English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2013, 21:48   #21
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Awesome. How's the AGA chipset compatibility?

I guess that CPU compatiblity is not a problem, since it's the real deal

I might even replace my Amiga 4000 with one of those beauties!

How much will the daughterboard cost?
jbenam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 February 2013, 00:41   #22
neozeed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hong Kong, SAR
Posts: 28
I wonder if this will hit production and how many it'll be.. I'd love a new amiga that doesn't rely on 20+ year old bits.
neozeed is offline  
Old 15 February 2013, 19:11   #23
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Does the FPGA-Arcade currently run the latest minimig core thats adapted for use with a minimig arm controller but without the need for an arm controller on the FPGA-Arcade board? Does that make sense?
Kitty is offline  
Old 15 February 2013, 21:37   #24
yaqube
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
Does the FPGA-Arcade currently run the latest minimig core thats adapted for use with a minimig arm controller but without the need for an arm controller on the FPGA-Arcade board? Does that make sense?
The Minimig AGA core for the Replay board (FPGA-Arcade) is much more advanced than the Minimig core available for the Minimig board (I hope everybody can distinguish a Minimig core from the Minimig board).
The Replay board has exactly the same ARM controller built-in.
yaqube is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 02:18   #25
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,678
Can you use this Minimig AGA core on the Minimig board?
Akira is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 10:12   #26
yaqube
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Can you use this Minimig AGA core on the Minimig board?
No, the FPGA on the Minimig board is too small.
yaqube is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 13:43   #27
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,678
Is there ever going to be a Minimig v2 with a bigger FPGA and, hopefully and finally, HDMI output or something?
Akira is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 14:09   #28
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
I see no reason for it once FPGA Arcade will hit the streets
mfilos is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 14:11   #29
yaqube
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Is there ever going to be a Minimig v2 with a bigger FPGA and, hopefully and finally, HDMI output or something?
Actually I'm working on a new FPGA board design but I wouldn't call it Minimig V2.
yaqube is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 20:07   #30
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,678
Looking forward!!
Akira is offline  
Old 16 February 2013, 20:46   #31
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 894
Minimig is great for what it is. But there's not much point in upgrading it in small steps.
We need new FPGA products, with larger boards, more connectors, more features.
FPGA Arcade seems great as a clear step forward. And after that... who knows

Minimig should remain as a cheap solution for a quick light fun done the Amiga way, but some heavy artillery is just around the corner
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 08:29   #32
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
Minimig is great for what it is. But there's not much point in upgrading it in small steps.
We need new FPGA products, with larger boards, more connectors, more features.
FPGA Arcade seems great as a clear step forward. And after that... who knows

Minimig should remain as a cheap solution for a quick light fun done the Amiga way, but some heavy artillery is just around the corner
Well , i don't totally agree with you , people who already have the Minimig , as i do and as some will (there is a new batch produced actually), want more things for the Minimig, as an example ipf support.

But if i understand well Yaqube will not be in Minimig anymore and it's a big loose for Minimig users.

Actually i'm a bit lost , should i buy the Fpga Replay ? Should i sell my Minimig ? Wait for New next board from Yaqube ?...
lolafg is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 08:32   #33
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
Actually I'm working on a new FPGA board design but I wouldn't call it Minimig V2.
Is that because the FPGA Arcade is taking too long?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 10:56   #34
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
How much is the FPGA-Arcade board? I thought it was available to buy now in small production runs?
Kitty is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 14:57   #35
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 894
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolafg View Post
Well , i don't totally agree with you , people who already have the Minimig , as i do and as some will (there is a new batch produced actually), want more things for the Minimig, as an example ipf support.

But if i understand well Yaqube will not be in Minimig anymore and it's a big loose for Minimig users.

Actually i'm a bit lost , should i buy the Fpga Replay ? Should i sell my Minimig ? Wait for New next board from Yaqube ?...
Oh, don't get me wrong. If something can be added to the Minimig via new core, or some hardware addon, then it should be done for all existing boards.
I was saying that it would be pointless to do a new run of, say... Minimig 2, that would sport only a new FPGA or more memory, or something like that.

