English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 June 2013, 22:33   #21
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
@Roy bates, which Sim City version are you using (1.2 or deluxe or?) And I will look at it now for you.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 June 2013, 23:11   #22
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Can someone try saving this with whdload 16, because I wouldn't have released this without the save working, and from my install notes it was done with whd16, and I'm wondering if there's a fundamental change in whd17 for this to not be saving. All amigados file load and saves are handled by kickemu, it should be working.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 17 June 2013, 23:44   #23
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
ive tried it with the 512k version erm version 1.0 and version 1.2 i think.

ive tried it on whdload version 16.8 and 17 i havent got version 16 to try.

btw,thanks for looking at it.
roy bates is offline  
Old 17 June 2013, 23:45   #24
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
I will have to find an earlier version of whdload to find out where save functionality failed, there's no reason this shouldn't be working.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 July 2013, 16:18   #25
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
any news?

its been a while.
roy bates is offline  
Old 19 January 2014, 02:52   #26
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
Also hoping for a fixed version

I tried 512kb and 1.2, A1200/ACA1231, none works
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 19 January 2014, 03:49   #27
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by TroelsDK View Post
Also hoping for a fixed version

I tried 512kb and 1.2, A1200/ACA1231, none works
Its got nothing to do with Kickstart version, there must have been a fundamental change in WHDLoad using KickDOS, as when I released this game, it was done 100% on a real Amiga, and it saved games.

I will have to go back to WHDLoad 10 or whatever was active when I wrote this to find out what changed.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 10 April 2014, 14:23   #28
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 976
well bugger.. wish I had known saving on floppy slaves didn't work before spending the past 4 hours creating a megapolis
ED-209 is offline  
Old 10 April 2014, 14:32   #29
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
well bugger.. wish I had known saving on floppy slaves didn't work before spending the past 4 hours creating a megapolis
I guess you can never turn off your Amiga now!

My wife found that out too after playing for half a day

She plays on my A500+ from floppy now.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 April 2014, 15:18   #30
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 976
yep.. figured I wasn't the first to experience such loss

I was playing under winuae but situation is the same, I couldn't even use save state because I'm using hdf's
ED-209 is offline  
Old 10 April 2014, 15:37   #31
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
I use a backup of my CF card for playing in Winuae and don't have any problem using savestates... Would be super nice with a fix for this release though
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 10 April 2014, 15:38   #32
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
if you have the original floppy you can install it to harddrive and it will save from there.

still waiting for the whdload fix for this though.

Last edited by roy bates; 10 April 2014 at 15:43.
roy bates is offline  
Old 10 April 2014, 16:38   #33
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
if you have the original floppy you can install it to harddrive and it will save from there.

still waiting for the whdload fix for this though.
Yeah I think that's what we did last time

Might have to fire up the A500+ later...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 April 2014, 16:49   #34
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 976
Yeh I'll be patient and wait for the updated slave. I should be over the devastation of losing my megapolis by then
ED-209 is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 21:52   #35
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
OK, while waiting for this...

Anyone who has a working version that can be installed to HD and played without using the floppy?
I have now tried several, they all have problems...

It says on HOL that only versions 1.1 on onwards can be copied from disk to HD but I can't find any version that will work without the disk inserted.

Version 1.2 will "work" however the graph-window will keep opening and thus stopping time...
Tried cracks from PNA and Razor.

I'm really only interested in V1.1 or V1.2

What are you guys using?
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 22:09   #36
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
i'll try to find the one i was using and dump it in the zone.

it will probably be tomorrow evening or something though,i have to find it...
roy bates is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 22:10   #37
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
i'll try to find the one i was using and dump it in the zone.

it will probably be tomorrow evening or something though,i have to find it...
Great
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 22:11   #38
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
no probs.


EDIT: just remembered i dont need to search for the game,the one in the data drawer in the whdload install works fine on its own.

just click show all,click on the data drawer,click on the sim city icon and saves work.

Last edited by roy bates; 25 August 2014 at 23:40.
roy bates is offline  
Old 26 August 2014, 14:39   #39
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
Someone provided me with this release:
SimCity v1.2.2 (1991-02-07)(Infogrames)(Disk 1 of 3)(SimCity II)[h][SimCity II]

I have copied all the 3 disks content on to HD, and everything seems to work fine. Some files on disk 2/3 where named the same as on disk 1 and I chose not to overwrite. It gave me some error message when I first fired up the game, but none since. I have played for a few hours, saved, reset, loaded and played again. Everything seems ok

Still interested to test out yours though Roy Bates
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 26 August 2014, 23:18   #40
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
that might be a bit difficult the ones i have has some lame copy protection.

just use the version in the preinstalled whdload version it works fine without the slave.

cant really see this getting fixed any time soon anyway.
roy bates is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sim City CDTV mai HOL data problems 2 26 September 2012 20:33
Sim City - CDTV Galahad/FLT request.Old Rare Games 8 18 December 2009 20:24
Sim City 2000 haynor666 HOL contributions 4 18 August 2008 17:41
Sim City 2000 Mr Kipling support.Games 9 03 June 2005 18:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20021 seconds with 11 queries