English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 October 2002, 01:07   #1
SeeD32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: london
Age: 41
Posts: 44
long file names in PC to Amiga

I've just started using Twin Express to transfer files from my pc to Amiga, but find longer file names are changed to short in MSDOS mode and then sent that way.

An exmple is that I'm trying to get VooDoo-X to my amiga, and have downloaded Voodoo plus all the additional needed MUI files etc, but find they are renamed to MCC_NL~1 instead of MCC_NListtree.lha or MCC_NList0_89.lha

Is there a way around this? I've used CrossDos and disks in the past and thought Twin Express would avoid these re-namings.

My Amiga is a CD32 with SX-1 6meg and wb3.1

Thanks in advance!
SeeD32 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 October 2002, 01:37   #2
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
You want FAT95, available free from Aminet. Winblows-compatible filesystem, with support for filenames up to 104 characters. I think it was in the Zone not too long ago.
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 17 October 2002, 04:14   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
You should be compressing the needed files with LHA, ZIP or whatever, to avoid this kind of problems.
Akira is offline  
Old 17 October 2002, 13:41   #4
SeeD32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: london
Age: 41
Posts: 44
Ok Thanks guys,

Will try FAT95 and will keep to lha. The reason I didn't try using lha was because I was planning to use Voodoo-x to do that job.

Anyway cheerz!
SeeD32 is offline  
Old 18 October 2002, 16:41   #5
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 37
Posts: 657
This could be a figment of my drunken imagination...but I seem to remember that when you initiate the copy from the PC, the filenames get truncated, but when you do it from the Amiga they don't (or the other way around)? Or maybe I am just thinking that you don't have to type 8.3 names at the command line. Damn my head is spinning.
TikTok is offline  
Old 18 October 2002, 20:53   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
No, it has no long filenames, no matter what. Only way to use long filenames is by connecting to a PC running Linux, using the x version of twin, or by running Amiga Twin under WinUAE.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 October 2002, 23:19   #7
SeeD32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: london
Age: 41
Posts: 44
hurray for lha

Well I eventually found the duo of LHA and Twin Express. Just that I was new to this kind of thing.

Incase anyone else should read this post and be a little new or confused, not all zip/crunch programs out there on the pc handle lha to crunch, only to uncrunch.

I found WinAce to be one of the few that will archive any files in lha/lzh and then simply port the zipped file over to my amiga using Twin Express, then LHA to unzip onto my amiga hd with the long file names intact, even though Twin Express in pc dos can shorten the zip filename if it's too long eg thisisal~1.lzh the files inside the zip remain fine and with long names intact when unzipped on the amiga.

Thanks guys, have a couple more problems, but they need different threads. If there were such a thing as a virtual round of beers It would be my round. Been a while since I used any Amiga system.
SeeD32 is offline  
Old 19 October 2002, 14:22   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
Download Amiga unZip and forget about LHAing in the PC, because it really sucks! (not LHA, but most/all LHA archivers on the PC suck)
Akira is offline  
Old 19 October 2002, 14:49   #9
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
Download Amiga unZip and forget about LHAing in the PC, because it really sucks! (not LHA, but most/all LHA archivers on the PC suck)
Amiga unZip is the slowest unpacker I've ever seen and for PC you can use the Lha32 + Windows Commander combo.
 
Old 19 October 2002, 22:24   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
You think it's so slow? I didn't notice any serious speed issues! Of course, it's slower than my PC, but hey, at some point, the PC has to show that 866 Mhz are faster than 50!
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Themed Room names? amigapd request.Other 5 14 March 2013 12:03
VERY long names in whd update packs... keropi project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 54 03 April 2007 01:18
LHA32 long names kipper2k New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 08 September 2006 00:12
Towers (Warning, long shot and long post) Drake1009 Looking for a game name ? 2 13 May 2005 00:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14282 seconds with 11 queries