English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 September 2013, 15:40   #1
Asman
68k

Asman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 628
Metro-Cross (Atari ST port)

With Wanted Team help another port from Atari ST is done: Metro-Cross. Find it here

Info from MetroCross.readme:

Metro Cross from Atari ST.
Use joystick or keyboard.

Default keys:
Cursor Left - left
Cursor Right - right
Cursor Up - up
Cursor Down - down
A - jump
P - pause (other key to unpause)

F10 - back to OS

Highscores are saved as "mc.high", during exit to OS.

This version contains 24 levels.

Requirments:
- Amiga with free 1.0 MB RAM.

Enjoy.
Asman is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 September 2013, 15:44   #2
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
I hope the game was not chose based upon the reputation of its box cover


Anyway, congratulations on doing a new port (not tried it yet)
lilalurl is offline  
Old 11 September 2013, 15:50   #3
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Cool love this game, must try in out
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 September 2013, 15:54   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Great, one of the best ST arcade ports imo. Thanks, Asman. Will try it later.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 11 September 2013, 16:17   #5
Cherno
Registered User
Cherno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilalurl View Post
I hope the game was not chose based upon the reputation of its box cover
The infamous box cover was the first thing I thought of when I read the title
Cherno is offline  
Old 11 September 2013, 16:22   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilalurl View Post
I hope the game was not chose based upon the reputation of its box cover
It's not that bad...



@Asman
Nice one I'll give it a try tomorrow
TCD is offline  
Old 11 September 2013, 16:23   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Gameplay is really good. The controls are really smooth compared to the mediocre C64 version. Great Amiga conversion, just reached level 6 without any problems.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 02:00   #8
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Never played this game before on any format. First go tonight, really good fun, also managed to hit level six. Thank you for a sterling conversion again.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 07:52   #9
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
I'll wait for the s2325 youtube video.





Thanks Asman and Wanted Team.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 08:08   #10
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
YAY ! Go Wanted Team...

It is strange how back in the day we hated straight ST ports... now we are loving them
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 10:22   #11
Greyfox
Pixel Blender!

Greyfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 262
Send a message via MSN to Greyfox
Amazing work, this really is now shortening the Atari ST exclusive games list now..many thanx for the great work guys
Greyfox is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 14:30   #12
vitux
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 495
Thanks for the conversion and you make many more.
I have a doubt, Asman is the author of the other conversions? (Supersprint, Gauntlet etc)

And what the difference between a port and reverse engineering?
vitux is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 14:47   #13
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 320
Game is a bit boring (on any format). Just running and running...
On 68040 animation slows down when obstacles appear.
PopoCop is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 15:02   #14
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitux View Post
I have a doubt, Asman is the author of the other conversions? (Supersprint, Gauntlet etc)
No, those were meynaf's work:
http://eab.abime.net/retrogaming-gen...tml#post808731

who also ported IK:
http://eab.abime.net/amiga-scene/68546-port-ik-st.html


Asman/WT have also ported Solomon's key:
http://eab.abime.net/amiga-scene/688...st-ported.html


Quote:
Originally Posted by vitux View Post
And what the difference between a port and reverse engineering?
The experts might have a better answer, but:
A port is... a port (so a conversion to another platform).
Reverse engineering is the process to analyze how a program (game) works on a platform. This way, if you don't have access to the source code or don't want to write everything from scratch, you have a base to code your port.

So what Asman and meynaf do is checking how the games work on the Atari ST and then writing some code to get that working on Amiga.
lilalurl is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 15:11   #15
Phantomz
Registered User
Phantomz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 190
Thanks for this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PopoCop View Post
Game is a bit boring (on any format). Just running and running...
On 68040 animation slows down when obstacles appear.
I noticed this slow down on my 1260, runs fine on my 1230 though.
Phantomz is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 15:49   #16
leathered
Registered User

leathered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 304
Just tried this and running very nicely on my 030, great work!
leathered is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 16:07   #17
Asman
68k

Asman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by PopoCop View Post
Game is a bit boring (on any format). Just running and running...
.
So its mean there is no sense to make extended conversion of this game ?(gfx from arcade + logic from Atari ST )

Quote:
Originally Posted by PopoCop View Post
On 68040 animation slows down when obstacles appear.
I will check this. Thank you.

@Phantomz - I will check this too. Thank you.
Asman is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 16:14   #18
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat666 View Post
YAY ! Go Wanted Team...

It is strange how back in the day we hated straight ST ports... now we are loving them
Super Sprint, Solomon's Key and Metro-Cross are pretty basic in technics. An ST could handle it good enough. Later games though...

Is SunDog: Frozen Legacy really that hard to convert?

Quote:
So its mean there is no sense to make extended conversion of this game ?(gfx from arcade + logic from Atari ST )
I would love it. Do you considering to do it?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 17:33   #19
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
gameplay: [ Show youtube player ]
Please have in mind that I'm playing in 320x200 window on 1920x1200 display and everything is tiny for me. 'Crack intro' have YM-like music.
You can compare it with Atari ST version [ Show youtube player ]
and here is unfinished version for Atari 8-bit [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 12 September 2013, 18:45   #20
Phantomz
Registered User
Phantomz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
gameplay: [ Show youtube player ]
Please have in mind that I'm playing in 320x200 window on 1920x1200 display and everything is tiny for me. 'Crack intro' have YM-like music.
You can compare it with Atari ST version [ Show youtube player ]
and here is unfinished version for Atari 8-bit [ Show youtube player ]
Are you running the amiga version with an emulator?

It looks the same as the Atari ST version on both my Amiga 1200's, Title Screen is black and not blue, and blue squares on the floor are the same etc.

With regards to my 060, maybe slow due to something installed in my OS or 060 Lib etc as runs fine when booted from floppy, but get slow down running from HD.

Runs perfect from floppy or HD with Blizzard 1230 mkiv.
Phantomz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resident Evil port for Atari ST coze project.Amiga Game Factory 37 08 February 2009 15:41
cross dos Dave_wb support.Hardware 15 27 March 2005 19:04
Atari Legend. Finally an Atari ST database similar to HOL! Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 23 04 December 2004 07:46
EBAY Amiga / Atari ST / Atari 2600 stuff Eggsplosion MarketPlace 0 09 October 2004 22:01
cross dos help fastflange request.Apps 2 19 June 2002 18:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34700 seconds with 11 queries