English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 April 2013, 14:38   #121
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat666 View Post
Testing the two new versions on WinUAE 020, More Compatible, Fastest Possible, 68881, AGA, A1200, Compatible Settings, 3.1 ROM, 2Mb Chip, 16Mb Z3 Fast, Game loaded from HD, nothing touched on keyboard - demo running :

V1: Locks up as before after less than a minute of demo play
Are you sure it was V1 and not a previous version ?
Others have not found a lockup for it...


Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
With the 4th release some samples aren`t played. Some just sounds like a small crack. So far the 3rd release works better on my A1200 040/40 system.
Yech ! So 30 scanlines aren't enough for a dma wait ???

Have you tried the two tests i have put in the zone a few days ago ?
meynaf is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 April 2013, 14:49   #122
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Have you tried the two tests i have put in the zone a few days ago ?
No, I used http://meynaf.free.fr/pr/ik.lzx (readme says 4th release). I hadn`t problems with the 3rd version but I always deactivated music because it is crap.
daxb is offline  
Old 30 April 2013, 16:20   #123
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Are you sure it was V1 and not a previous version ?
Others have not found a lockup for it...
I might of done smthng wrong when copying... works ok now. sorry.
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 02 May 2013, 08:03   #124
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat666 View Post
I might of done smthng wrong when copying... works ok now. sorry.
Well, i still thank you for having been quick at testing and answering.

Now, if nobody gets a freeze with that test v1, it will soon be time for me to do release 5 with it
meynaf is offline  
Old 02 May 2013, 21:43   #125
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,080
I've been running the v1 exe and it has not crashed for me once!

So is the v1 the best exe to use currently?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 06 May 2013, 08:05   #126
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
I've been running the v1 exe and it has not crashed for me once!

So is the v1 the best exe to use currently?
Seems so.

I have put that version back to the main archive (5th release now).
meynaf is offline  
Old 08 May 2013, 04:25   #127
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,080
Awesome work!

I do have a question. How hard would it be to make this game 32 colors? Naturally the game graphics would have to be redrawn in 32 colors...
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 09 May 2013, 07:24   #128
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Awesome work!

I do have a question. How hard would it be to make this game 32 colors? Naturally the game graphics would have to be redrawn in 32 colors...
It would be quite hard, because all graphics routines would need to be 100% rewritten and ST graphics code is usually quite ugly and ununderstandable.
meynaf is offline  
Old 09 May 2013, 12:46   #129
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
what are you guys uncompressing with all versions of 1.21r lzx from http://xavprods.free.fr/lzx/ say the files are corrupt
Vot is offline  
Old 09 May 2013, 22:22   #130
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
what are you guys uncompressing with all versions of 1.21r lzx from http://xavprods.free.fr/lzx/ say the files are corrupt
you can try my WKC.zip archive, a few posts back. Post 118.

Last edited by TjLaZer; 12 May 2013 at 05:15.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 13 May 2013, 08:21   #131
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
what are you guys uncompressing with all versions of 1.21r lzx from http://xavprods.free.fr/lzx/ say the files are corrupt
Get lzx 1.21 (y2k patched) and public keyfile from Aminet.

I'm using 1.21 (020/030 version) to make my archives and never had any problem.
Use "x" options to keep the directories when unarchiving.
meynaf is offline  
Old 13 May 2013, 12:07   #132
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,647
I successful use LhA 2.15. You also can get LZX 1.21+ on whdload.de page. For compressing you should use one of this two, else file date is wrong (1980).

ps: No problems noticed release 5 so far.
daxb is offline  
Old 03 June 2013, 00:12   #133
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Release 5 works great under FS-UAE here and I have to admit that I don't get why IK+ is called that... Of course there are the (in)famous bonus rounds, but other than that here you have lots of different backgrounds, the sunglass wearing sensei and the bigger sprites. It's really not the same as IK+, so I'm a bit stumped why they never tried to milk some money from this one on the Amiga...

Thanks meynaf for the conversion
TCD is offline  
Old 21 July 2013, 23:31   #134
zenowik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 29
wow it had best IK graphics from all the games hey meynaf is it possible for you to somehow rip the sprites easier than me cause i have to do it frame by frame? I really would like to get all the sprites from it , basically all graphics .Do you have the sourcecode and original graphics ?
I know theres *.art files inside of that lzx , is it possible to unpack them as images or something ?
I also checked original ST file of inter karate and it has the same ART files, so knowing the sourcecode are you able to view and unpack these ART files ?

