English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 March 2013, 08:46   #1
nineoc
Registered User
nineoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burnaby, Canada
Age: 71
Posts: 55
DIfference between WIN UAE and Amiga Forever

Have recently installed WIN UAE and Amiga Forever.

Have AF up and running, and am still learning about it.

Would anyone care to describe the main differences and purposes
between the two?
nineoc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 March 2013, 10:19   #2
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Amiga Forever uses WinUAE as its emulator. Amiga Forever is a package with a frontend (called 'player' IIRC). The purpose of Amiga Forever is to bundle the necessary kickstart images with some games to allow you to start with emulation right away, while if you use WinUAE alone you'll have to care about getting the kickstart images and games yourself.
TCD is offline  
Old 17 March 2013, 10:40   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Also AF uses the propriety format RP9 which allows you to add all the adf's and/or Hdf's, HD's in one package.

WinUAE uses configuration files to add all the files together.

As you already have AF then, as TCD said, you will have all the kickstarts and WB disks to hand to use WinUAE.

If you chose Amiga Forever from the paths panel, WinUAE will be set up to use those files by default,

Last edited by Arnie; 20 December 2013 at 22:52.
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 March 2013, 18:10   #4
nineoc
Registered User
nineoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burnaby, Canada
Age: 71
Posts: 55
Gotcha.

Thanks guys.

nineoc is offline  
Old 17 March 2013, 19:17   #5
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Also AF uses the propriety format RP9 which allows you to add all the adf's and/or Hdf's, HD's in one package.
Yes, although sometimes proprietary implies closed. Not really here.
In this case, RP9 is just a ZIP file with the disk images and a few extra files (readme, png image and xml control file usually) thrown in..

The xml looks fairly straight forward at a glance..

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 17 March 2013, 20:38   #6
nineoc
Registered User
nineoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burnaby, Canada
Age: 71
Posts: 55
Thumbs up

Gracias senor.
nineoc is offline  
Old 30 March 2013, 17:33   #7
isamu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 59
Extremely dumb question but does Amiga Forever come with the entire TOSEC collection of games?
isamu is offline  
Old 30 March 2013, 19:37   #8
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Amiga Forever doesn't include the TOSEC set for Amiga. It includes a few games in special format (around 100 IIRC). I'm sure you can find a list of them on the Cloanto homepage.
TCD is offline  
Old 31 March 2013, 19:40   #9
isamu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Amiga Forever doesn't include the TOSEC set for Amiga. It includes a few games in special format (around 100 IIRC). I'm sure you can find a list of them on the Cloanto homepage.
I see, thanks
isamu is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 02:16   #10
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Amiga Forever doesn't include the TOSEC set for Amiga. It includes a few games in special format (around 100 IIRC). I'm sure you can find a list of them on the Cloanto homepage.
It would be problematic, at best, to include the entire TOSEC set in a commercial product. You'd have to ask every single copyright holder for permission, which would not only be for the game itself, but also for any cracks and intros since they are copyrighted works as well.

Not long ago, you could buy an 'Amiga Classix' pack in various supermarkets her in DK (and probably many countries) which included a Competition Pro joystick and a CD with an emulator and some games. They had to withdraw it from the market though, as the legality was questionable. Many of the games also had crack intros on them.

The way I see it, Cloanto gets the rights or permission for everything he puts in his packages, so it won't be a huge collection, but he won't get into trouble with it.
demolition is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 02:43   #11
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,477
I've always found Amiga Forever to be a load of tosh!

It always contains a naff selection of games and sparse extra's, let me know when Amiga Forever does game packs and I'll be impressed
Neil79 is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 06:42   #12
nineoc
Registered User
nineoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burnaby, Canada
Age: 71
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil79 View Post
I've always found Amiga Forever to be a load of tosh!

It always contains a naff selection of games and sparse extra's, let me know when Amiga Forever does game packs and I'll be impressed
What other options are there for an Amiga Emulator?
nineoc is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 07:32   #13
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
FS-UAE or WinUAE. The only reason why people think that Amiga Forever is an emulator is because it comes bundled with WinUAE. You only 'need' Amiga Forever to obtain the kickstart images legally. If you already have them I'd suggest you download FS-UAE and check the launcher if you're mainly interested in playing games and search for a good frontend.
TCD is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 09:02   #14
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil79 View Post
I've always found Amiga Forever to be a load of tosh!

It always contains a naff selection of games and sparse extra's, let me know when Amiga Forever does game packs and I'll be impressed
Each to there own I suppose.

As with any program, user input is the key. If you are prepared to add your own game packs then AF is great.

The plus side, for me, is that all the disks, manuals, artwork etc, for a game, are packaged together in the .rp9, changing disks is a breeze.
Arnie is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 09:52   #15
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
As with any program, user input is the key. If you are prepared to add your own game packs then AF is great.
It's just a pity that everybody has to do it themselves. Would be better if you could contribute to something rather than just 'boiling your own soup'. Just my 2 cent about the player and the RP9 packs.
TCD is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 11:20   #16
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
It's just a pity that everybody has to do it themselves. Would be better if you could contribute to something rather than just 'boiling your own soup'. Just my 2 cent about the player and the RP9 packs.
I don't know of any emulator that provides ready to play games.

DosBox, ScummV, WinUAE, Mame etc... all require some user input to get everything up and running.

The Commodore is awesome site provides some RP9's, I myself have contributed some Assassins PD RP9's.

I think that it's really up to the community to make the effort and create some RP9's.
Arnie is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 19:12   #17
nineoc
Registered User
nineoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burnaby, Canada
Age: 71
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
FS-UAE or WinUAE. The only reason why people think that Amiga Forever is an emulator is because it comes bundled with WinUAE. You only 'need' Amiga Forever to obtain the kickstart images legally. If you already have them I'd suggest you download FS-UAE and check the launcher if you're mainly interested in playing games and search for a good frontend.
So, Win UAE is the Emulator, and not AF?

My interest is not gaming, but productivity, such as PPage, PDraw, DPaint, Pagestream, etc.

Because of this, I was under the impression that I require AF.

Yes, No ???
nineoc is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 19:14   #18
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by nineoc View Post
So, Win UAE is the Emulator, and not AF?

My interest is not gaming, but productivity, such as PPage, PDraw, DPaint, Pagestream, etc.

Because of this, I was under the impression that I require AF.

Yes, No ???
Yes, AF is using WinUAE as its emulator.
You basically just need to get WinUAE, a ROM, and the software you want to run. WinUAE is freeware, the software can be found in TOSEC, so the only thing you're missing is the ROM file.
demolition is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 19:16   #19
isamu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 59
Can someone explain in lamens terms what a RP9 is?
isamu is offline  
Old 01 April 2013, 22:27   #20
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
An RP9 is like a zip file that contains the floppy/harddrive images that AmigaForever uses to load games and software.
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
difference in blitting uae vs. hw yoki Coders. General 5 15 July 2009 15:21
Using the amiga forever files with the Linux verison of UAE joeservant support.OtherUAE 10 22 March 2004 20:52
WIN the Amiga Forever CD-ROM! WOC_Admin Amiga scene 5 19 May 2003 01:00
Help me with WIN UAE tomlewis86 support.WinUAE 2 20 April 2003 18:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21017 seconds with 11 queries