English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2013, 20:35   #521
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I think I can finally say that chipset and 68000 CPU is now practically 100% (minus stupid bugs) cycle-exact and biggest remaining problems are: blitter register modifications while active and reading write-only registers that isn't correctly emulated yet.
Yeah, thats great, it is now very very near but still not exactly 100%.

Well, in my opinion, when below 2 demos found in "strange issues" will work same as on a real Amiga then that will be 100%.

Meeting Intro (Intro) by Disknet -> http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=358
Liquid-Glenz (Demo) by Maniacs -> http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=369

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Thanks for finding HUGE amounts of test cases (the more there is similar test cases, the easier it is to solve).

(Of course next problem you find is something unexpected..)
Thanks also for fixing HUGE amount of problematic demos (hope will also manage to solve/fix some of those still not fixed).

Now, there is only letter "Z" left to finish ... so will see if there is something unexpected waiting to be discovered.
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 December 2013, 21:33   #522
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Demo 2 (Demo) by Zark

A500 OCS KS1.2/1.3 512 chip ... some strange flickering !!!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 27 December 2013, 21:59   #523
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Demo 2 (Demo) by Zark

A500 OCS KS1.2/1.3 512 chip ... some strange flickering !!!
100% A500 confirmed. (Makes no sense but flickering glitch is 100% exact same..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 December 2013, 22:06   #524
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Meeting Intro (Intro) by Disknet -> http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=358
I rechecked and it does have glitches on real A500 (Maybe I didn't wait long enough). It happens much less than on emulation but every 5-10 seconds similar single frame vector fill leak happens. (Or perhaps I had different config, don't remember..)

EDIT: it flickers if 0.5+0.5, it does not if 1M chip. "Slow" ram has exact same speed as chip ram so perhaps demo has some weird bug or something.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 28 December 2013, 12:18   #525
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
I have just finished with verifying A500 OCS/ECS demos/intros (mostly), so its time for small summary:

In last >15 weeks has been tested >10.200 A500 OCS/ECS demos/intros ... what would mean cca 100 demos/intros per day.

Yeah, it sounds now too much crazy and masochistic, but at beginning I planned to test only a small number of demos - even not more than a few hundreds, but this happened, so from now all could enjoy an improved WinUAE A500 CE emulation ... and also all this thanks to Toni who has managed to solve/fix the most of problems found in emulation. Thanks again Toni.

With this ends the period of intensive testing demo/intros ... and what still has not been tested in this round, are all other categories like crack intros, music demos, packdisks, slideshows, diskmagazines and etc., even some of has already been tested but in a negligible number.

Happy New Year to everyone !!!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 28 December 2013, 19:40   #526
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
This is now confirmed working 100% correctly! I did more A500 tests, booted it 5 times, 3 times it worked without glitches, 2 times it had identical glitches! Must be a buggy demo. (I only tested it once last time..)

Same in emulation, sometimes it works, sometimes it has glitches.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 28 December 2013, 20:22   #527
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Wow, thats really great ... so both is now confirmed to working/behaving same on a real Amiga, except for Meeting Intro when it running on a real Amiga with 1mb chip seems to not glitches, but on emulation QS A500 ECS 1mb it still glitches.

Anyway, all in all, still very impressive achievement regarding accuracy in Amiga 500 emulation.


It seems I forgot to mention yesterday the last demo left in "most likely CPU emulator timing" issues:

Demo by Dope -> http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=423

I have tested it little more today:
after it starts on screen and from some 18 seconds the logo glitches very quickly ...
I have also counted when this glitches happens in seconds: 18, 23 ... 40, 45 ... 67 ... 81 ... 98 ... 113 ...149 ... 157 ... etc.

Now wondering does it behaves same on a real Amiga ?!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 28 December 2013, 21:40   #528
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This is now confirmed working 100% correctly! I did more A500 tests, booted it 5 times, 3 times it worked without glitches, 2 times it had identical glitches! Must be a buggy demo. (I only tested it once last time..)

Same in emulation, sometimes it works, sometimes it has glitches.
Well, regarding Liquid-Glenz (Demo), when it glitches in emulation and after a some little longer time it write screen with something and also stops to work ... does it really happens same on a real A500 ECS 1mb ?!

EDIT: Also the demo is from mid. 1994 -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=10031 ... and also works fine in emu on A500+ (ECS Full) ...
It could be that its not made for A500 at all ?!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 28 December 2013, 21:43   #529
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Well, regarding Liquid-Glenz (Demo), when it glitches in emulation and after a some little longer time it write screen with something and also stops to work ... does it really happens same on a real A500 ECS 1mb ?!
Yes, it will slowly self-destruct.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 December 2013, 10:22   #530
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
EDIT: Also the demo is from mid. 1994 -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=10031 ... and also works fine in emu on A500+ (ECS Full) ...
It could be that its not made for A500 at all ?!
Yeah, possibly it accidentally uses upper 1M of chip and gets random data (which is mirror of low 1M chip, some kind of random data makes it work, some causes glitches) if less than 2M chip ram.

