English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2013, 11:29   #1
Kefty
 
Posts: n/a
A1200 display

Hello

I am looking for advice. Im a returning Amiga user but very rusty, and tbh these questions didn't occur to me back then.

I know these have been covered recently but these threads do not seem to answer what I want to know.

1 - What is the ideal display for a A1200 ? The room where my setup is going to be does not have any display except for a 2007 imac. (im guessing this will be no good for my requirements ?

2 - Can I just connect a Sony portable 14" TV CRT - how good would this be ?

3 - LCD pc monitors costs pence on eBay - is this an option ? Maybe these multisynch CRT monitors ?

As Im starting with no display at all I have the choice of which way to go but I dont know where to start.

Thanks for reading, Im sorry if this has been done to death already.

Kefty
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 February 2013, 12:01   #2
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
you can use your portable tv with a rgb to scart lead,its a cheap option.(you can use a compisite lead as well but rgb leads are a bit better)

if you want to use vga displays you need an upscaler(scandoubler)as amigas put out about 15khz and vga monitors need 31khz minimum
roy bates is offline  
Old 18 February 2013, 12:09   #3
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
I have a 17" NEC Multisync FE770, with a perfectly flat screen. It'll take a 30khz signal. I imagine with a scandoubler/flicker fixer it would make a perfect A1200 display.
john1979 is offline  
Old 18 February 2013, 12:46   #4
Kefty
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
I have a 17" NEC Multisync FE770, with a perfectly flat screen. It'll take a 30khz signal. I imagine with a scandoubler/flicker fixer it would make a perfect A1200 display.
Thanks All. John this will probably be the way I go. I like the idea of the larger screen but not too big and a flat screem. I think NEC are a good make? I need to find a scandoubler now. Do these fit in between Amiga & Display or are these a card that slot in somewhere in A1200 ?

Initially I wanted to play Elite on my A1200, would an accelerator improve such games? Maybe Frontier 2? Of course I am getting redy for the March 14 Eliteangerous. I wonder if the new generation Amigas will be able to handle software like this. So many thoughts and questions, thank you all the same for the advice so soon.

Last edited by Kefty; 18 February 2013 at 12:51.
 
Old 18 February 2013, 13:20   #5
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
an 030 accelorator would be good for games like elite 2 frontier.

the new elite game is for the pc i think.

the scandoublers are either internal or external depending on the one you find.
roy bates is offline  
Old 18 February 2013, 14:45   #6
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
The NEC Multisyncs are good CRT displays. Mine is nice and flat, with a good dot pitch. I only wish it were 19" as 17 is a little on the small side.

Check a datasheet online to make sure the model monitor you choose accepts 30khz before you buy.
john1979 is offline  
Old 18 February 2013, 21:54   #7
Kefty
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks John

OK this is good info for me. This 30Khz signal, I see that I am comparing to vertical and horizontal signals. Is this 30kHz a refresh rate?

For instance here is a spec of a recent 17" CRT monitor, viewing on ebay.

Synchronization Range - Vertical 50 - 120 kHz
Synchronization Range - Horizontal 30 - 70 kHz

I presume the scandoubler can increase the frequency x2 so this is how you get 31kHz? Could the above spec CRT cope with A1200 output with scandoubler ?

Im finding it difficult to find a NEC CRT within sensible driving distance...
 
Old 18 February 2013, 23:22   #8
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
It's the horizontal figure that you need to look at. A scan doubler like the Indivision should give you output on any monitor that supports 30khz.

You can always use a CRT/LCD TV and RGB scart lead if you don't fancy buying a monitor.
john1979 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange A1200 display issue tetsu0san support.Hardware 15 30 October 2012 16:26
Display Problems on A1200 campbl2 support.Hardware 6 26 May 2010 21:12
Repairing an a1200 with green display elmasta support.Hardware 18 07 March 2010 17:54
A1200 - Display too bright Rabbit80 support.Hardware 90 07 April 2009 00:59
A1200 display JACK98 support.Hardware 6 23 November 2008 01:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12839 seconds with 11 queries