English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 October 2002, 09:00   #1
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
Question DMS and ADF booting...

why is it that so many of my dms files only boot if they're in the root dir of a drive?? It doesn't seem to matter at all with adf..
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 October 2002, 17:30   #2
LordBug
Registered User
LordBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Someplace
Posts: 88
I remember something a while back about problems with using DMS disks. Something to do with the total length of the filename (dir+filename itself). I don't know if the problem is with WinUAE or XDMS, as I only rarely use DMS images.
LordBug is offline  
Old 10 October 2002, 23:28   #3
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
I have always found booting from DMS files to be more trouble than it's worth. It only takes a few seconds to use DMS2ADF to convert the disk.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 11 October 2002, 03:43   #4
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah..I'll just have to convert them as I go. Bit of a pain though as our Scene Archives CD's have over 11,000 dms files - OMG
 
Old 11 October 2002, 07:06   #5
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Someone on here some time back had a script that runs from DOS auto-converting DMS files from a batch file. Can't rememer who it was, but if I were to use such a file, I'd redirect the output to a file so that you can check for files which don't convert (DMS2ADF is touchy about certain compression types and certain types of DMS banners and will fail on them).
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 11 October 2002, 17:17   #6
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
good point I'll keep that in mind...thanx!
 
Old 28 October 2002, 11:05   #7
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,536
I know this is a slow way of doing it, but create a blank ADF, load the DMS into WinUAE, and do a Diskcopy from DMS to ADF.

Slow but effective
whiteb is offline  
Old 28 October 2002, 15:41   #8
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
@whiteb
Ooo.. another West Aussie! How are ya mate..

Well the majority of these dms disks are nondos - but it HAS been a long time since I've seen the old X-Copy screen...

Hehe...sadly though I feel the novelty will wear off after the 100th disk or so...besides a large percentage of the dms's have worked since, so it ain't gonna be such a mission after all
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADF to DMS Megamix support.Other 20 20 September 2009 20:47
DMS>ADF how? Dastardly support.Apps 3 21 August 2003 03:28
ADF to DMS? Sune Salminen support.WinUAE 5 11 June 2002 17:47
DMS vs. ADF Akira Retrogaming General Discussion 32 16 October 2001 18:03
ADF to DMS Unregistered support.WinUAE 1 03 April 2001 16:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13188 seconds with 11 queries