Should be fixed now. It CPU writes to BPLCON0 (copper is used for color changes only) and in some rare situations when CPU didn't have as many free bus cycles, write was done one color clock cycle too late..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 December 2013, 12:18   #531
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Should be fixed now. It CPU writes to BPLCON0 (copper is used for color changes only) and in some rare situations when CPU didn't have as many free bus cycles, write was done one color clock cycle too late..
Thats really really great, so you managed to solve the all problematic demos from "most likely CPU emulator timing" issues ... Well done!

JFI ... I was yesterday testing some demos from "blitter active" issues and notice following changes in behaving:
Pax Americana by Complex -> garbage looks now different than before !
Expiration (Demo) by Mayhem -> glitches also looks different now than before !
Vector Bobs (Demo) by It -> no more garbage in scrolltext now !

p.s.
Regarding demo Meeting Intro (Intro) by Disknet, we mostly focused on glitches from rotating cube ... but there is also happens some garbage in scrolling text below it, and it sometimes return again to normal ... does the same garbage on scrolling text happens on a real Amiga ?!

Last edited by amilo3438; 29 December 2013 at 12:34.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 29 December 2013, 15:25   #532
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Regarding demo Meeting Intro (Intro) by Disknet, we mostly focused on glitches from rotating cube ... but there is also happens some garbage in scrolling text below it, and it sometimes return again to normal ... does the same garbage on scrolling text happens on a real Amiga ?!
I decided to ignore this demo for now. It is too unreliable test case because it also glitches on real hardware, which makes it impossible to debug without wasting lots of time. ("Was this glitch 'correct' glitch or not?")
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 December 2013, 16:42   #533
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Yeah, probably those glitches are not worth the effort. Good decision.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 30 December 2013, 12:07   #534
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
F-19 Stealth Fighter (Crack Intro) by Skid Row & Valhalla -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=16236

A500 most common ... it doesnt work ! (hope its not some library missing issue)

EDIT: False alarm !!! ... Found the reason ... it needs 1mb chip ram!

Last edited by amilo3438; 30 December 2013 at 12:15.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 30 December 2013, 12:19   #535
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
F-19 Stealth Fighter (Crack Intro) by Skid Row & Valhalla -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=16236

A500 most common ... it doesnt work ! (hope its not some library missing issue)
Quote:
it needs 1mb chip ram!
"Original" ("F-19 Stealth Fighter v1.00 (1990)(MicroProse)[cr SR - Valhalla]") does not need, it loads from bootblock, no CLI screen open, no corruption.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 December 2013, 20:39   #536
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Legalize It 2 (Musicdisk) by Anarchy -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=9007

A500 most common ... pic.1 !!!

EDIT: Yes, it seems to happens random ... but couldnt duplicate it on f.e. an older WinUAE 2.0.1 version !!!

EDIT2: It starts to happen on winuae.zip test version from 2013-12-15 9:47 ... in previous test version 2013-12-11 19:58 and also official 2.7.0 it works fine.
(p.s. How to duplicate: press Ctrl+Amiga+Amiga ... at least after 3rd reset time it should happen.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ANARCHY-Legaliseit2_A_001.png
Views:	87
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	38469  

Last edited by amilo3438; 30 December 2013 at 22:29.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 31 December 2013, 11:52   #537
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Fixed but I am still not 100% sure what parts of sprite state gets reset on vblank.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 December 2013, 15:48   #538
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
JFI ... it is for AGA but seems it doesnt recognize AGA chipset ... pic.1 !!!

Gyrate (Demo) by Wrath Designs -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=11080
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	006.png
Views:	71
Size:	7.0 KB
ID:	38486  
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 31 December 2013, 15:48   #539
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
JFI ... it is for AGA but seems it doesnt recognize AGA chipset ... pic.1 !!!

Gyrate (Demo) by Wrath Designs -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=11080
99% surely it needs setpatch to be run first.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 December 2013, 15:57   #540
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
99% surely it needs setpatch to be run first.
Yeah, AGA 2mb chip + 8mb fast + WB = works fine!
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problematic GVP A530 Turbo Mogsy support.Hardware 22 13 November 2012 19:12
Problematic thread? prowler project.EAB 5 28 October 2011 00:06
Problematic Holiday Lemmings 94 demo disk MethodGit support.Games 19 08 November 2010 03:56
Problematic slaves list keropi project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 44 28 November 2008 12:46
Looking for two demos... eternalcrusader request.Demos 3 01 August 2006 08:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24743 seconds with 12 queries