English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 February 2013, 02:22   #1
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 347
Will we ever be playing Wipeout 2097 on WinUAE as smooth as a Sega Saturn?

Wouldn't it be great if you could play one of your favourit next gen (for the time) consoles on your trusty old Amiga 1200 WITHOUT having to fork out the price of a used Porsche 944 on an accelerator and 3D graphics card?

Will we ever be able to save that cash and do it via emulation in the case of Wipeout 2097?
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 February 2013, 09:37   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
What about 'cutting the middle man' : http://www.wipeoutzone.com/forum/sho...ndows-7-64-bit ?
TCD is offline  
Old 12 February 2013, 10:59   #3
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 156
Hello

Give a Try to FPSE (playstation emulator) + gpuw3d plugin + Wazp3D (renderer:hard) + WinUAE

It may works as there are several 3D games that already works with this config :-)
http://thellier.free.fr/soulblade-sigfried-sophitia.png

Alain Thellier - Wazp3D
thellier is offline  
Old 12 February 2013, 22:58   #4
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 754
Dont be ridiculous. We need at least three emulation layers, preferably on three different CPUs to do the job properly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
What about 'cutting the middle man' : http://www.wipeoutzone.com/forum/sho...ndows-7-64-bit ?
rare_j is offline  
Old 12 February 2013, 23:05   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Dammit, you're right... sorry 'bout that
TCD is offline  
Old 13 February 2013, 00:34   #6
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 754
Apologies I couldn't resist!
On a less flippant note, I found a version of PCSXr recently that puts PS1 games into proper widescreen. R4 is amazing in high res widescreen, perhaps the thread starter could give it a try with Wipeout.
rare_j is offline  
Old 13 February 2013, 00:38   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
No worries
I think it's time to mention that there's currently no interest to implement PPC in WinUAE. I'd also suggest to try both the PC and the PSX version via emulation
TCD is offline  
Old 13 February 2013, 19:06   #8
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,658
The various ports aren't equivalent though. IIRC the Amiga port has various enhancements such as fogging which aren't present in the other versions.
Minuous is offline  
Old 21 February 2013, 16:36   #9
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
Yeah, Id recommend just running the playstation version in FPSE. Works great. Although it doesnt hurt, there's no need for warp3d/wazp3d. I used to play it a bit with FPSE on my Amithlon box.
While still not bad the amiga version (which is a slighty inferior port of pc version) isnt as good as playstation version anyway.
There's an often heard argument that the graphics are better on the amiga version, but I think its an acquired taste. Theyre maybe not quite as chunky, but theyre much blurrier as well (w3d image quality leaves a bit to be desired).

As for the question in the thread title, no. But you can run it smoother
Saturn version is good still, but drops a few frames compared to what can be done under Winuae using hardware acceleration.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 21 February 2013, 23:30   #10
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishyfish View Post
Saturn version is good still, but drops a few frames compared to what can be done under Winuae using hardware acceleration.
Yeah, but does it have the same cool in-house soundtrack that's only available on the Saturn versions of Wip3out and Wipeout 2097? I own both
The latter game is much easier for newbies to pick up. It took me weeks to master the tracks on Wip3out.
Lonewolf10 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WipeOut 2097 CountRaven support.Games 7 13 January 2013 16:51
Wipeout 2097 Dreamcast270mhz request.Old Rare Games 8 12 January 2013 21:09
Amiga WipeOut 2097 and Quake II Available amigakit.com MarketPlace 18 21 April 2009 15:32
WipeOut XL (2097) Frog Retrogaming General Discussion 29 01 December 2007 17:08
Wipeout 2097 ^^Snoop^^ request.Old Rare Games 6 03 December 2002 06:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25124 seconds with 11 queries