
Great
Yeh I noticed this one after a request to capture it for youtube.
Will report if I come across any others
ED-209 is offline  
Old 13 December 2014, 17:39   #685
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Last minute update, I decided I had to fix this after all

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip

It was cycle sequence bug when copper wakes up and was waiting for blitter, it was as "simple" as copper should wait for blitter first, then normal copper WAIT (was the other way previously). This moves WAIT idle cycle to correct position, result is wakeup cycle sequence that matches real hardware without 271b1 update (which was not correct, it only looked like it was correct).
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 December 2014, 19:06   #686
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Skip Intro (Intro) by Awesome & D-Tect & Vanish -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=6980

A500 OCS (most common) problem in OCS!

winuae 2.7.1beta4 (2014.01.18) OK in OCS!
winuae 2.7.1beta5 (2014.02.02) broken in OCS!

p.s. The demo was released a few days ago on Kestra BitWorld demobase! (and test it just a few minutes ago!)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Awesome_DTect-Skitro_001.png
Views:	152
Size:	2.2 KB
ID:	42446  
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 13 December 2014, 19:13   #687
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Skip Intro (Intro) by Awesome & D-Tect & Vanish -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=6980

A500 OCS (most common) problem in OCS!

winuae 2.7.1beta4 (2014.01.18) OK in OCS!
winuae 2.7.1beta5 (2014.02.02) broken in OCS!

p.s. The demo was released a few days ago on Kestra BitWorld demobase! (and test it just a few minutes ago!)
It is 99.999% demo bug if OCS has sprite problems 2710b5+. (It is first version that emulated this undocumented OCS/ECS sprite fetch behavior with overscan)

Not going to switch back to OCS Agnus today, don't want to break Agnus socket too soon

EDIT: A1000 tested, confirmed but corruption is a bit more colorful (flickering yellow color also appears in corrupted part) which means SPRxDATB can get changed (with something unknown) even when DMA is inhibited due to bitplane DMA.

EDIT2: A500 OCS (8371) tested, too strange to not test: same glitch but yellow (DATB contents) part is slightly different than on A1000. Most likely difference is Denise, my test A500 has ECS Denise. (Denise contains sprite data registers), not Agnus. Anyway, not that important because this can be only used to create garbage

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 13 December 2014 at 21:23.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 December 2014, 19:20   #688
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Last minute update, I decided I had to fix this after all

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip
Seems to work fine now! But not going to test today if the fix break something else. (it is too boring)

EDIT: I've already tested some 50 or so new released demos from Kestra... and that would be enough for today.

Last edited by amilo3438; 13 December 2014 at 20:15.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 13 December 2014, 21:57   #689
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
I was bored...

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=592

seems the above bug is back again from winuae_2900b23.exe (2014-11-01)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Samplers-BackIn90_001.png
Views:	104
Size:	1.7 KB
ID:	42448  
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 14 December 2014, 10:56   #690
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
winuae.zip updated.

Second last minute change: A1000 vs A500 last line sprite behavior difference found and implemented. Now graphics glitches (if OCS) in Skitro by Awesome/D-Tect/Vanish are 100% real hardware matching in A500 OCS and A1000 Agnus configurations.

(and quick workaround for Samplers demo)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 December 2014, 15:01   #691
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Profecy-LetsRave -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=5278

tested in A500 ECS Agnus 0.5MB + 0.5MB... problem after cooper bars part!

winuae_3000b27.exe (OK)
test winuae_3000b27_2014-12-13.exe (broken)

EDIT: enabled Immediate Blitter in Chipset options will fix it!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Profecy-LetsRave_001.png
Views:	99
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	42449  

Last edited by amilo3438; 14 December 2014 at 15:37.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 14 December 2014, 15:45   #692
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Thanks, and copper blitter wait was a bit too early now.. (Very buggy demo but it works by luck..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 December 2014, 16:57   #693
Sergey
 
Posts: n/a
Hello!
note not working demo "MadeInCroatia" in WinUAE 3.0.0 (Public Beta 27)
thank you.
 
