English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 03 February 2013, 11:51   #1
jono52

amiga a500+

hi i am a newbie on here and lookin for help with my a500+.Bought my amiga in 91 had many good times on it,then put it in loft safely i thought.Then i fancied getting the amiga out for a bit of nostalgia.But when i set it up nothing happened.The power light flashed in 10 short blips then one long one,but nothing on screen.Had a look inside and battery had spewed up on motherboard which i have since found is common occurence.Removed battery put it back together but same problem is still there.Anybody any ideas.would like my miggy going again.

AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 February 2013, 14:30   #2
robinsonb5

Always a shame to hear of battery leaking damaging machines. The bad news is that even if you've removed the battery the damage is still continuing. The gunk that's spewed out of the battery is alkaline, and eats the copper traces on the motherboard in a rather nasty cascade effect which will spread over time.

You've removed the battery, which is the first step, but now you need to apply a weak acid - either lemon juice or distilled vinegar - to the affected area to neutralise the alkaline. No need to drown the entire board, but just make sure any part that's suffered gunk contamination gets treated. Let it sit for a while, then mop up the acid, and clean the area with isopropanol.

Unfortunately, that rigmarole won't fix your A500+, it will just stop it getting any worse. To get it working again you'll need to figure out which tracks have been eaten through and try to repair them.
Old 03 February 2013, 19:03   #3
jono52

just noticed the floppy drive isnt working at all.Even if i put a floppy in nothing happens.Is it possible one of the chips could be faulty,as cant see any damage to tracks,its removed the green protection but not too far from the battery position.

Old 03 February 2013, 19:06   #4