English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 January 2013, 21:09   #1
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 265
Paranoid by Rebels

Hi

I'm trying to run this demo on two different systems: A1200 BPPC and A4000 060.

On both, the demo runs without sound.
Tried running from WB and CLI (clean boot with SetPatch).

Any idea what I could try next?

Thanks!
UberFreak is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 January 2013, 22:30   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,535
Demo will not work correctly with VBR in fast ram. Use a Tool such as TUDE to force your VBR to $0, the demo will work fine then.
StingRay is offline  
Old 28 January 2013, 10:40   #3
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 694
or Embedder II (shameless plug ;-)
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 28 January 2013, 21:37   #4
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 265
Thanks for the advice, will give it a try later tonight!
UberFreak is offline  
Old 30 January 2013, 12:18   #5
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 265
Managed to run the demo using TUDE, by setting VBase to zero.

Also tried EmbedderII, but the demo reported "not enough memory" and wouldn't run (my system has 192MB fast and over 1.9MB chip is free in Workbench).

Another demo I tried running with Embedder (Syndrome by Balance) caused a system reboot before starting.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 30 January 2013, 23:58   #6
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 694
Yes, you are right.. maybe I should look into that.. When I try to run it directly with around 1.5MB chip available, I also get a "not enough memory" message, so it seems Embedder somehow affects the amount of chip available (or how much the embedded process thinks is available)...

Probably there's some delay-loading involved so embedder loads the whole file/process into memory and then the demo itself, on top of that, delay-loads specific hunks at specific places in the demo, thus causing chip mem exhaustion.. I wonder how TUDE handles this?

another funny thing is, this demo appears to be supposed to run on "high-end" cpu's, so why does it have this sound issue in the first place? ;-)

Last edited by hooverphonique; 31 January 2013 at 10:17.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 27 March 2013, 10:47   #7
carls
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malmö
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
Another demo I tried running with Embedder (Syndrome by Balance) caused a system reboot before starting.
If you can turn off the BlizzPPC by holding down the "2" key on bootup, like on the Blizzard 060, I suggest you try this. Boot to the early startup screen, switch off any HDD partitions and external diskdrives not needed to run the demo (to free up chip ram), boot without startup-sequence and try again.

Although for some early AGA demos you only need a clean boot without setpatch to make them run even on an 060.
carls is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
paranoid new to WinUAE capa New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 03 October 2011 18:58
Rebels Coma Kitty support.Demos 10 15 October 2009 21:01
Probs with Rebels Mega Demo II HOL2001 support.WinUAE 13 11 June 2009 20:31
switchback by Rebels (AGA) RCK support.Demos 8 15 November 2001 20:15
Looking for "Rebels Megademo2" Tim Janssen request.Demos 5 27 July 2001 18:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13348 seconds with 11 queries