English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 November 2013, 09:31   #361
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Party Demo by Ghostriders

Broken in 2.5.1 or previous (pic.1)!!! ... confirmed to work fine on 2.4.1.
It enabled lightpen and lightpen emulation triggered immediately (=lightpen touched the screen), now it only triggers when lightpen is actually configured in gameports or input panel.

Quote:
p.s. Hope this one will also be not forgotten -> http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=355
I didn't notice anything interesting (or even nothing not so interesting).

Quote:
EDIT: JFI - And this one, as it looks, doesnt work in OCS/ECS but also stop to work in AGA after 2.7.0 Beta8 version:

Believe (Intro) by Gods -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=29581
It is AGA only and fixed. 68020 cycle-exact related.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 November 2013, 00:26   #362
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Handshake Slideshow v1.0 Intro by Goonies 2041

A500 KS1.2 512kb ... Some glitches on scrolling text on CE (pic.1)!


Intryx Are The Besteur (Demo) by Hemoroids

Weird! (pic.2) ... maybe the file is damaged!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Goonies-HandshakeSlideI_001.png
Views:	104
Size:	19.8 KB
ID:	37884   Click image for larger version

Name:	HMD-IntryxAreTheBesteur_001.png
Views:	90
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	37886  

Last edited by amilo3438; 18 November 2013 at 10:37.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 18 November 2013, 17:48   #363
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
EDIT: Is it possible to DL test winuae.zip versions of beta 7 till beta 8 version?
No. Only official beta executable and sources are stored. I'll do some test versions later this week.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Handshake Slideshow v1.0 Intro by Goonies 2041

A500 KS1.2 512kb ... Some glitches on scrolling text on CE (pic.1)!
Same on real A500 and A1000, glitches are not 100% identical but very similar. (Does not really make sense, this is really old, only A500 OCS or A1000 existed and it only works with A500 KS 1.2, 33.180, A1000 KS 1.2 33.166 won't also work)

btw, this is OCS only, top logo is garbage on ECS, yet another demo that sets ECS display bits and triggers the bitplane ending too late bug.

Quote:
Intryx Are The Besteur (Demo) by Hemoroids

Weird! (pic.2) ... maybe the file is damaged!
Same on real A500. Probably damaged.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 November 2013, 12:45   #364
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Liquid-Glenz (Demo) by Maniacs

Some glitches appears on A500 ECS 1mb (pic.1)! (Seems it doesnt appears on A500+ 1mb!)

Note: Press RMB to go on mentioned part!


Lovely Bubbly (Demo) by Maniacs

pic.2 ... small errors/instabilities on scroller text!


Profound (Demo) by Maniacs

pic.3 ... same on a real A500?


Who the F*ck ... (Demo) by Maniacs

pic.4 ... glitches in small window on letter "M" rotation?!


Holocube (Intro) by Maniacs

This might be interesting: On A1200 basic works fine ... on A500+ 2mb chip CPU 68000 works fine for cca. 15 sec and then stops (on CPU 68020 seems no problem)?!

Pacific BBS (Intro) by Maniacs

When it changes on 2nd screen after a while got an "Exception 3" message ... but not with 68020!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Maniacs-LiquidGlenz_003.png
Views:	112
Size:	11.3 KB
ID:	37907   Click image for larger version

Name:	Maniacs-LoVeLyBuBbLy_001.png
Views:	108
Size:	12.0 KB
ID:	37908   Click image for larger version

Name:	Maniacs-Profound_002.png
Views:	101
Size:	5.8 KB
ID:	37909   Click image for larger version

Name:	MANIACS-WhoTheFuck__001.png
Views:	107
Size:	9.2 KB
ID:	37910  

Last edited by amilo3438; 19 November 2013 at 14:15.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 19 November 2013, 17:27   #365
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Probably would be good idea to know which hardware above demos are supposed to run. They are "too new" to be guaranteed basic A500.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 November 2013, 18:40   #366
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Probably would be good idea to know which hardware above demos are supposed to run. They are "too new" to be guaranteed basic A500.
Dont know ... If something doesnt work in basic and is newer, I always try A500 ECS 1mb and other till A1200, that is my way.

If a demo manage to start in some of WinUAE configuration, it just need to be tested on a similar real Amiga config and compared ... thats all.

p.s. I already mentioned in 1st demo the tested config used in WinUAE.


