English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2013, 19:31   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Atari ST game collections, menu disks and C64 emulators

I've been setting up a Retro laptop to take around friends houses and play some classics. A few questions have popped up as I haven't downloaded emulators in years (apart from MAME and WinUAE). zSNES and Fusion seem decent for the SNES and Megadrive, but a few seem to be lacking for other formats.

I've noticed the Atari ST seems to have all its games on menu disks, so you have to refer to a library to show what's on each disk to find a game. Or do ST emulators have libraries built in?

Are there game collections for the ST that are on seperate disk images like they are for the Amiga? Or a good frontend for choosing games?

Also noticed C-64 emulators for the PC are a little basic. CC64 and WinVICE can't even load ZIP images, well WinVICE can when you add unzip to the directory but it doesn't always seem to work. Are there any up to date emulators for the good old C-64?

Thanks guys!

Last edited by Bloodwych; 17 February 2013 at 23:07.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 February 2013, 19:36   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
WinVice and Micro64 are up to date emulators, more than that. Maybe they don't support zipped games directly, but of course via frontends like Gamebase.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 19:39   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Gamebase - forgot all about that. The built in GUI's seem basic and it seems strange not having ZIP support out of the box, so it looks like I need frontends then.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 19:39   #4
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
Many Atari ST single disk game packs are on http://thegamearchives.com/
s2325 is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 19:43   #5
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
a2325, nice link. So the ST does have separate disk images for games available. All I've ever had from the past are the menu disks.

Looks like I'll have to get some frontends setup also and screenshot packs.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 19:46   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Grab the Gamebase 64 v9 Collection via torrent. Thousands of games, preconfigured with screenshots, SIDs etc.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 19:49   #7
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Will do Retro-Nerd, thanks for the advice.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 21:36   #8
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
Bloodwych WinVice is awesome imo, I didn't know about the zip thing though, although tbh how much bigger is the file unzipped eh, cmon

CCS64 is a very good/accurate c64 emulator too.

The multi-pack games for ST are by DBug and Automation if I recall, I have single games too though, they are about you just need to google harder

For Snes I use SnesX9 and the great Zsnes and for Megadrive I use Kega Fusion.

Btw WinVice has nightly build updates here http://vice.pokefinder.org/

Micro64 I didn't get on with, didn't like it.

Last edited by Kitty; 17 February 2013 at 21:53.
Kitty is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 22:40   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
CCS64 is really outdated, especially the SID emulation and video rendering. Vice and Micro64 are the best atm, and maybe Hoxs64 (not that many extra options, but a great compatibility.) CCS64 is good for slower PCs. If want accuracy you should use the others, though you need a modern PC for them. Not a 5-6 years old machine.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 17 February 2013 at 22:49.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 22:49   #10
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
I'm using WinVice on Thinkpad 233MHz without any problems.
s2325 is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 22:51   #11
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Probably a really outdated Vice version i assume.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 22:59   #12
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
I don't remember which version.
s2325 is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 23:05   #13
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks for the suggestions Kitty. Yeah, it's not about space more that I was lazy and used to zipped roms just loading straight up in EMUs these days. Took it for granted I guess.

Can't wait to go around a few friends houses with the laptop and USB pads and joysticks. Some of them haven't played old school games since they were 16. Should be a good trip down memory lane for them.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 23:06   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
You can't run WinVice 2.4.1 properly on a 233MHz Thinkpad. If you mean the WinVice 1.21 version from Planetemu. This version is from 2007 and really pointless now.

For Snes emulation: Higan (formerly known as bsnes). Needs a really fast PC, but the accuracy and compatibility is pretty much 100%. ZSNES works with speed hacks, SNES9x is outdated too. Both are plagued with sound and graphic issues, sometime speed problems.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 17 February 2013 at 23:24.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 23:31   #15
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,416
I've got the LGD (Little Green Desktop) CD1 which had most if not all of the Atari ST Automation/Pompey/FOF/Medway compact disks on it. The disks are all zipped but STEEM can load them zipped anyway!
BarryB is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 23:32   #16
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
CCS64 is really outdated, especially the SID emulation and video rendering. Vice and Micro64 are the best atm, and maybe Hoxs64 (not that many extra options, but a great compatibility.) CCS64 is good for slower PCs. If want accuracy you should use the others, though you need a modern PC for them. Not a 5-6 years old machine.
Really? A modern machine to run a C64 emulator?????
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 23:37   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Yep, the reSID emulation with different authentic filters is a real CPU sucker. And there's a second exe now, called x64sc. Which needs even more power since it's more accurate in any way.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 23:39   #18
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Yep, the reSID emulation with different authentic filters is a real CPU sucker. And there's a second exe now, called x64sc. Which needs even more power since it's more accurate in any way.
Haha, thats just crazy. I know the little breadbox was a cool little machine back in the 80's, but that just blows my mind that a PC needs to be so powerful to emulate it properly!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 23:49   #19
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
It's all about accuracy these days. No more compromise since we have the PC CPU power now. Cycle accurate CPU, cycle based & pixel-accurate VIC-II emulation, authentic SID sound (muuuch better than years ago) graphic filter/pixel shader etc.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 17 February 2013 at 23:58.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 February 2013, 15:03   #20
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 489
For Snes emulation one could try SnesGT 0.218b7, which was the last version released. Very accurate and fast, probably slightly ahead of Snes9X in that department, and has by far, the best Satellaview emulation of the pack. If that is of interest.
Avanze is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atari ST HardWare emulators Retro1234 support.Hardware 75 07 December 2017 17:50
Atari ST emulators for Amiga commie1974 request.Apps 192 07 November 2017 01:18
Recommended Atari Emulators? MethodGit Retrogaming General Discussion 53 29 December 2014 23:47
8bit Atari emulators (winXP/AmigaOS) ppill Nostalgia & memories 29 22 July 2011 23:57
Amiga single game cracks or ST menu disks Ian Retrogaming General Discussion 15 24 June 2008 11:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.40663 seconds with 11 queries