Old 14 December 2014, 17:17   #694
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergey View Post
Hello!
note not working demo "MadeInCroatia" in WinUAE 3.0.0 (Public Beta 27)
thank you.
Thanks for reporting!

broken in winuae2700beta16 (2013.11.30.)

p.s. I missed it because I forgot to put it in my demo test-demobase. (obviously, no one is perfect)

(Seems like a CPU problem... if cycle-exact = OFF it will work!) or maybe something else (probably I was already a little tired)

Last edited by amilo3438; 14 December 2014 at 17:25.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 14 December 2014, 17:23   #695
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Worst ever report but untick "CIA TOD Bug" in Advanced chipset as a workaround.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 December 2014, 17:28   #696
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Worst ever report but untick "CIA TOD Bug" in Advanced chipset as a workaround.
yeah, right... I assumed there must be some reason why I do not have it in my test demo base!

Also, I did not notice anything unusual over, at least for those demo mentioned on the first page of this thread. (so I end up with demo testing)

I hope that this will be the best version so far of winuae.

Cheers!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 14 December 2014, 18:35   #697
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Elan Performer 1.0 (Crack Intro) by Creator -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=73845

forgot to mention this yesterday while was testing new demos... the problem happens only in ECS Agnus.
(not sure is it a problem or not, or it is normal for ECS)

EDIT: Be careful while switching back to ECS Agnus! (to not break your Agnus socket too soon)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Creator-CrElanPerformer_001.png
Views:	105
Size:	9.2 KB
ID:	42450  

Last edited by amilo3438; 14 December 2014 at 19:35.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 14 December 2014, 20:16   #698
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Elan Performer 1.0 (Crack Intro) by Creator -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=73845

forgot to mention this yesterday while was testing new demos... the problem happens only in ECS Agnus.
(not sure is it a problem or not, or it is normal for ECS)

EDIT: Be careful while switching back to ECS Agnus! (to not break your Agnus socket too soon)
A500 confirmed (I have another ECS A500). This kind of effect is the most common OCS vs ECS compatibility problem.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 December 2014, 13:48   #699
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
untick "CIA TOD Bug" in Advanced chipset as a workaround.
For me this is new information!

At the time when I tested the demo "MadeInCroatia", bug that I reported was regarding some graphical errors, and WinUAE had by default in the Advanced Chipset the "CIA TOD Bug" set to OFF... and in later versions is become again set to ON by default.

To me at the time was only known that for eg. the demo "The End by trilobite" has problems if this option is not set to ON!

Now several questions bothering me:

How likely each A500 has the "CIA TOD bug", whether listed demo "MadeInCroatia" and "The End by trilobite" have problems when run on a real Amiga 500?

Is there a list of program code that is need to have that option turned off to work properly in WinUAE? (Can such a list be inserted into WinUAE doc. file?)

Would it not be possible on the basis of these lists in detail to study / analyze this problem? (ie. why is the WinUAE at all necessary to have that option when the actual Amiga do not need it)

Thanks.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 15 December 2014, 15:16   #700
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
CIA TOD bug is the only option that is a sort of a hack fix. It is proven that "TOD bug" exists but for some reason it does not seem to trigger any interrupts in all hardware configurations.

It seems to be only a side-effect in MadeInCroatia, possibly some disk operation may a bit too slow (like
"disk rotating at all" speed state) and there is just enough time to trigger it. Later..

EDIT: MadeInCroatia for some reason does not immediately disable CIA-B interrupts when it takes over the system but only later and if TOD interrupt triggers during that period: crash.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problematic GVP A530 Turbo Mogsy support.Hardware 22 13 November 2012 19:12
Problematic thread? prowler project.EAB 5 28 October 2011 00:06
Problematic Holiday Lemmings 94 demo disk MethodGit support.Games 19 08 November 2010 03:56
Problematic slaves list keropi project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 44 28 November 2008 12:46
Looking for two demos... eternalcrusader request.Demos 3 01 August 2006 08:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22481 seconds with 12 queries