EDIT: Tested all again in WinUAE and found min. configs needed:

Liquid-Glenz (Demo) by Maniacs -> WinUAE A500 ECS Agnus 1mb (glitches, it seems to be maybe random)

Lovely Bubbly (Demo) by Maniacs -> WinUAE A500 ECS Agnus 1mb

Profound (Demo) by Maniacs -> WinUAE A500 ECS Agnus 1mb

Who the F*ck ... (Demo) by Maniacs -> WinUAE A500 ECS Agnus 1mb

Holocube (Intro) by Maniacs -> WinUAE A500 ECS Agnus 1mb (it stop after cca.15 sec), or A500+ 1mb 68020 (dont know why 68020 wont run in ECS Agnus 1mb?!)

Pacific BBS (Intro) by Maniacs -> WinUAE A500 (most common), or with 68020

p.s. So most of above needs only an A500 ECS Agnus 1mb ram for testing/comparing !!!

Last edited by amilo3438; 19 November 2013 at 19:29.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 19 November 2013, 19:45   #367
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Perhaps but I am not going to test anything if hardware spec is too unknown. Just blindly trying configs until it works is wrong way to do it.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 November 2013, 20:09   #368
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Perhaps but I am not going to test anything if hardware spec is too unknown. Just blindly trying configs until it works is wrong way to do it.
So, even not interested to see how it works on A500 ECS 1mb !!!

Is that the end of the show?
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 19 November 2013, 20:54   #369
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Liquid-Glenz (Demo) by Maniacs

Some glitches appears on A500 ECS 1mb (pic.1)! (Seems it doesnt appears on A500+ 1mb!)

Note: Press RMB to go on mentioned part!
Don't see glitches on A500.

Quote:
Lovely Bubbly (Demo) by Maniacs

pic.2 ... small errors/instabilities on scroller text!
A500 confirmed.

Quote:
Profound (Demo) by Maniacs

pic.3 ... same on a real A500?
Yes, probably usual vector calculation inaccuracies.

Quote:
Who the F*ck ... (Demo) by Maniacs

pic.4 ... glitches in small window on letter "M" rotation?!
Yes and it crashes soon after. (These kind of demos are annoying, they should just say "68020+" needed, or AGA needed or whatever instead of appearing to work)

Quote:
Holocube (Intro) by Maniacs

This might be interesting: On A1200 basic works fine ... on A500+ 2mb chip CPU 68000 works fine for cca. 15 sec and then stops (on CPU 68020 seems no problem)?!
This is far from interesting (see below). Maybe later, if I bother to reconnect my A500+..

A500 + 1M chip: garbage appears. Probably does not wait for the blitter which causes semi-random problems.

Quote:
Pacific BBS (Intro) by Maniacs

When it changes on 2nd screen after a while got an "Exception 3" message ... but not with 68020!
Yes, 68020+ only. (68020 can access words and longs from odd address, 68000/010 can't and cause exception 3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
So, even not interested to see how it works on A500 ECS 1mb !!!

Is that the end of the show?
No but I am not going to bother with demos that may or may need something else than basic A500 or basic A1200 configs.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 November 2013, 23:48   #370
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
No but I am not going to bother with demos that may or may need something else than basic A500 or basic A1200 configs.
Well, if may say, dont you think that for someone who volunteer every day in last 10 weeks, working hard on verifying/testing huge numbers of very boring OCS/ECS demos/intros, is always very demotivating if hears words: "I am not going to", "I dont care" or similar.

The only thing that motivates to continue is if there is a clear common goal ... otherwise there would be no sense to continue to work.
(I would never want to be forcing anyone to be doing something that he would not normally want to do.)


So, lets clarify then what "basic" configs would be acceptable for verifying demos in future:

for Model A1200 there already exist "basic non-expanded" configuration ...

but for Model A500 there are more configs and no one is called basic, so all configs are (potentially) acceptable?!

And for Models A500+, A600, A1000 no need to bother with, right?

p.s.
But unfortunately nowhere has mentioned for what Amiga configs a demo is made ... it could be very frustrating.
Perhaps to limit the years of demos acceptable for testing on A500 or A1200 models could be a better way.
like: Models A500 all demos/intros from 198x till 1993 ...and Model A1200 all demos/intros of 199x ?!

Last edited by amilo3438; 20 November 2013 at 00:22.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 20 November 2013, 15:59   #371
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
I don't want to do it because testing non-basic configurations can require lots of hardware changes. You can easily break chip sockets, expansion boards, connectors etc if you keep swapping them all the time. (It is soooo easy and safe with an emulator!)

Only A500 1.3 ECS 0.5m/0.5m+0.5m/1m chip configs are simple, just flip one or two switches. A1000 can be used to test older KS versions easily, but only if program runs with 512k chip only.

Anything else -> when there is nothing else left
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 November 2013, 16:41   #372
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
I'm not so sure I quite understand this reasoning, because the only way is to gather all the problems and then see what to do next with them ... whether they can be tested on a real Amiga or not ... a matter of fact, and the idea of opening this topic up to now there has not been some special demands.

