English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 December 2013, 17:35   #541
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Greatest Hits (Musicdisk) by Cult -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=4612

A500 most common ... it stops for a while on pic.1 and continue after some disk activity ... hm, why ??? ... isnt an Amiga multitasking ready !?

Now wondering does the same happens on a real thing ?!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cult-GreatestHits1_001.png
Views:	132
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	38488  
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 December 2013, 19:53   #542
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Greatest Hits (Musicdisk) by Cult -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=4612

A500 most common ... it stops for a while on pic.1 and continue after some disk activity ... hm, why ??? ... isnt an Amiga multitasking ready !?

Now wondering does the same happens on a real thing ?!
100% guaranteed, even without testing, emulation can't cause this kind of side-effect.

Anyway, tested and real A500 does exact same.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 December 2013, 20:01   #543
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
100% guaranteed, even without testing, emulation can't cause this kind of side-effect.

Anyway, tested and real A500 does exact same.
Thanks ... as now are removed all doubt.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 14:35   #544
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Boring Filled Vectors (Intro) by Intuition -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=15925

A500 (most common) ... after some cca 25 seconds it starts to behave strange like slowing down !!! ... (Note: If CE=OFF it doesnt happens!)

p.s. It seems the demo has been updated recently on the above link.

EDIT: JFI ... on 2.6.1 it behaves same but on an older 2.0.1 it doesnt work!


Hot New Stuff From the Hottest Group (Intro) by Intuition -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=29216

A500 (most common) ... glitches on upper side ... pic.1! (Note: Also its partly visible if filter option is set to Fullscreen TV.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	INTUITION-HotNewStuff_001.png
Views:	101
Size:	7.7 KB
ID:	38527  

Last edited by amilo3438; 04 January 2014 at 15:25.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 18:05   #545
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Boring Filled Vectors (Intro) by Intuition -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=15925
Confirmed, it looks like for some reason system vblank interrupt is left active that wastes some CPU time.

Does not work if ECS Denise (blank screen). Tested on A1000 and A500+ with OCS Denise. (My two other A500s have ECS Denise)

Quote:
Hot New Stuff From the Hottest Group (Intro) by Intuition -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=29216
A500 confirmed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 January 2014, 18:34   #546
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Tested on A1000 and A500+ with OCS Denise.
A500+ OCS ?!

p.s. So, it seems there is now almost no difference between real and emulated Amiga 500. Very good!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 18:38   #547
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
A500+ OCS ?!
Agnus is of course 2M ECS Agnus. Only Denise is OCS. (Was easiest way to do A500 test)

Quote:
p.s. So, it seems there is now almost no difference between real and emulated Amiga 500. Very good!
Still not good enough!
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 January 2014, 19:35   #548
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Still not good enough!
Of course, and probably never will ... improvement can only go close but never 100%.

For now I could say it is close 99.99% and 0.01% of this leaving for possible future unknown/undiscovered surprises.

Also, it should be said that the A500 CE emulation is now on a lot of high level than it was a few months ago. Why this did not happen earlier I do not know, but if I could guess a possible reason it might be a WHDLoad ...

a very useful tool indeed, but maybe just because in the last 2-3 years there has been no progress on improvements to the A500 CE emulation ...

because everything in it was working without problems also on fast WinUAE settings.

But however, I was not quite satisfied with such a situation, so it was necessary to do something, and here we are today at a much higher level A500 emulation ...

I have to admit that the trigger for this decision was an interview of 2009.
http://obligement.free.fr/articles_t...wwillen_en.php
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 06 January 2014, 00:55   #549
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
p.s.
You mentioned in that interview ... quote: "fixing last 1% takes 99% of the time and so on..."
Now I wonder how much time takes for fixing remaining 0.01% ?!


Days Of Thunder (Crack Intro) by Paradox -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=6468

A500 (most common) ... right side of X looks narrow ... pic.1 !!!


JFI ...Ishar 2: Messengers Of Doom (Crack Intro) by Paradox -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=9673

An example of "PAL mode lace" where WinUAE option "Double, fields" works/looks better than "Double, frames"!


Hit the Road (Megademo) by Flash Production -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=2754

A500 (most common) ... it starts to behave strange like slowing down on part shown on pic.2 (using headphones) !!! ... (Note: CE=OFF it doesnt happens!)

