English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 July 2001, 18:12   #1
duckieegg
 
Posts: n/a
Question converting from lha to adf

can someone tell me how to convert lha,lhz to adf please
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 July 2001, 18:33   #2
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Well seeing as LHA and LHZ are archives just as RAR and ZIP are you'd need to copy the file to the harddisk and then extract it. Then afterwards you can copy it to a formatted ADF file, and if you want to boot from the disk it would be a good idea to have directories for the required files like C and LIBS. Also to be able to boot from a disk you'd need to make a dir called S and in there make a file called Startup-sequence and make a script for which files to run when you boot.

I don't know if this will always work, but it's worked for me a couple of times.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 07 July 2001, 18:36   #3
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,739
Cool Conversion

An ADF file is basically the contents of an Amiga disk in a single file.

An LHA file is a compression format, like a ZIP file. It can be used to compress one or more files into a single file.

The two are not interchangeable. You have probably downloaded an Amiga game in an LHA archive. This means that the game files are stored within this archive, which can't be run directly. They have to be uncompressed first.

It is possible to move these files onto an ADF within an emulator, but it is not so simple. The files may be too large for the ADF or numerous other things...

So, it is not a simple case of conversion from one format to another.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 08 July 2001, 19:30   #4
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,886
Agreed

"Most" LHA/LZX files on the "Net" for Amiga are HD Games or files from AMINET, the HD games being patched and fixed to run on HD so there is little chance of us simpletons to know which files came from which disk. The only way you could tell is if you had the ADF's already, making it a pointless exercise.

If you want the files converting, but don't know how, post them here and I (Or someone else) will convert them, if it's possible

LHA's with more than 880k worth of files in them (When uncompressed) are HD versions, making them hard (Impossible?) to convert to ADF's.
Ian is offline  
Old 08 July 2001, 20:59   #5
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
To say nothing of defeating the purpose...why would anyone want to run a HARD DRIVE game from a floppy...
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 08 July 2001, 21:06   #6
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Well maybe it would be as means of transferring the game. Or maybe because duckie didn't know LHA was an archive.

Or maybe it's just to make an ADF file. If Duckie has an Amiga without harddrive but can write AFs to disks then it would indeed be a good idea to make a disk and play from there.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 06 June 2014, 00:34   #7
SubV
 
Posts: n/a
Reviving an old topic...

So, I wanted to make an ADF from .lha archive (Boogietown by Ghosttown & RNO).

First, I unpacked the archive. There are two versions of this demo included, for KS1.3 and for newer machines. I created a standard floppy image using WinUAE and formatted it. Then I run CLI and typed 'install DF0:'. After that, I copied the demo (boogietown_ks13.exe) to floppy's root directory and created S/startup-sequence.

The resulting floppy refuses to boot in WinUAE (A500 config). However, it boots perfectly under A1200 config.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance for your advices.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Boogietown_ADF_attempt.zip (454.4 KB, 138 views)

Last edited by SubV; 06 June 2014 at 00:40.
 
Old 06 June 2014, 10:33   #8
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,062
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
easy, the floppy is not compatible with A500, because it use a Kickstart 2.0 bootsector (FFS) and not a KS 1.3 (OFS) one.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 06 June 2014, 11:09   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,508
WinUAE allows you to create an empty formatted bootable floppy disk image. I guess this image is compatible to any OS version. You should not format the disk image again and write a bad boot block to it.
thomas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting IPF files to ADF Dagon support.Games 24 17 March 2011 13:42
Converting LHA (<880kb) to ADF ? AmiFox New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 22 July 2007 11:06
Converting adz to adf nnever2000 support.Games 2 21 August 2006 15:36
Converting from lha to adf komunita support.Other 5 24 June 2006 10:13
Converting LHA to MOD? Unregistered request.Modules 5 17 December 2001 18:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16856 seconds with 12 queries