English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 April 2013, 23:51   #21
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,223
I could not see the menu but the Amiga video side of things was ok. Try pressing F12 and see if menu comes up!
lesta_smsc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 April 2013, 14:39   #22
mips
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Durban / South Africa
Posts: 24
I've reinstalled the OS on my laptop and will try fs-uae a bit later again.

I also installed it on my quad core desktop and it seems to be running fine there.
mips is offline  
Old 21 April 2013, 16:41   #23
mips
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Durban / South Africa
Posts: 24
Ok I installed fs-uae & launcher on my laptop again. I get no video screen as mentioned earlier, I do however hear the floppy sounds and then I can hear the actual game music, cpu is at about 35% load.

I've attached all my log files as requested earlier.
Attached Files
File Type: uae DebugConfig.uae (9.8 KB, 39 views)
File Type: txt FS-UAE.log.txt (29.1 KB, 57 views)
File Type: txt Launcher.log.txt (68.0 KB, 53 views)
mips is offline  
Old 22 April 2013, 15:53   #24
alexraffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Como/Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 12
Hi, I use WinUae through wine on fedora 17 on an old athlon 64xp 2400 and all is ok, only direct disk access (I mean access to real disks) from winuae does not work.

give it a try!
alexraffa is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 16:27   #25
mips
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Durban / South Africa
Posts: 24
I would prefer to see if I can get this working first before trying other avenues.
mips is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 22:20   #26
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 3,385
Hi, you didn't really 100% confirm whether a there were *some* kind of window after "the little popup window saying starting fs-uae", but as I understand you, no window appears at all.

Does something appear when you start just "fs-uae" from a terminal?

There is definitively something weird going on, and I cannot really say I suspect an FS-UAE bug here, but who knows.

In your log file, there's:
Code:
opengl max texture size (estimate): 0x0
While there should be something along the lines of (but with different info):
Code:
opengl vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
opengl renderer: GeForce GTX 570/PCIe/SSE2
opengl version: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 310.14
opengl shading language version: 4.30 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
opengl extensions: (...)
opengl max texture size (estimate): 16384x16384
So it seems that FS-UAE isn't "talking" to OpenGL properly. It is possible OpenGL initialization fails for some reason, and that this failure simply isn't logged by FS-UAE...

Do other SDL + OpenGL programs work on your system?

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 24 April 2013 at 11:59.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 23 April 2013, 22:39   #27
mips
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Durban / South Africa
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Hi, you didn't really 100% confirm whether a there were *some* kind of window after "the little popup window saying starting fs-uae", but as I understand you, no window appears at all.
No, no window after the popup like there should be.


Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Does something appear when you start just "fs-uae" from a terminal?
Nothing appears except for some text in the terminal,
Code:
[reon@asterix ~]$ fs-uae

FS-UAE VERSION 2.3.0
Copyright 1995-2002 Bernd Schmidt, 1999-2012 Toni Wilen,
2003-2007 Richard Drummond, 2006-2011 Mustafa 'GnoStiC' Tufan,
2011-2013 Frode Solheim, and contributors.

This is free software; see the file COPYING for copying conditions. There
is NO warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR
PURPOSE. See the README for more copyright info, and the source code for
a full list of contributors

logging to /home/reon/.local/share/fs-uae/fs-uae.log
libamiga (based on emulation core from WinUAE 2.5.1) initialized
logging to /home/reon/Documents/FS-UAE/Logs/FS-UAE.log.txt
cache_alloc size = 4096
TODO: free memory with munmap
cache_alloc size = 4096
TODO: free memory with munmap
cache_alloc size = 4096
TODO: free memory with munmap
cache_alloc size = 4096
TODO: free memory with munmap
cache_alloc size = 256
cache_alloc size = 1024
auto:  74  36 640 480
    =  74  36 640 480
^CUAE emulation core is quitting
[reon@asterix ~]$

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
There is definitively something weird going on, and I cannot really say I suspect an FS-UAE bug here, but who knows.

In your log file, there's:
Code:
opengl max texture size (estimate): 0x0
While there should be something along the lines of (but with different info):
Code:
opengl vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
opengl renderer: GeForce GTX 570/PCIe/SSE2
opengl version: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 310.14
opengl shading language version: 4.30 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
opengl extensions: (...)
opengl max texture size (estimate): 16384x16384
So it seems that FS-UAE isn't "talking" to OpenGL properly. It is possibly OpenGL initialization fails for some reason, and that this failure simply isn't logged by FS-UAE...

Do other SDL + OpenGL programs work on your system?
I'll have a look and get back to you thanks.
mips is offline  
Old 24 April 2013, 01:33   #28
mips
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Durban / South Africa
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
So it seems that FS-UAE isn't "talking" to OpenGL properly. It is possibly OpenGL initialization fails for some reason, and that this failure simply isn't logged by FS-UAE...

Do other SDL + OpenGL programs work on your system?
Oh the embarrassment....!

Ok so I tried to run glxgears, no go. So I compare all the driver and mesa related packages on my desktop to my laptop and they match so I installed them again but still no go

Just for curiosity's sake I check which gfx driver is actually enabled and none are, running on framebuffer! Now I enabled 'a' gfx driver via automated script but never verified it when it said successful. So this time I manually enabled the intel driver, rebooted and hey presto glxgears does it's thing. Lauch fs-uae and whadda ya know works like a charm.

So in all honesty there never was a problem but boy do I feel stupid and relieved at the same time

It's 01:30 in the morning and I'm playing Wings, set to accurate it does not tax my cpu above 83%.

Thanks for all the help, I'll play around with fs-uae and try set it up to see how far I can push things on this laptop. Suppose I got some reading to do.
mips is offline  
Old 24 April 2013, 01:44   #29
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by mips View Post
Oh the embarrassment....!

It's 01:30 in the morning and I'm playing Wings, set to accurate it does not tax my cpu above 83%.
Good to know you got it working and proved me wrong on my assumptions.
AmigaFriend is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE 2.2 - Amiga emulator for Windows, Linux, Mac OS X and *BSD FrodeSolheim News 3 18 March 2013 13:38
Porting to Tiny Core Linux and Puppy Linux lorenzos support.FS-UAE 1 05 January 2013 16:13
How do I obtain an emulator for my linux mint catwatch3 support.OtherUAE 2 10 December 2011 21:21
THE Emulator (BBC emulator) xc8 Retrogaming General Discussion 2 27 April 2010 03:49
Frederic's Emulator inside and Emulator thread Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 22 09 March 2006 07:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14609 seconds with 12 queries