EDIT: It seems the slowing down in CE mode starts to happen from WinUAE 2.3.2 (2011-06-02) version !!! (Note: In WinUAE 2.3.1 (2011-02-25) working fine.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Paradox-CrDaysOfThunder_001.png
Views:	118
Size:	8.1 KB
ID:	38555   Click image for larger version

Name:	HITTHEROAD_1_001.png
Views:	99
Size:	5.7 KB
ID:	38564  

Last edited by amilo3438; 06 January 2014 at 21:41.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 06 January 2014, 13:42   #550
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
An example of "PAL mode lace" where WinUAE option "Double, fields" works/looks better than "Double, frames"!
I'm not sure what the reasoning for the old Double, frames method was, but with that every other field is shown one field too late. In the majority of cases Double, fields should give better results. Though there are some specific cases where (for example) horizontally scrolling text at just the right speed might look better with the old method.

If you can recall any interlaced demos which use vertically scrolling text, I reckon they should always look better in Double, fields mode.

Off-topic for this thread but I just discovered that on Linux/Wine, using triple buffering gives more or less rock-solid interlace emulation with Double, fields+ mode. (I wasn't expecting that to be possible under Wine.)
mark_k is offline  
Old 06 January 2014, 14:36   #551
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
I'm not sure what the reasoning for the old Double, frames method was, but with that every other field is shown one field too late. In the majority of cases Double, fields should give better results. Though there are some specific cases where (for example) horizontally scrolling text at just the right speed might look better with the old method.
Probably as simple reason as: get WB and static interlaced screens working in interlace good enough and save CPU power as much as possible, after all this code was made originally in late 1990s.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 January 2014, 13:48   #552
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
continuation from http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=549

Megademo - Masters At Work (Megademo) by Flash Production -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=4040

A500 (most common) ... strange behaving like not constant rotation speed of "FLASH" logo in WINUAE CE mode -> demo part shown on pic.1 !!!
(p.s. Start the demo from B disk! ... need some longer time to starts happen!) (Note: test in an older WinUAE 2.0.1 with the same config file and it doesnt happen.)

EDIT: Hm, this might be connected to my WinUAE config ... if turn off Legacy VSync then it works fine !!!

EDIT2: Still it produce sometimes very high CPU usage ... so probably it belongs to this category.

EDIT3: Everything is fine here ... my fault, didnt noticed that my laptop was running on battery!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FP-MastersAtWorkB_001.png
Views:	107
Size:	3.7 KB
ID:	38572  

Last edited by amilo3438; 07 January 2014 at 15:52.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 07 January 2014, 14:56   #553
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Just noticed on newer test winuae 2014-01-06 13:31 ... if press PAUSE-BREAK key cant return back into winuae !!!
(WinUAE running already in window mode ... only way to get out is Alt-F4)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 07 January 2014, 18:39   #554
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
It would be very interesting to see does the "Hit the Road (Megademo) by Flash Production" -> http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=549 behaves same also on a real Amiga ?! (Note: This problem is possible to detect only using headphones.)

p.s. After testing some a few hundreds crack intros now realizing how the WinUAE CE mode is really very good ... it seems now too difficult to find even some small demo problem.


Alpha & Omega 2 - Downtown (Demo) by Pure Metal Coders -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=171

A500 ECS ... pic.1 happens after the airplane landed on an aircraft carrier !!!

EDIT: It seems ADFs CRC32 are same as those on http://www.arabuusimiehet.com/break/...ils.php?id=148 ... so all 3 disks should be OK or "hand checked and verified to be working".
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AlphaOmegaII-3_001.png
Views:	110
Size:	61.2 KB
ID:	38573  

Last edited by amilo3438; 07 January 2014 at 21:19.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 08 January 2014, 12:51   #555
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
I have decided to ignore this topic from now ... currently see no point to continue searching for other possible demo/intro problems as everything seems to work fine now and probably it will need wasting lots of time to find any new problem.

Therefore once again, many thanks to Toni for fixing most of the reported demo problems.

Cheers


p.s. In attachment is .dat file list of all already tested demos/intros.


Summary
---------
more than >10.500 demos/intros has been tested in WinUAE

of which are 277 reported as problems (or 2.64% of all tested demos)

of which are 182 confirmed to behave same as on a real A500 (or 65.7% of all reported problems)

so thus were left only 95 of possible WinUAE real problems (or 34.3% of all reported problems)

of which 65 demos/intros has already been fixed (or 68.4% of WinUAE real problems)

so thus left only 30 demos/intros to solve/investigate (or only cca 0.29% of all already tested demos/intros)

therfore, according to this the current WinUAE acuraccy regarding demos/intros would be cca 99.71% (or perhaps even better )

p.s.
From these 30 demos/intros left to solve/investigate it looks that only some 10 make a visible problem in WinUAE (like glitches etc.) ...
so according to this the current accuracy of WinUAE regarding demos is much higher ... cca >99.90% !!!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Already_tested_demos.zip (197.3 KB, 203 views)

Last edited by amilo3438; 12 January 2014 at 15:31.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 08 January 2014, 18:04   #556
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
p.s.
You mentioned in that interview ... quote: "fixing last 1% takes 99% of the time and so on..."
Now I wonder how much time takes for fixing remaining 0.01% ?!
Forever. There is some chipset features that can be used to create graphics glitches that are not worth the trouble to emulate

Quote:
Days Of Thunder (Crack Intro) by Paradox -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=6468

A500 (most common) ... right side of X looks narrow ... pic.1 !!!
A500 confirmed.


