English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 April 2013, 16:02   #1
Pioneer500
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Got an A500 , need help ..

Came into an Amiga 500 , have not used one for 20+ years.

It seems to be working fine except the WB 1.3 disc has many read errors.
A couple game discs boot fine so I think its just the actual disc not the drive.

Problem is many important files are unreadable, including the startup-seq.
Can not even load WB, dont even get a RAM: disc, but I can get to the CLI and read some files.

I hoped it may be possible to use a NULL serial cable and somehow transfer/ create a new WB 1.3 disc from an image on a PC ?

What's the minimum WB files I need start a serial connection and do that?
I'm hoping those files will work...

Any help or suggestions would be great...

(Also: Anyone in Calgary Canada can help get an working 1.3 disc?)

Last edited by Pioneer500; 07 April 2013 at 18:54.
Pioneer500 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 April 2013, 18:04   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Have a read of this thread

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ransfering+adf
Arnie is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 18:52   #3
Pioneer500
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Thanks for that, looks nice.

Problem is waiting for a online order to arrive overseas, I'd like to try and get this Amiga's WB going sooner

If go the DIY route, and build that cable, I'll still need a way to get the Paradise program on an Amiga disc.

If I just get a PC serial to Amiga serial null cable, anyway to send a workbench disc just using SER: and programs on the WB disc, that I'm hoping will read?

Last edited by Pioneer500; 07 April 2013 at 19:02.
Pioneer500 is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 22:17   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Some/most coverdisks can boot into WB.
Arnie is offline  
Old 08 April 2013, 16:00   #5
Pioneer500
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Some/most coverdisks can boot into WB.
Thanks.

Found a local Amiga user who set me up with some working 1.3 discs.
Pioneer500 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200, A600, A500+ and A500 maddoc666 MarketPlace 1 22 May 2011 10:11
For Sale: 2mb RAM Expansion for A500/A500+ PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 1 22 November 2010 02:10
Woul A500 plus ram expansion work on A500? JACK98 support.Hardware 1 04 May 2010 02:15
How to dismantle an old A500 and rebuild a NOS A500 Specksynder Hardware pics 8 17 February 2010 01:06
Upgrading an A500 to an A500+ tech questions Merlin support.Hardware 28 02 May 2007 01:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18615 seconds with 11 queries