English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 October 2002, 20:29   #1
Frazor
Registered User
Frazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: near Denise & Paula
Posts: 52
Portable Amiga

A port of UAE for the Sharp Zaurus is available here.
I can't try it because I haven't a Zaurus.
Frazor is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 October 2002, 16:50   #2
Frootloop
Junior Member
Frootloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada, Eh
Posts: 167
Happy PDA

Looks cool, but I wonder how fast it will be?

And someone really needs to release a PDA with a good controller for gamers. A simple directional pad and a couple of buttons like on the Gameboy Advance (or original Gameboy) would suffice.
Frootloop is offline  
Old 25 October 2002, 17:37   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
How about the GP32, Froot?
Akira is offline  
Old 27 October 2002, 00:57   #4
Frazor
Registered User
Frazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: near Denise & Paula
Posts: 52
Something like this, it's a Sony SJ30 with a pad adaptator
Frazor is offline  
Old 27 October 2002, 19:12   #5
Frootloop
Junior Member
Frootloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada, Eh
Posts: 167
Cool

Frazor,

That's exactly what I was looking for. Too bad it's for Sony's Palm OS devices though. I'd rather see something for the more powerful PocketPC devices which have emulators for other systems. I'd love to play C64 games with a joypad hooked up to a PDA.

The GP32 is cool, but a PDA offers so much more software wise. They just need good game controllers. (And the price needs to come down. I hear Dell is releasing a decently priced 300 and 400Mhz PocketPC device later this year.)
Frootloop is offline  
Old 27 October 2002, 20:16   #6
Frootloop
Junior Member
Frootloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada, Eh
Posts: 167
Big grin Zeta Joypad

I just did some searching around and found the Zeta Joypad for the Compaq iPAQ (PocketPC) PDAs. The only problem would be the difficulty in placing the PDA down in a location where you can get a good view of the screen, and it wouldn't be convenient if you're constantly on the go. Imagine trying to play on the bus.
Frootloop is offline  
Old 27 October 2002, 20:17   #7
Frootloop
Junior Member
Frootloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada, Eh
Posts: 167
Eek Image

Oops. The image didn't appear. Trying again...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	zeta1.jpg
Views:	544
Size:	16.2 KB
ID:	3890  
Frootloop is offline  
Old 12 November 2003, 23:03   #8
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
Hot holy christ, I have a handheld Amiga.

I'm using MaxMiga on my Zaurus. I can't configure it properly because I have no docs (somebody please post the Unix UAE readme if you have it!)

So far, I've got Last Ninja 2, Super Hang On and Exile running. I'll post a photo when I get home, it's pretty amazing, but it's a bit slow and the frame skip option that I'm trying doesn't seem to work. That's why I need to know the unix UAE options. There's also the fact that I can't change the input configuration which hinders things a bit.

Very surprised that it works so well though. Bizarre.

Everyone should buy one of these! I've got it emulating a GB/GBC (full speed), a NES (full speed), a SNES (full speed), Megadrive (too slow), MAME (a bit slow, but shouldn't be), GBA (can't find any rom files, but should be pretty good if the SNES emu is anything to go by).

Next to try are the ST, C64, and maybe Mac emulators.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 13 November 2003, 03:21   #9
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
Here's Exile running on UAE on my Zaurus.

I've got a little video of it as well, viewable here.

Oh yes.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dsc00822.jpg
Views:	672
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	6161  
FromWithin is offline  
Old 13 November 2003, 10:11   #10
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Wow..this is sick.....
Now if you could run a CD32 game.....
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 13 November 2003, 12:36   #11
Dalai
Junior Member
Dalai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 148
V cool.

The good thing is, as time passes these things get cheaper/more powerful, so eventually everyone can play portable amiga games.
Dalai is offline  
Old 13 November 2003, 14:15   #12
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
Zaurus looks cool FromWithin...not sure about those controllers though.
Antiriad is offline  
Old 13 November 2003, 15:06   #13
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
The problem with photos of the Zaurus is that the keys always look indented. This is not the case. The keyboard plate has a plastic transparent layer on the top. The keys are actually quite hard and raised above the plate, and click really nicely when you press them. But the way the plastic reflects/refracts the light always make them look like they stick in when in fact they stick out. It's actually a really nice keyboard to use.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 13 November 2003, 15:59   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
That's looking purdy FromWithin.

Makes me want to get that Clié once and for all.
Akira is offline  
Old 13 November 2003, 18:44   #15
Peanutuk
Registered User
Peanutuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The North, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,067
Hmmmmm

Can we have some more pics of people playing Amiga games?
I wanna build a collection

@FromWithin - Do you have huge hands or is that a really tiny widescreen TV?
Peanutuk is offline  
Old 15 November 2003, 00:51   #16
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Where do I get one of these Zaurus things?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 15 November 2003, 03:03   #17
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
Quote:
Originally posted by ElectroBlaster
Where do I get one of these Zaurus things?
See my post in this thread.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 20 November 2003, 15:58   #18
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
Oh yes.

I just found a Japanese port of UAE for the Zaurus. It runs a bit better than the other one, and I thought of a trick to get it running much faster. I've got Turrican II running on it (pictures when I get home). It would be fully playable except for the fact that the frame skip option doesn't seem to work. If I can get it skip a couple a frames, I can probably get 100% Amiga speed.

At some point I'll have to have a go at compiling it myself because there are thing that need doing...examples are that the touch screen works like a single-button mouse and that joystick can't be mapped to the keyboard properly.

Last edited by FromWithin; 20 November 2003 at 17:59.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 07 June 2004, 17:50   #19
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Dells new Axim X30i has a 624Mhz CPU so would be ideal BUT the screen is 320*240 and not 320*256 or 320*320 so will be pain.. the new Asus PDA is gonna have a 640*480 screen but all we need is a aPocketPC with 320*320 - SOB!!
Methanoid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Portable Amiga Vars191 Amiga scene 20 19 June 2014 07:38
Possible to turn a netbook into a tiny portable emulated Amiga? AB Positive New to Emulation or Amiga scene 46 28 October 2011 17:50
What is the best for portable amiga emulation? mrbob2 Amiga scene 16 29 May 2011 22:25
Portable Amiga anyone?? picman Amiga scene 31 15 October 2010 17:17
Will Pandora be the one to give birth to a proper portable Amiga emulator? MethodGit Amiga scene 62 07 June 2010 18:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28957 seconds with 12 queries