English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 January 2013, 10:46   #1
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Post Project: Amiga OS3.9 to OS 4.x makeover

Hello EAB,

today i want to start with a little project. The goal is, to make OS3.9 look like 4.x as much as possible. Iīve read and googled a bit and came across some programs, that might help to archive this goal.

I am not that into amiga Workbench, so I would like to ask some of you experienced users for a hand.

Situation:

Iīve managed to install Amiga OS3.9+BB1+BB2 in fs-uae an environment with a little help.
I made a backup copy of the .hdf file and now, I want to take it as far to (most optically) OS4.x (4.1 would be preferred) , as possible.

Can one give advice, which program(s) I will need to install?

update 3

BoingBag3 - installed
AfAOS v4.7 - installed
Magic Menu - installed
AmigaOS 4.1 wallpaper - installed
Masonsicons 50% installed
WarpPNG - installed
Outlinefont - installed
WBStartup++ - installed
MUI 3.8 - installed
OS 4.1 like fonts - installed
AISS - installed

things to try / setup:

ReqAttack
BoingBag4 (needed?)
Mac Like Dock or making AmiDock transparent somehow...

If i can get it as far as on the screenshot, iīll be happy

edit: itīs getting closer

Thanks for helping me out!

Greetings
ELO
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0726.gif
Views:	2141
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	33981  

Last edited by elowan; 05 February 2013 at 09:54.
elowan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 January 2013, 10:54   #2
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Install AmiKit, that should give you a few ideas.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 10:58   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi!

I see you borrowed one of my screen shots there

It's much easier now to use OS4 style Icons, you don't need to install AfA_OS anymore.

The Icons shown in my shot are Kens Icons V3

Have a read of this thread:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=64079

PeterK's Icon library will let you use OS4 style Icons

I made a start with a couple of setups but didn't get them finished yet, you can already see great results using PeterK's Icon library:

OS4.1 Style (Masons Icons)



(Power Icons)



It's really fast too

[ Show youtube player ]

(Using Kens Icons V3) It's also Classic Workbench OS3.9 with BB 1&2
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 11:01   #4
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Iīve tested AmiKit and it was a bit too much "bling-bling" to me. I canīt tell, what program is what and changes the ui, etc. So i want to build it from scratch, on top of OS 3.9

Iīd like to have it a bit "cleaner", like OS 4.1. But i got no ppc (at least not a ppc, it would run on) - so the only option for me, is to pimp 3.9 a bit.

I also like AROS, but thatīs not "Amiga brand"..
elowan is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 11:04   #5
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Hi!

I see you borrowed one of my screen shots there
Hey, didnīt know you have an account here, also ! Sorry for "borrowing" your screenshot - but i was impressed, what you have archived.

May you like to comment on my list, if itīs all i need for the "conversion"?

You refer to install "Update to icon.library 46.4.271" for the 4.1 and Kens icons?

Or do i just need to install ClassicWB39 and with that, iīve got all the needed programs and latest versions?
elowan is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 11:15   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi!

You are more than welcome to use my screen shot, anything I upload is for the community to enjoy

And yes, that is correct - all you need to enjoy OS4 style Icons is PeterK's new Icon library.

Please read carefully his documentation for the install, there are some other required libraries IIRC and also you need to install his modified 'Powericons' into C: You also need to have that run from your startup-sequence, he explains this to me is the tread I linked so a good read through that thread will help you for sure.

Good luck with your workbench conversions, you can loose a lot of time working on them as you have to copy 1 Icon at a time

I use a tool called 'CopyIcon' which I have put on the Zone for you.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 11:20   #7
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Wow, great! thank you Steve.

Ok, the icon-conversion seems to get up from the ground...

Now, what about changing the "window-border-theme"?
Is "Amiga Theme Experience" the only thing to install? (see link above)

What about the transparent context-menu? Is this archived with "Magic Menu", onyl?
elowan is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 11:28   #8
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I have to confess the workbench you linked wasn't created by me, but modified to run on my A1200 with Mediator PCI/Voodoo 3 (Picasso96).

