English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 March 2013, 23:18   #1
andyjohnson
 
Posts: n/a
cannon fodder save game ?

hello folks , im new to all this emulation stuff , so can someone please explain , simply , how do i save cannon fodder games , im using fs uae on a mac .ive tried the save state , that dosent work.
thanks
andy
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 March 2013, 23:19   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,640
Why save state doesn't work to you?
s2325 is offline  
Old 20 March 2013, 09:33   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Cannon Fodder is "special": it uses custom save disk format, standard ADF won't work, requires extended adf. Also game's save disk formatting crashes unless emulator is configured for 1M chip ram.

State files should work fine.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 March 2013, 20:35   #4
andyjohnson
 
Posts: n/a
hi s235 , finished a level , press fn ctrl and f12 to bring up fs uae control panel go to save state and save , but dosent save it , am i doing it wrong ? could you give me a rundown on it ?
how do i get extended adf ? ( is that a disk ?) how do i change to 1 meg ram ?
as you can tell i really am i noob !
thanks
andy
 
Old 20 March 2013, 22:22   #5
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 3,388
Are you sure it does not save the state? If you re-enter the save state menu, you should see the date/time when you saved the state instead of "Empty".

But for reference, here's how to save state: Open F12 menu -> Save States -> Choose one of the slots (all will be "Empty" initially) -> Choose "Save".

To load a save state: Open F12 menu -> Save States -> Choose one of the slots where you have previously saved (the menu item has the date/time of when you save) -> Choose "Load".

Regarding save game disk:

If you start the game via FS-UAE Launcher, a save disk will automatically be added to the list of floppies you can choose from within FS-UAE (and this is an extended ADF). So when the game ask for save disk (a blank disk), you can simply open the F12 menu, choose the first floppy drive, and select "Save Disk". As Toni indicated, you need to use the in-game format function before you can save games to the save disk.

Btw, I did not manage to get the save disk formatting to crash with the default A500 model (512 KB chip, 512 KB slow) - tested an IPF version and a cracked ADF version.

If it still does not work for you, please be much more specific about what steps you perform - plus what happens - and what you expected to happen.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 09:04   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
At least one "version" of CF does crash when formatting save disk without 1M chip, I confirmed it on my real A500 long time ago.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 April 2013, 21:50   #7
andyjohnson
 
Posts: n/a
load saved game ?

hi , ok managed to save a game , but when i come back to load it nothing happens ? go to save state find the only one i have saved , select load and the game loads back to the start , not to the point where i saved it ? please help ?
andy
 
Old 12 April 2013, 02:07   #8
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,524
If FS-UAE uses Hard drive files, just use the WHDLoad version, all saves are redirected to the hard drive, no waiting around for the horrendously slow format to finish.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 14 April 2013, 18:36   #9
andyjohnson
 
Posts: n/a
what is the whd load version ? a bit new to all this !
 
Old 14 April 2013, 18:37   #10
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
What is WHDLoad: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=5267
TCD is offline  
Old 19 April 2013, 06:11   #11
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,644
Load/save in WHDLoad version works fine.

At some point I will probably document the file format and make a saved game editor. If someone else already knows the format this would save me some time...
Minuous is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannon Fodder Save Disk Philipdk support.Games 47 29 August 2008 19:03
Cannon Fodder Save Disk...Please Help :( Fingerlickin_B support.Games 4 27 May 2007 16:29
Save Disks (Cannon Fodder etc.) Racing_Snake support.Games 3 25 September 2006 00:48
Cannon Fodder Save Disk Pryfster support.Games 10 10 April 2006 19:27
cannon fodder save disk madmoose support.Games 1 13 January 2004 21:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16688 seconds with 11 queries