Last edited by zenowik; 22 July 2013 at 00:54.
zenowik is offline  
Old 22 July 2013, 10:34   #135
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenowik View Post
wow it had best IK graphics from all the games hey meynaf is it possible for you to somehow rip the sprites easier than me cause i have to do it frame by frame? I really would like to get all the sprites from it , basically all graphics .Do you have the sourcecode and original graphics ?
I know theres *.art files inside of that lzx , is it possible to unpack them as images or something ?
I also checked original ST file of inter karate and it has the same ART files, so knowing the sourcecode are you able to view and unpack these ART files ?
Of course I don't have the original source code.
I used graphics files "as is" from the ST version.

But I can unpack them. I had to do it to check no files were damaged. If you can grab a screen on an Amiga then i can give you the small viewer i made (if i can find it back ). Then you can easily grab them all and get iff files ; however i have nothing to convert them directly.

Alternatively, if you can write conversion code by yourself, i can tell you how these files are packed. It's not a complicated format.
meynaf is offline  
Old 22 July 2013, 21:51   #136
zenowik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 29
im not really a coder, i worked with sourcecode only once to implement feature in opensource engine, i ripped some sprites already but it would be great to get them from game files and this is what i currently have:

I hope sprites arent chopped in original game files but are completed full size sprites.
Can you possibly do similar thing with moonstone game and its *.cel files to unpack all graphics ? I ripped some stuff from it for my moonstone version but theres some stuff thats not easy to rip cause sprites overlap.
Im really shocked that they didnt use atari ST sprites to develop IK+ or new versions, they look very nice.
zenowik is offline  
Old 23 July 2013, 07:13   #137
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
Thumbs up IK sprites

Maptapper to the rescue... Enjoy!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IK.png
Views:	236
Size:	60.1 KB
ID:	36150  
Codetapper is offline  
Old 23 July 2013, 15:35   #138
zenowik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 29
wow how did you do it? i tried to rip the sprites with gfxrip but i couldnt figure out if it was ST or something else
--
i tried maptapper and it works better, i found the sprites easily
http://i.imgur.com/nSiuhw7.png
Now ill try for the moonstone and fightin spirit, thanks for that rip
-- ugh finding palette in maptapper is terrible, its easy in gfxrip but here i must swap colors around with 1-8 keys myself
hmm i guess bitplane order have to be 12345678 cause now it worked
Looks like ST mode in gfxripper is wrong and not accurate

Last edited by zenowik; 23 July 2013 at 18:00.
zenowik is offline  
Old 23 July 2013, 17:09   #139
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,373
IK+ with 4 fighters [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 23 July 2013, 22:16   #140
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenowik View Post
wow how did you do it? i tried to rip the sprites with gfxrip but i couldnt figure out if it was ST or something else
--
i tried maptapper and it works better, i found the sprites easily
http://i.imgur.com/nSiuhw7.png
Now ill try for the moonstone and fightin spirit, thanks for that rip
-- ugh finding palette in maptapper is terrible, its easy in gfxrip but here i must swap colors around with 1-8 keys myself
hmm i guess bitplane order have to be 12345678 cause now it worked
Looks like ST mode in gfxripper is wrong and not accurate
To be fair, GfxRip doesn't actually have an Atari ST mode at all, what it calls ST is in fact just Amiga interleaved data. Atari ST mode in Maptapper is the actual screen format the Atari ST uses hence why it is able to rip the graphics easily.

I agree the palette stuff needs some work (which I am working on) but I ripped those graphics from the Amiga version of IK by meynaf so the palette was perfect to begin with.
Codetapper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Port GOLDED.1 not available! tolkien Coders. General 3 11 September 2013 00:41
Joystick Port Dagger support.Hardware 10 18 April 2010 19:09
What's this? : parallel port thing Galaxy support.Hardware 19 07 September 2006 12:09
Port to Linux Enverex support.WinUAE 22 26 April 2006 15:35
AExplorer and com port Ebster support.Hardware 12 05 October 2005 09:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31401 seconds with 12 queries