Quote:
Hit the Road (Megademo) by Flash Production -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=2754
Does not slow down on my A500. Probably some rarely used CPU instruction again.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 January 2014, 20:45   #557
BackSpace
 
Posts: n/a
Hello everyone,

don't know if it's my graphic drivers or WinUae bug so could you confirm this ? Demo involved : Rink A Dink Redux (party and final version have same glitch)

Tested on latest WinUae Beta with QS config (A500 / 1.3 ROM, OCS, 512 KB Chip + 512 Slow RAM (most common)).

Graphic glitch occurs only in fullscreen mode with the "demon" picture.
In fullscreen there is glitch in the right part of the picture, not in windowed mode (see attachments).

Anyway thanks for all the work done on Winuae.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WinUae_Rink_a_dink_FullScreen800x600.png
Views:	141
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	38630   Click image for larger version

Name:	WinUae_Rink_a_dink_Window.png
Views:	141
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	38631  
 
Old 22 January 2014, 20:22   #558
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Skeletors First (Demo) by Cult -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=6133

A500 (most common) ... pic.1 (p.s. It seems I missed this earlier somehow.)

EDIT: Probably there is more links on Kestra Amiga Demo Database that didnt work before and seems it works now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CULT-SkeletonsFirst_003.png
Views:	102
Size:	10.0 KB
ID:	38719  

Last edited by amilo3438; 22 January 2014 at 21:53.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 22 January 2014, 21:06   #559
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by BackSpace View Post
Hello everyone,

don't know if it's my graphic drivers or WinUae bug so could you confirm this ? Demo involved : Rink A Dink Redux (party and final version have same glitch)

Tested on latest WinUae Beta with QS config (A500 / 1.3 ROM, OCS, 512 KB Chip + 512 Slow RAM (most common)).

Graphic glitch occurs only in fullscreen mode with the "demon" picture.
In fullscreen there is glitch in the right part of the picture, not in windowed mode (see attachments).

Anyway thanks for all the work done on Winuae.
Because configs are different, config and log files are always needed. (also "last beta" does not really say much..)

EDIT: good test is to save state in windowed mode, boot in fullscreen and load the state, does something change? (and vice versa)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Skeletors First (Demo) by Cult -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=6133

A500 (most common) ... pic.1 (p.s. It seems I missed this earlier somehow.)
Left edge lines? Yes, it is exactly right.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 January 2014, 18:48   #560
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Wanted (Crack Intro) by Vision Factory & Beyonders -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=15913

A500 (most common) ... strange dots/lines -> pic.1


Another Intro (Intro) by Savage -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=19975

A500 (most common) ... one pixel/star seems static -> pic.2


A New Modem Import - Pot of Fun (Intro) by Symbiosis -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=26672

A500 (most common) ... some glitches -> pic.3 (Note: On 0.5 chip ram it looks different !!!)


Curious (40k Intro) by Abyss -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=20768

A500 (most common) ... broken !!! (works fine in 2.7.0)


(FYI ... on the 1st page "Demos with "blitter active" issues" has been updated with some more demos.)

(p.s. Note: I no longer have so much free time as last year, so I'll try to help when/how much I get.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VF_Bey-CrWanted_001.png
Views:	95
Size:	2.6 KB
ID:	38727   Click image for larger version

Name:	SAVAGE-NewDemo_001.png
Views:	103
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	38728   Click image for larger version

Name:	Symbiosis-PotOfFun_001.png
Views:	95
Size:	7.1 KB
ID:	38730  

Last edited by amilo3438; 24 January 2014 at 15:09.
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problematic GVP A530 Turbo Mogsy support.Hardware 22 13 November 2012 19:12
Problematic thread? prowler project.EAB 5 28 October 2011 00:06
Problematic Holiday Lemmings 94 demo disk MethodGit support.Games 19 08 November 2010 03:56
Problematic slaves list keropi project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 44 28 November 2008 12:46
Looking for two demos... eternalcrusader request.Demos 3 01 August 2006 08:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28169 seconds with 12 queries