English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 February 2013, 02:49   #81
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by elowan View Post
also got "AmigaOS ROM Update.BB39-2"
Yes, I forgot it does this - been a while since I last installed BB2. You can just rename this one to "AmigaOS ROM Update" and replace the original.

Quote:
Originally Posted by elowan View Post
I want to change the disk-icons with ClassAction, but this program seems to be broken (buttons without text, see attachement)
And it doesn´t show the picture of the icons, just a file-list. I found no way to set something like and icon-view in the classaction prefs...
There should be a button to view icon images. If you are using the images I posted up it should look exactly like this, apart from the pattern:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ClassAction_WBInfo.png
Views:	517
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	34250

The buttons without text are correct, you can press on them to select a different directory. But, as you can see from my screenshot, you do have icon images missing. If you have installed the latest version of ClassAction it should be in a MRE drawer. Inside this drawer should be an Executables drawer and an Icons drawer (among others). ClassAction should be in the Executables drawer and will look for the images in the Icons drawer. If this is correct then check your prefs.

You don't have to view disk icons to replace them though - just make sure the icons you want have the same names, and then copy them over the originals. Then change them all to disk type afterwards...

Last edited by James; 13 February 2013 at 03:07.
James is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 February 2013, 09:55   #82
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
I installed the latest ClassAction now - and now i got some more icons
I guess, there went something wrong, when installing the program for the first time. Now it is working in the right way.

I found out, that with KDEView, the icons for Ram disk, drives ,etc are displayed, when browsing the ENV/SYS drawer, also. I guess, i´ll be able to manage the replacement of the disc-icons now

So, to take advantage of all new icons, what step(s) must be done next?
Example: I replaced the green OS 3.9 drawer-icon in ENV/SYS with a masonicon-one. Now, when i create a new drawer, it get´s the old green icon, instead of the new one... why is that?

Things still missing:
  • a nice Icon (Masonicon?) for the Ram Disk to replace the OS3.9 one
  • Replacements for avi, bmp, font, brush, lha file-icons
  • a faked "transparent" background for AmiDock (MacLikeDock still won´t startup and PolyNet 68k also fails)
So... just a few steps and a few hours left, till this conversion is done.

Thanks for your support
elowan is offline  
Old 15 February 2013, 19:09   #83
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by elowan View Post
I replaced the green OS 3.9 drawer-icon in ENV/SYS with a masonicon-one. Now, when i create a new drawer, it get´s the old green icon, instead of the new one... why is that?
It should work after a reboot if you have changed it in Prefs/Env-Archive/Sys/
Env/Sys/ is in Ram, changing it here will make it work without reboot, but the change will be lost after a reboot.
The name and type are correct? (def_drawer type drawer)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elowan View Post



Things still missing:
  • a nice Icon (Masonicon?) for the Ram Disk to replace the OS3.9 one
  • Replacements for avi, bmp, font, brush, lha file-icons
  • a faked "transparent" background for AmiDock (MacLikeDock still won´t startup and PolyNet 68k also fails)
So... just a few steps and a few hours left, till this conversion is done.


Thanks for your support
The def_brush icon can be found in the PPaint drawer of either of these:

http://www.masonicons.info/resources/mi_2010_06.lha

http://os4depot.net/share/graphics/i...ection2010.lha

Don't think the others are available, so you will have to source them from OS4.1 or find/make alternatives.

MacLikeDock requires pngalpha.library, and a Screengrab tool, do you have them installed?

http://aminet.net/util/libs/pngalpha_lib.lha

http://aminet.net/gfx/misc/ScreenGrab.lha

You will need to edit the path to the ScreenGrab tool in the MacLikeDock prefs (text file).

If you want Amidock on the bottom left with text, I think you need to crop and keep the height of your icons (64) plus 20 (this might vary due to text size) from the bottom of the backdrop you are using. Then load it as the dragbar and icon area pattern.

Last edited by James; 15 February 2013 at 23:18.
James is offline  
Old 26 August 2013, 16:22   #84
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 229
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132 Send a message via Skype™ to seb132
Great thread! I was interested to do this too on an A1200/060...
Any update recently?
seb132 is offline  
Old 14 January 2016, 15:01   #85
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
not THAT recently, but ... I lost the complete system/install and all the Data, a long time ago
found a backup, but if I reconnect the HDF Files to a new config, uae does not boot into WB anymore.

really frustrating, because I was like 99% close to what I call a makeover.
only thing missing, was dock-transparency... well

I dont know, if I will go thrue this massive setup-process ever again - but I think I will install 3.9 again, soon.


