English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 December 2014, 09:25   #81
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,101
Has the bugged ADF been fixed yet?
TjLaZer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 December 2014, 09:15   #82
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
It isn't nah :/.
 
Old 31 January 2015, 19:39   #83
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 719
Hi Just played Snow Bros again and it reset to the intro screen about half way through level 2. Does anyone know if this problem was corrected? (haven't been here for ages )

If not does a WHDLoad version exist and is it working correctly?

Cheers
trydowave is offline  
Old 31 January 2015, 19:58   #84
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
1. No, adf versions are still bugged, only ipf written to floppy work 100%.
2. Yes, WHDLoad version works fine. v1.3 is in my folder on FTP.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 31 January 2015, 20:09   #85
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 719
Thanks Retroplay. Ill download it on my A1200 tonight and give it a go
trydowave is offline  
Old 01 February 2015, 03:53   #86
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
1. No, adf versions are still bugged, only ipf written to floppy work 100%.
There are at least 2 working ADF versions.
demoniac is offline  
Old 01 February 2015, 10:44   #87
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
Which ones then ?
All the ones I've tried so far kicks you back to title screen randomly.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 01 February 2015, 11:03   #88
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes, a protection bug.....
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 01 February 2015, 19:08   #89
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 621
I am playing the flashtro cracked 2 disk version on my real 1mb A500 and it seems to be ok.
Superman is offline  
Old 01 February 2015, 20:25   #90
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 828
But how many levels ?

It kicked me after level 10 ?
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 01 February 2015, 20:45   #91
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 621
I played through level 10 to kill the boss monster and completed level 11 after that ok.
Superman is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 01:56   #92
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,274
Galahad release SNOWBROSFINAL100SEPT.zip and then there are 2 Flashtro trained versions. The 2nd Flashtro version (Jul 30, 2006) the trainer for infinite lives is disabled after beating the boss, so the game can continue.

I'll go ahead and upload both final versions to the Zone.
demoniac is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 03:17   #93
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by demoniac View Post
Galahad release SNOWBROSFINAL100SEPT.zip and then there are 2 Flashtro trained versions. The 2nd Flashtro version (Jul 30, 2006) the trainer for infinite lives is disabled after beating the boss, so the game can continue.

I'll go ahead and upload both final versions to the Zone.
This bugged me at the time, and its still bugging me now.

I 100% cracked it the same as CFOU did. I've just checked his code in his slave, and I did it the exact same way as he did, setting up the various memory addresses to fool the game into thinking it had already done all its checking and the correct values were where they needed to be.

I repacked the entire game using Propack so I could get it back onto one disk like the original, and i've NEVER had a problem with it fucking data up.

I'm still at a loss as to why this doesn't work properly

I've just spent an hour with it, and all checksum data is stored correctly.... it really, REALLY should just be working

EDIT: I've even just checked all the blitter fixes I did for it in game incase one of those was incorrect.... they were all good.

Is there a pattern to my version crashing? Is it always blam, after level 10 it immediately crashes? Or is it level 23 it crashes? I've just played it several times, and I haven't had it crash yet and that was level 12.

EDIT 2: Is this crashing on real hardware or through WinUAE?

Last edited by Galahad/FLT; 02 February 2015 at 03:59.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 10:52   #94
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
There's a savestate in the zone that replicates the problem. It's frozen at the end of level 15. After about 20s in level 16, the game will reset back to the title screen. It's just after one of the blue spinning baddies goes into his whirlwind spin, and about when you'd expect him to come out of it, it just resets.

If you race and kill all the baddies, it seems to make it to the next level. If you just leave the joystick, you'll see it resets every single time. Perhaps it's some check that's only triggered on a particular animation sequence or something?

Hopefully that'll help you track it down...
Codetapper is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 12:21   #95
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
There's a savestate in the zone that replicates the problem. It's frozen at the end of level 15. After about 20s in level 16, the game will reset back to the title screen. It's just after one of the blue spinning baddies goes into his whirlwind spin, and about when you'd expect him to come out of it, it just resets.

If you race and kill all the baddies, it seems to make it to the next level. If you just leave the joystick, you'll see it resets every single time. Perhaps it's some check that's only triggered on a particular animation sequence or something?

Hopefully that'll help you track it down...
Ta for that. Im just puzzled it doesnt affect the whdload version in the same way.

having checked the game again, it might not necessarily be protection, all crashes through the exception table force a game restart, so thats something to check
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 12:27   #96
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 621
Ok so I used the trainer in the flashtro crack to skip right to level 15. I completed it and played level 16 no problems at all. I finished level 16 and made it to level 17.

This is using a real 1mb A500 btw.
Superman is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 12:41   #97
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
Ok so I used the trainer in the flashtro crack to skip right to level 15. I completed it and played level 16 no problems at all. I finished level 16 and made it to level 17.

This is using a real 1mb A500 btw.
The protection isnt triggered by what level you play, it gets triggered by x amount of time played. Level skipping achieves nothing.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 13:12   #98
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
I can now see the cause of the crash (trying to write a longword of $ffffffff to address $ffffffff), but so far, the WHDLoad version has the same longwords and offsets stored, but having to playtest to find out where the change occurs.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 15:23   #99
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
There's a savestate in the zone that replicates the problem. It's frozen at the end of level 15. After about 20s in level 16, the game will reset back to the title screen. It's just after one of the blue spinning baddies goes into his whirlwind spin, and about when you'd expect him to come out of it, it just resets.

If you race and kill all the baddies, it seems to make it to the next level. If you just leave the joystick, you'll see it resets every single time. Perhaps it's some check that's only triggered on a particular animation sequence or something?

Hopefully that'll help you track it down...
You're right, that particular character appears on an earlier level and I can get it to reset then as well, its definately to do with that tornado character and interaction with the player character.

I'm going to check the files for level 10-20 (there are 8 of them) and see if theres a problem with one of them being incorrect size or corrupted somehow, and maybe re-rip from the IPF just on the off chance its a file problem, because the protection is 1000000000% done the same as CFOU.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 16:41   #100
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Crash SOLVED!

Had nothing to do with copy protection, it was to do with blitter fixes.

I started fresh with all my blitter fixes removed, and now the game doesn't crash anymore

Fucking schoolboy error ffs

The reason it didn't manifest itself earlier was simply because it was to do with one particular characters animation that changes into a tornado, and then tried to turn back again, but the relevant blitter fix was fucked.

So, i'll prepare a BETA version if people are happy to playtest, and this is A500/WinUAE only currently, and once people have confirmed the bollocks doesn't crash anymore, then I'll apply the blitter fixes again, but this time, get it fucking right.

What a lamer!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snow Bros Amiga dlfrsilver project.aGTW 532 20 March 2014 05:08
Snow Bros Galahad/FLT request.Old Rare Games 79 19 September 2010 22:02
Play Snow Bros on my A500? Photon support.Games 21 29 April 2009 10:22
AMIGA Snow Bros.! ST Dragon Retrogaming General Discussion 15 07 March 2008 20:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24001 seconds with 12 queries