English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

Thread Tools
Old 26 October 2002, 08:49   #1
Posts: n/a
whdload for PC or Amiga?

I have noted that Whdload is a utility used to convert non dos Amiga games into a harddisk installable version. I have also noted that patches are available for certain games such as Harlequin which include trainers.

I would like to know if Whdload and the patch files can be downloaded to my PC? I have tried doing so though I do not have an application to open .lha files.

Many thanks
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 October 2002, 09:26   #2
fiath's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,926
Use WinACE or WinRAR for LHA files...
fiath is offline  
Old 26 October 2002, 14:51   #3
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,603
WHDLoad is an Amiga program, it is useless on the PC unless you use it with WinUAE.
thomas is offline  
Old 26 October 2002, 18:01   #4
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,241
Warlock, as noted elsewhere WHDLoad is a tool primarily used for "real" amigas to get older software working again. Although there are those that apparently use it with WinUAE, I've heard that their level of success for emulation use is mixed.
(As Akira would say "Nothing beats the real thing!" copyright Akira pty Ltd. )
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 26 October 2002, 18:35   #5
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,893
Indeed, Zark, nothing like playing WHDLoad games in yoru lovely expanded A1200

Check out Cody's WHDLoad FAQ for more info
Akira is offline  
Old 27 October 2002, 12:30   #6
Posts: n/a
Thanks to everyone who responded.

I will try WinAce or WinRar first. If those applications don't work I will look at buying an Amiga with a harddrive.
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHDLoad and Amiga 500? mojorific project.WHDLoad 26 08 July 2016 01:24
WHDLoad in Demobase Amiga V3 sjakie43 support.Demos 30 21 September 2012 19:12
How do you get WHDload onto your Amiga?... dave4shmups project.WHDLoad 1 13 January 2010 08:00
whdload instructions? [where to put WHDLoad games for GameBase Amiga v1.4] luke_70it project.MAGE 8 28 October 2009 07:36
WHDLOAD without an Amiga? Doranwen New to Emulation or Amiga scene 20 17 June 2005 21:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24478 seconds with 11 queries