For something new and more powerful, we need bigger boards, more connectors... I for one would love to have a FDD connector on board. Sadly none seems to plan such thing
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 15:07   #36
yaqube
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolafg View Post
But if i understand well Yaqube will not be in Minimig anymore and it's a big loose for Minimig users.
No, the Minimig board is not abandoned, it will get an update after the Minimig AGA core for the Replay board will be ready.

Quote:
Actually i'm a bit lost , should i buy the Fpga Replay ? Should i sell my Minimig ? Wait for New next board from Yaqube ?...
It depends on what you want to use it for.

The Minimig board has the highest compatibility because it has a real 68000 CPU. Although there are plans and some work has been done to recreate cycle perfect 68000 CPU core (which would improve compatibility of other Minimig's ports like Chameleon 64, C-One, MiST etc) it's long time ahead.
So if you want to play OCS/ECS Amiga games and watch demos there is no better choice.

The Replay board is able to host Minimig AGA core (which can be switched into OCS/ECS compatibility modes) and allows all AGA stuff to work. This core comes with a lot of additional goodies: 8MB of FAST RAM, 1.5MB of SLOW RAM, 48MB of extra CHIP RAM, support for 2MB ROMs, 24-bit AHI sound, Picasso96 compatible RTG board capable of 1920x1080 resolution and full colour display (although not at the same time).

The Replay board can be easily expanded with different sorts of daughterboards. For example the one which I have made has a real 68060 CPU running at 106MHz, 128MB of local SDRAM, High Speed USB host controller, Fast Ethernet controller, RTC, micro SD card socket, TOSLINK optical audio output.

The Replay is meant to be a multi system platform which is not only limited to be Amiga compatible. Mike is working hard on other cores and having him as main developer and supporter is the best recommendation.

Bringing Replay to the market has taken longer than anybody would have expected. No one who hasn't participated in this project does realize how much work has been put into it.

My FPGA board is a matter of future and will be a more advanced version of the Replay board focusing mainly on the Amiga platform. Since I've got my Replay board for over 3 years and it is still struggling to get to wider audience I cannot recommend to anyone waiting for my new one.
yaqube is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 16:00   #37
Dopuser
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 37
Btw: what about kickstart in FPGA Arcade? Is it possible to re-kick with i.e. RemApollo like software there ? Or some hand made ready-to-use kickstart required ?
Dopuser is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 16:08   #38
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
AFAIK It's like minimig which means you load the kickstart of your choice via the OSD feature.
mfilos is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 16:12   #39
yaqube
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dopuser View Post
Btw: what about kickstart in FPGA Arcade? Is it possible to re-kick with i.e. RemApollo like software there ? Or some hand made ready-to-use kickstart required ?
A Kickstart image (unencrypted) is loaded from the SD card into RAM after every FPGA boot process. Then you can always reload another kickstart image whenever you want (there is such option in the OSD menu). No need for RemApollo or SKick type programs.
yaqube is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 17:57   #40
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
No, the Minimig board is not abandoned, it will get an update after the Minimig AGA core for the Replay board will be ready.



It depends on what you want to use it for.

The Minimig board has the highest compatibility because it has a real 68000 CPU. Although there are plans and some work has been done to recreate cycle perfect 68000 CPU core (which would improve compatibility of other Minimig's ports like Chameleon 64, C-One, MiST etc) it's long time ahead.
So if you want to play OCS/ECS Amiga games and watch demos there is no better choice.
Well , if you are always in Minimig ,( that is the best new for me ), it will stay with me !!

I was thinking this morning in what i do with my Minimig and what i did with classics Amiga i had in the past and the answer is Gaming so i don't need more than the Minimig even if i miss some Aga games .

Just one more question about Minimig , would it be possible to make a ram board for it as Kipper2K ones wich plug on the 68000 cpu ?

Thanks for your answer.

@ Lord Aga , i understand better your point of view now
lolafg is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FPGA ARCADE Replay in a A590 Case wizard66 Hardware mods 8 28 November 2011 17:14
Turbo chameleon 64 with minimig core Synthesize Me support.Hardware 1 02 November 2011 22:50
FPGA Arcade Replay Board at AmiWest 2011 Show AmigaDave Amiga scene 1 19 September 2011 05:56
Minimig firmware/core update Spellcoder News 1 27 April 2008 23:02
Minimig core open source release coming soon Jope News 26 30 January 2007 16:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24757 seconds with 11 queries