Cheers!

Last edited by elowan; 14 January 2016 at 15:33.
elowan is offline  
Old 17 January 2016, 05:12   #86
jdog320
I dunno

jdog320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Anywhere City
Posts: 115
I have a problem with wbstartup++, after putting the lib and the handler in the right drawers, now it says Can't lock enabled drawer.
jdog320 is offline  
Old 18 January 2016, 02:21   #87
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by elowan View Post
not THAT recently, but ... I lost the complete system/install and all the Data, a long time ago
found a backup, but if I reconnect the HDF Files to a new config, uae does not boot into WB anymore.


Quote:
Originally Posted by elowan View Post
really frustrating, because I was like 99% close to what I call a makeover.
only thing missing, was dock-transparency... well
I did a quick makeover of my AfAWB a couple of years ago. I modified AmiStart to look more like Amidock, since it already has (fake) transparency.

Click image for larger version

Name:	OS3LikeOS4.png
Views:	402
Size:	376.7 KB
ID:	47038

It looks even better with MUI4...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdog320 View Post
I have a problem with wbstartup++, after putting the lib and the handler in the right drawers, now it says Can't lock enabled drawer.
Do you have an enabled drawer in WBStartup?
James is offline  
Old 18 January 2016, 10:07   #88
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Wow James, looks awesome!

After a lot of trouble, I managed to re-install OS3.9 in fs-uae, also installed BoingBags1-4 successfully

I´ve found some documents, I wrote down years ago, when we were doing the makeover - but I do understand only half of them, hehehehe.

I got a listing with programs on it, which I seem to have had installed, maybe I can put it together and post it here. If you like to help once again, I think we can build up something nice?

best regards!
elowan is offline  
Old 19 January 2016, 02:19   #89
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by elowan View Post
If you like to help once again, I think we can build up something nice?
Sure, go for it!

There is a better range of icons available now:

http://www.amiga-look.org/artwork/icons-amigaos

Although good Ram icons are still in short supply...
James is offline  
Old 21 January 2016, 12:35   #90
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
This is a quick attempt I did in my own way

gulliver is offline  
Old 21 January 2016, 13:39   #91
jdog320
I dunno

jdog320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Anywhere City
Posts: 115
Also, how do I use DejaVu fonts in workbench?
jdog320 is offline  
Old 21 January 2016, 17:43   #92
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
@gulliver

wow, that already looks nice!
elowan is offline  
Old 21 January 2016, 18:34   #93
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Gulliver you know you can get those icons smaller with the latest icon.library
Retrofan is offline  
Old 21 January 2016, 20:07   #94
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Gulliver you know you can get those icons smaller with the latest icon.library
I know.

That is an old picture that predates current icon.library by several months.

@elowan

Thank you.
gulliver is offline  
Old 10 June 2016, 11:12   #95
cmsj
Registered User

cmsj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London / UK
Posts: 148
I'm also interested in doing this, and have made a start with the easy bit - icons. I've never played with things like Birdie before, so I guess that's next



Some quick playing with Birdie/VisualPrefs and the Ken-OS4/Ken-OS4-Lite themes are starting to bear some fruit:



Last post for now. This is coming along quite nicely:


Last edited by cmsj; 10 June 2016 at 19:09.
cmsj is offline  
Old 19 June 2016, 10:15   #96
hUMUNGUs
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Tønsberg / Norway
Posts: 3
wow, nice. Want to share ?
hUMUNGUs is offline  
Old 23 June 2016, 17:39   #97
cmsj
Registered User

cmsj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London / UK
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by hUMUNGUs View Post
wow, nice. Want to share ?
I'm not sure about that, these icons are mostly lifted directly from an OS4.1 install, so I'm probably not allowed to distribute them :/
cmsj is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 12:20   #98
hUMUNGUs
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Tønsberg / Norway
Posts: 3
I C. What about if u could make a small theme, just with the widgets for me ?
hUMUNGUs is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECS. Make OS3.1 look like OS3.9 without loosing speed. lukassid support.Apps 21 19 February 2013 01:13
AmiDock in Amiga OS3.9 Location spanner support.Apps 1 19 August 2012 23:26
Amiga OS3.9 Manuals petemaxi Amiga scene 14 05 February 2011 11:28
WANTED Amiga OS3.5 CD Vars191 MarketPlace 2 01 February 2009 08:41
Wanted Amiga OS3.9 Stormrider MarketPlace 2 07 March 2006 08:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.50739 seconds with 12 queries