Actually it was first setup by another user to run with CGX4 and BVision, he did indeed use AfA_OS to for some of these extra customisations like the transparent context-menu but I can't tell you what is needed to achieve that now. I'm using Classic Workbench 3.9 with Peterk's hlibrary for my own installs.

As has been said by NovaCoder if you have a good look at Amikit this will give you an idea of what customisations you can add.

Most tools, etc can be downloaded from Aminet.

For Icon packs check OS4 Depot:

http://os4depot.net/index.php?functi...=graphics/icon

All the best,

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 11:51   #9
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
This might help:
http://lilliput.amiga-projects.net/TechDetails2.htm
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 11:52   #10
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi Again!

This thread might help you too:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=66213

fitzsteve is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 12:28   #11
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Ok, thatīs a good base to start reading and trying from.

thank you very much for your afford, everybody!


But there is one more thing

Iīd like to use a calendar like the one if have attached.
Is this for OS 3.9 and if so - how is it called?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cal.jpg
Views:	375
Size:	20.0 KB
ID:	33983  
elowan is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 13:18   #12
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
That is limpid clock by Thomas Rapp.

http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online...mpidclock.html
DDNI is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 13:32   #13
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Damm! I visited his Site many Times... But without realizing ...

Ok - iīve got enough stuff for now and will start working on this conversion soon.
elowan is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 18:02   #14
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
A few things that might be worth mentioning
AFA_OS: If youre using emulation (ie. fast "68k amiga") I'd consider using this as it replaces the need for birdie, visual prefs, icon.library, not to mention it's a little more flexible than those 3 combined and allows a person to use Zune (which is more attractive), concurrently with MUI.
End results for both routes arent drastically different, but if youre looking for maximum eye candy potential AFA_OS is, in my opinion, a better option.

As for transparent menus, this is done with magic menu still, but needs higher than 8bit color, so youll need an rtg (gfx card) system.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 20:32   #15
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
So, i can install AFA_OS into OS 3.9 instead of Birdie, visualprefs, iconlib?

What else must be installed to make AFA_OS work? Zune? Mui? Gui?
Sorry for being such a noob in this matter
elowan is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 22:28   #16
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
So i installed Afa OS v4.5 on my 3.9 system..

When i click the Afa Prefs "No AFA OS running" shows up.

Is AfA OS another independent system?! Another OS?!

Iīm a bit confused with that...
elowan is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 22:55   #17
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
AfA_OS 4.7 is the latest version:
http://amidevcpp.amiga-world.de/AfA_...fA_OS_V4_7.lha
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 23:25   #18
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Did you add 'morelibspace' and 'afa_os_loader' commands to your startup-sequence? (like detailed in the guide)

I just installed under WinUAE with Classic Workbench and it's working great

Of course I need to adjust all the setings now but I'm already seeing the 32bit Icons...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 23:25   #19
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Ok, so i installed 4.7 - but still get the same result, when going to Prefs and try to start the AFA Prefs....
elowan is offline  
Old 22 January 2013, 23:26   #20
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Did you add 'morelibspace' and 'afa_os_loader' commands to your startup-sequence? (like detailed in the guide)

I just installed under WinUAE with Classic Workbench and it's working great

Of course I need to adjust all the setings now but I'm seeing the 32bit Icons...
arrgs, the startup-sequence... how was the exact text? Ah, i see
elowan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECS. Make OS3.1 look like OS3.9 without loosing speed. lukassid support.Apps 21 19 February 2013 01:13
AmiDock in Amiga OS3.9 Location spanner support.Apps 1 19 August 2012 23:26
Amiga OS3.9 Manuals petemaxi Amiga scene 14 05 February 2011 11:28
WANTED Amiga OS3.5 CD Vars191 MarketPlace 2 01 February 2009 08:41
Wanted Amiga OS3.9 Stormrider MarketPlace 2 07 March 2006 08:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30817 seconds with 12 queries