English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 June 2013, 13:49   #121
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
The second link was old & buggy, I deleted it.
About the new one, I send one email into Oulook and go no problem to open the link with Chrome.
The content of the mail is the following
Code:
Dear RCK,

pika has just replied to a thread you have subscribed to entitled - Zeus68k  Accelerator/IDE/RAM for the A500/2000/CDTV and others - in the News forum of English Amiga Board.

This thread is located at:
http://eab.abime.net/news/65047-zeus68k-%96-accelerator-ide-ram-a500-2000-cdtv-others-new-post.html

Here is the message that has just been posted:
***************
(rck) test3
***************
RCK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 June 2013, 13:50   #122
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
Maybe it's the %96 in the link who is making problem with (you mail client) + (firefox) ?
RCK is offline  
Old 17 June 2013, 13:55   #123
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCK View Post
Maybe it's the %96 in the link who is making problem with (you mail client) + (firefox) ?
Both links work fine for me in FireFox. Doubt it will be firefox.
I dont have any issues with Thunderbird either.
FOL is offline  
Old 17 June 2013, 13:56   #124
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,979
Ah! I use gmail, but I have added this account to Mozilla Thunderbird and the link doesn't work, whereas if I load gmail in my Chrome browser the link works, so maybe you're right RCK, it may be that %96 that is causing the problems.

EDIT: Wonder if there's a particular setting in thunderbird that needs changing?

@ Mr B, what email client are you using?
DH is offline  
Old 17 June 2013, 14:01   #125
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
I renamed the thread with _ instead of %96
Tell me if it's Okay with gmail
RCK is offline  
Old 17 June 2013, 14:14   #126
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
Okay, I change one settings to replace non-English characters with their English equivalent, no more problem should occurs
RCK is offline  
Old 17 June 2013, 14:29   #127
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,979
Thanks RCK, works fine now in both gmail in chrome and thunderbird

EDIT: Mr B is going to be one very happy bunny now
DH is offline  
Old 17 June 2013, 21:43   #128
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Indeed. ThunderBird + FireFox, using a hotmail account. Now it works. For a while i thought i was going crazy, so just getting it confirmed, it wasn't just me, was a weight of my chest.
(I'm already retired for mental issues, but going that nuts, i would have to go back to the doctor... We don't want that. ;- )


Oh, and... Thanks for taking the time, and making the effort guys.

Last edited by Mr B; 17 June 2013 at 21:50.
Mr B is offline  
Old 18 June 2013, 04:19   #129
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 754
There is a php error on this page on hol.

http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?..._publisher=474
rare_j is offline  
Old 18 June 2013, 22:57   #130
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilalurl View Post
Anyone know how to change the behaviour of the Miscellaneous option "Automatically retrieve titles from external links" which is ticked by default:



I am quite bothered by this default behaviour, especially when some pages have rather complex/meaningless titles.

As I'd like not to have to untick the option each time, I looked in the CP how to change the default behaviour but found nothing.
I also did a search in the FAQ/help on "retrieve" but found no result.

Quick test:
http://eab.abime.net/894861-post130.html


So I'd like either to have somewhere a user option to have it behave "as before" by default (an URL is displayed as an URL and not the linked page title) or have the board behave as it did before the upgrade (users could still use the retrieve title function but would have to tick it).
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCK View Post
Option removed, sorry I was not aware of this behaviour.
Unfortunately, the default behaviour still seems to be "Automatically retrieve titles from external links" despite the option having been removed.

Quick test:
http://eab.abime.net/894861-post130.html

(What I actually typed was "http://eab.abime.net/894861-post130.html" )
prowler is offline  
Old 19 June 2013, 00:05   #131
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 2,832
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Strange because for instance:
http://hol.abime.net/715
http://www.mobygames.com/game/hired-guns

seem to work as intended

Let's see:
http://eab.abime.net/894861-post130.html


Same result as you. Perhaps it affects only links to the EAB forums.
lilalurl is offline  
Old 19 June 2013, 00:19   #132
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,979
It may be down to the 'Url are now content relevant' settings of vB3.8. Could auto retrieve the titles perhaps?
DH is offline  
Old 19 June 2013, 02:55   #133
haps
Rumpig

haps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The bottom of the bottle
Age: 1
Posts: 142
I am a getting no image shown when HOL gets locked.
haps is offline  
Old 19 June 2013, 04:12   #134
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Sometimes posting something it seems I'm doing twice, as it tells I must wait to post again...
Retrofan is offline  
Old 19 June 2013, 04:26   #135
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,979
That could be down to your browser and/or connection speed rather than a bug with vBulletin.

I had the same problem when I was on a much lower speed to what I'm on now some years back.
DH is offline  
Old 19 June 2013, 15:48   #136
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilalurl View Post
Let's see:
http://eab.abime.net/894861-post130.html


Same result as you. Perhaps it affects only links to the EAB forums.
Yes, I can choose the kind of linking for EAB's inner links.

1 - Do not convert : http://eab.abime.net/894861-post130.html
2 - Replace : EAB Final Update
3 - Cursor popup: http://eab.abime.net/894861-post130.html (on mouse over: EAB Final Update)
4 - mix : http://eab.abime.net/894861-post130.html (EAB Final Update)

I change the option from (2) to (4), but not sure, full replace was also a good choice in my opinion, less obscur than 894861-post130
RCK is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 17:10   #137
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Does anybody else have problems marking forums read ?

Quote:
vBulletin Message

Invalid Forum specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator
Retroplay is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 17:12   #138
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,979
Not until now Retroplay

But obviously I have read all the content so there was nothing that was unread, so maybe it's error is because of that.
DH is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 17:13   #139
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
When i click on 'mark forums read' i get: Invalid Forum specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator
i'm not sure it's update related, it worked yesterday.

greetz
tero

edit: in a choir
tero is offline  
Old 20 June 2013, 17:13   #140
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,979
Just tried again when there was an unread post, and yes, I get exactly the same error.
DH is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EAB File Server structure update TCD project.EAB File Server 38 18 November 2010 07:49
EAB Multi Platform League - Special Round 2 - Final Fight 2 & 3 (SNES) TCD EAB's competition 82 06 December 2009 12:32
EAB Games League Season 1 Round 10 FINAL Vote Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 2 20 November 2007 18:59
AmigaOS 4.0 The Final Update available P-J News 43 22 January 2007 10:40
Napalm - Final Update (1.5?) Calo Nord support.Games 4 23 April 2005 15:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.40266 seconds with 12 queries