But if there was a supermarket where they are exposed to all the problems, then it would be easy to choose what you want to, but unfortunately something like that does not exist.

p.s.
Do we want to continue as so far? (note: no one demands that something must be tested on a real Amiga at any cost)
or we will thank each other on a good cooperation?

Or we feel a little exhausted on OCS/ECS, so maybe to continue after 2.7.0 release on A1200?

Last edited by amilo3438; 20 November 2013 at 18:15.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 20 November 2013, 19:28   #373
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Listing them is fine of course but don't expect me to test them until later.

Yes, please, continue, it has been great help, I just don't want you to "waste" time by testing demos that have totally unknown hardware requirements, I really hate to see glitches and then I want to find the exact working config on real hardware. I don't want to do that, I'd prefer to know it in advance

EDIT: No A1200, even after 2.7.0, "phase 2" of 68020 CE update is planned after 2.7.0.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 20 November 2013 at 19:35.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 November 2013, 20:26   #374
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
All right then, it would be really pity to stop all this after the goal is so close, so will continue testing A500 OCS/ECS demos/intros where I stopped yesterday.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 20 November 2013, 21:10   #375
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
New Stuff (Demo) by Miracle

A500 (most common) ... it wont start?!

Also found another version on pouet -> http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=27508

On pouet there are 2 versions, original and fixed one ... original also wont start?! fixed work fine, but is that been fixed to work on an emu, dont know.


Sine Intro (Demo) by Miracle & Rebels

A500 (most common) ... it also wont start (Released: 1990-08-31)?!

Last edited by amilo3438; 20 November 2013 at 21:22.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 20 November 2013, 21:21   #376
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
New Stuff (Demo) by Miracle

A500 (most common) ... it wont start?!

Also found another version on pouet -> http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=27508

On pouet there are 2 versions, original and fixed one ... original also wont start?! fixed work fine, but is that been fixed to work on an emu, dont know.
It needs both files in lha archive. Easiest method is to mount the lha as a harddrive, boot, type "miracle-intro" + return.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 November 2013, 21:28   #377
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It needs both files in lha archive. Easiest method is to mount the lha as a harddrive, boot, type "miracle-intro" + return.
Yeah, it works on that way, thanks.

EDIT: If I after testing remove that lha file from harddrive and click on Reset button in properties, it now needs more time before WB hand is shown!
(just to mention that everything on "CD & Hard drives" window is empty)

p.s. Playing with the harddrive option managed to crash Beta 14 with some other file (see attach.).
Attached Files
File Type: dmp winuae_270b14_20131120_225200.dmp (60.4 KB, 37 views)

Last edited by amilo3438; 20 November 2013 at 23:02.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 20 November 2013, 23:24   #378
heavy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: europe
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
New Stuff (Demo) by Miracle
fixed work fine, but is that been fixed to work on an emu, dont know.
no, not fixed to work on emulator. AGA fix, relocatable code... (startup recoded, copperlist-blitter wait fixes...)
heavy is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 12:31   #379
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
New New Wave Demo by New Wave

A500 (most common) ... only one line is rotating (pic.1)?! (on above link picture is different)

p.s.
Also on this link -> http://www.arabuusimiehet.com/break/...s.php?id=11676

EDIT: It only needs 512mb chip and RMB click!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NEW_WAVE-NewNewWave_001.png
Views:	88
Size:	7.8 KB
ID:	37926  

Last edited by amilo3438; 21 November 2013 at 12:41.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 18:05   #380
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Polaris Mania (Musicdisk) by Polaris

A500 OCS/ECS 0.5mb+0.5mb ... pic.1 -> PAL mode lace (what is ok)

A500 ECS Agnus 1mb ... pic.2 -> it switches to NTSC mode lace automatically (weird)?!

p.s. Tested on b14, D3D, scanelines + double fields!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	POLARIS-Mania1_001.png
Views:	76
Size:	19.3 KB
ID:	37929   Click image for larger version

Name:	POLARIS-Mania1_004.png
Views:	76
Size:	15.5 KB
ID:	37930  

Last edited by amilo3438; 21 November 2013 at 18:13.
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problematic GVP A530 Turbo Mogsy support.Hardware 22 13 November 2012 19:12
Problematic thread? prowler project.EAB 5 28 October 2011 00:06
Problematic Holiday Lemmings 94 demo disk MethodGit support.Games 19 08 November 2010 03:56
Problematic slaves list keropi project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 44 28 November 2008 12:46
Looking for two demos... eternalcrusader request.Demos 3 01 August 2006 08:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27371 seconds with 12 queries