English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 January 2013, 10:56   #1
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Question CopyIcon won´t work with folder/drawer icons?

hi there,

yesterday, i ran into a problem with CopyIcon, while trying to change some OS 3.9 icons...

Changing a programs icon works with the drag´n´drop methode, but when i try to change a folder (drawer´s) icon, CopyIcon won´t accept the new icon.

For example, i got some new icons to replace the drawers System, Storage. They are named system.info and storage.info. Now, when trying to drag them onto CopyIcon box, nothing happens.

These icons have the same format, like the other(program/application) icons, i already replaced this way.

Any clues?!

edit: i worked around it, by replacing the standard 3.9 icons by copy the new .info files over them.

(I am running OS3.9 in emulator, the AmigaOS hdd is a folder on my host-system)

Last edited by elowan; 24 January 2013 at 11:17.
elowan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 January 2013, 12:01   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,551
What is CopyIcon? Where did you get it from?
thomas is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 12:05   #3
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
I got CopyIcon from "the Zone" and another one was included in the OS3.9 install (or maybe from the BoingBags, not sure...) But both versions won´t be able to exchange folder icons - at least on my amiga-system.

AmigaNews:

Tools: PNGTool V1.0a, CopyIcon V44.4
Am 9. Februar 2002 hat Stephan Rupprecht die Version 1.0a von "PNGTool" und die Version 44.4 von "CopyIcon" veröffentlicht.

"CopyIcon" ist ein CopyNewIcon-Klon, der ab AmigaOS V3.5 läuft. In der Version 44.4 sind die Optionen DEFTOOL, DESTTYPE, CHANGEONLY hinzugekommen.
elowan is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 12:54   #4
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
Use KDEView instead:

http://aminet.net/util/wb/KDEView.lha

It has copyicon built in, and works by asking you for the directory where your icons are. It then displays them all in a window and all you have to do is drag and drop the icon you want to change on to the image you want. It works best when all icons are the same size, otherwise there are display problems, but it is still useable.
James is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 13:22   #5
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
sounds very good, i´ll give it a try asap

thanks again
elowan is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 13:29   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,551
What's wrong with opening icon information and dragging the new icon over the old one?
thomas is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 13:35   #7
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
This won´t work, also. I tried it that way. The old icon flickers for a very short moment... and the new icon will not be copied over.

(the new icons are higher resolution and bigger size)

Maybe, it has something to do with the fact, that the AmigaOS is not a .hdf, it´s a pc-directory instead.
So, maybe windows prevents the CopyIcon thing for folders/drawers?

I don´t know...

Last edited by elowan; 24 January 2013 at 14:00.
elowan is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 14:23   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
It's surely not a duirectory issue. Might be an idea to upload the icon you're trying to use. I'm quite sure that it's a problem related to the format of the icon...
TCD is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 14:31   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,551
Perhaps the .info file is write protected.
thomas is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 14:31   #10
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Ok, i´ll upload it into the Zone at 18:00

thanks for your interest and maybe we can solve this issue.
elowan is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 14:32   #11
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Perhaps the .info file is write protected.
Do you mean the new icon file or the one to be replaced?
elowan is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 14:35   #12
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
... and another icon-related question:

When creating a new folder for example, it gets a OS3.9 icon (the green Drawers).
Is there a way to change this icon into another one? For example a blue or red one?

Maybe with DefIcons-tool? Or have some of the deeper system-files have to be modified?
elowan is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 14:59   #13
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
What's wrong with opening icon information and dragging the new icon over the old one?
This will change the image as long as the RAWBInfo patch in the AfAOS distribution has been applied, but sadly it will also change the icon type in some cases. E.g. Copy a tool icon image to a project icon and the project icon will become a tool icon losing any extra information.

Quote:
Originally Posted by elowan View Post
... and another icon-related question:

When creating a new folder for example, it gets a OS3.9 icon (the green Drawers).

Is there a way to change this icon into another one? For example a blue or red one?


Open the env-archive folder in Prefs (show all) then open the sys folder and you will see all the def_icons apart from disk icons. They can then be changed in the usual way. The disk icons are hidden so you will have to copy over them with the icons you want.

Last edited by James; 24 January 2013 at 15:05.
James is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 15:17   #14
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Hey James, i get the suspicion, you do this stuff all day long, right?!

Thanks for your hint, now i´ve a lot of things to try and can take my little project further to the finish line.
elowan is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 15:24   #15
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by elowan View Post
Ok, i´ll upload it into the Zone at 18:00
This does not help much if it is write protected. You should check this first.


Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
Open the env-archive folder in Prefs (show all) then open the sys folder and you will see all the def_icons apart from disk icons. They can then be changed in the usual way. The disk icons are hidden so you will have to copy over them with the icons you want.

You can also run the DefIcons program from the Prefs drawer and double click on the type you want to change the icon for.
thomas is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 15:28   #16
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Ok, i´ll check it first, if it´s a write protect related problem and report back.

thanks for the hint with double click, i´ll try that, also!
elowan is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 15:58   #17
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by elowan View Post
Hey James, i get the suspicion, you do this stuff all day long, right?!
Yes, I am that sad person.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
You can also run the DefIcons program from the Prefs drawer and double click on the type you want to change the icon for.
This uses RAWBInfo so will have the problem I mentioned above when using AfA. When changing lots of icons using KDEView is the quickest option...
James is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 18:52   #18
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
The icons, i want to use and the icons, that i want to be replaced are not write protected.

I got KDEView installed, it shows the icons in my directory... but the drag´n´drop only
works with "application icons", not with "folder-icons"... the same effect like the CopyIcon program.

edit: So i ran into trouble... two foldericons, i´ve changed are programs now, instead of folders Any chance to fix that?

uploaded "Commodities.info" to the zone = this is one of the new icons, i want to use.
uploaded "Demos.info" = this is an old icon, i want to replace.

Both are icons for a drawer/folder and CopyIcon nor KDEView work with drag and drop

Last edited by elowan; 24 January 2013 at 19:50.
elowan is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 20:14   #19
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
Copying will not work if the drawer icon you are copying over does not have an actual drawer to open. I tested your icons and it failed for me too until I made a drawer with the same name in the directory. Then it worked fine... If this is not the problem then something is messed up in your installation.

To change the type of icons all you have to do is select the icon and select icon information from the menu - as Thomas mentioned earlier. The RAWBInfo window will open and you can then select the icons type in its menu and save the changes.
James is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 20:55   #20
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Ok, i´ve changed it from program to drawer
elowan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pegasus won't work. Any of them. apachacha support.WinUAE 13 09 November 2012 23:05
WinUAE won't detect roms in main folder Maren support.WinUAE 11 01 October 2010 11:39
Classic WB drawer icons for my games Heula project.ClassicWB 1 04 January 2008 19:37
How to change default system folder icons digital support.Apps 3 16 March 2003 09:54
HD emulation won't work Grimlock126 support.WinUAE 7 06 July 2001 20:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.40582 seconds with 11 queries