English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 May 2013, 23:24   #1
robinhood2013
Rookie Amigan
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Waco, TX, USA
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to robinhood2013 Send a message via MSN to robinhood2013 Send a message via Yahoo to robinhood2013 Send a message via Skype™ to robinhood2013
Question Say speech synthesizer question

I'm playing with the "Say" speech synthesizer as part of my Workbench 1.3 installation on my emulated Amiga 500, and I'm a little stumped. When I input a word in the "Input window" for my Amiga to say, and then follow it with a question mark, intending for it to say the word as a question (e.g. "Name?"), sometimes it will regurgitate the word not as a question, but as a statement ("Name.") with a period. Is there any way to "force" Say to interpret my input as a question?
robinhood2013 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 May 2013, 05:41   #2
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,101
No. It's too primitive to know you want it to ask it like it's asking a question.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 21 May 2013, 17:51   #3
Dan
Registered User
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 346
im not sure if i have understand your question right,
so basicaly when you enter

Code:
What is your name ?
you want that it outputs the text as (i mean text only):
Code:
What is your name?
and not as

Code:
What is your name.

in that case could write an amiga basic or amos pro basic program which will do that.
Dan is offline  
Old 22 May 2013, 15:55   #4
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
on aminet there are some related tools and also patches for the translator.library.
they add the possiblity to use accent packages for different languages. not tested, just sharing information

TranslatorPrefs V2.2
Multilingual translator lib replacement 42.4
Patches Translator42.4, 43.0 to Translator43.1
Huge USA English Accent File
other accent packages

edit: i tested myself. winuae a1200 040 wb3.1 setup.
i copied the narrator.device from workbench 2.04 to my devs: folder.
installed Translator42.4 - this comes with some accent files.
applied the patch to Translator43.1 library.
copied the TranslatorPrefs V2.2 to prefs folder.
within the prefs program you can enter some text and translate it.
here i could hear a difference, when using "?" and "." at end of sentence.

Last edited by emufan; 22 May 2013 at 18:16.
emufan is offline  
Old 23 May 2013, 05:23   #5
robinhood2013
Rookie Amigan
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Waco, TX, USA
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to robinhood2013 Send a message via MSN to robinhood2013 Send a message via Yahoo to robinhood2013 Send a message via Skype™ to robinhood2013
Okay, that seems to work so far, as far as Workbench 3.1 is concerned. But now I have another question: How, if possible, would I accomplish the same thing with a game that uses speech synthesis (e.g. Earl Weaver Baseball)?
robinhood2013 is offline  
Old 23 May 2013, 23:16   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
on aminet there are some related tools and also patches for the translator.library.
they add the possiblity to use accent packages for different languages. not tested, just sharing information

TranslatorPrefs V2.2
Multilingual translator lib replacement 42.4
Patches Translator42.4, 43.0 to Translator43.1
Huge USA English Accent File
other accent packages

edit: i tested myself. winuae a1200 040 wb3.1 setup.
i copied the narrator.device from workbench 2.04 to my devs: folder.
installed Translator42.4 - this comes with some accent files.
applied the patch to Translator43.1 library.
copied the TranslatorPrefs V2.2 to prefs folder.
within the prefs program you can enter some text and translate it.
here i could hear a difference, when using "?" and "." at end of sentence.
That's an unexpected result - astonishing even!

Congratulations on that discovery, Emufan!

Well worth the effort even if it works only in a WB3.1 environment!
prowler is offline  
Old 24 May 2013, 00:04   #7
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinhood2013 View Post
Okay, that seems to work so far, as far as Workbench 3.1 is concerned. But now I have another question: How, if possible, would I accomplish the same thing with a game that uses speech synthesis (e.g. Earl Weaver Baseball)?
you are a lucky one with this game. the disk is in normal DOS format (Earl Weaver Baseball (1987)(Electronic Arts)[cr BS1].zip).
just exchange the libs/translator.library with Translator.library v43.1
if this works you can also add the english accent file to disk-image:
folder/file to disk-image: df0:locale/accents/english.accent
maybe this works. not tested
whdload.de lists: "Earl Weaver Baseball (Electronic Arts), 80% complete" - not yet completed.
maybe the "trick" does also work with this slave, once it is finished and available.

Edit: i changed translator.library only on "Earl Weaver Baseball (1987)(Electronic Arts)[cr BS1]" still works, winuae a500 kick 1.3
with narrator.device from workbench 2.04 it crashed. using kick 3.1 on that a500 emulation, game loads, but missing mousepointer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
That's an unexpected result - astonishing even!
yep, the results are really good, thanks goes to the authors of the packages

Last edited by emufan; 24 May 2013 at 16:07.
emufan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speech Synthesis (SAY) Dunny Coders. General 4 01 September 2011 21:22
DELUXE GALAGA with female speech plasmatron request.Old Rare Games 6 24 July 2010 12:57
cd32 battle chess...speech? G.Longsword support.WinUAE 9 12 June 2006 21:52
Need name for game, had amazing speech intro NobleAtreides Looking for a game name ? 3 09 November 2004 13:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18201 seconds with 11 queries