English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 October 2002, 16:04   #1
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Wink AmIRC getting started????????

Can anyone please help me i have downloaded AmIRC v3.5 from vaporware.com i have installed it ok on the amiga now the thing is i am not able to connect to any of the servers in the list???
Does anyone still use this for chatting online?????
I originally wanted to use icq on the amiga (STRICQ) which i did download and unpack but not sure how to get it up and running there is not an auto installer with STRICQ (not that i can see)

So i have opted for AmIRC to try out
backtoskooldaze is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 October 2002, 16:42   #2
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,338
check www.efnet.org, www.undernet.org or whatever-net-you-like.org It should work if you get the right server ... (pick a server from your country, then it should work, does for me atleast ..)
kriz is offline  
Old 03 October 2002, 17:20   #3
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,841
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=6529
RCK is offline  
Old 03 October 2002, 19:51   #4
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Smile Thanks RCK

Cheers m8 i am now using the abime.net irc

Nice one thanks!




Oh by the way i am using the abime.irc on a reeeeeeaaaaal amiga



no emulation here
backtoskooldaze is offline  
Old 04 October 2002, 06:22   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,933
Re: Thanks RCK

Quote:
Originally posted by backtoskooldaze
no emulation here
Good boy!

Akira is offline  
Old 04 October 2002, 15:46   #6
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Evil grin Still have trouble with STRICQ:(

I am still having trouble getting STRICQ installed and running on the amiga(((((((

What am i to type in a shell window to get it to install after downloading????I have downloaded all the other files on the stricq website and then unpacked and after running the stricq an output window appears with scrolling text then i think i am supposed to open a shell window and start the installation?

Has anyone got stricq up and running on there pc/amiga??????
backtoskooldaze is offline  
Old 04 October 2002, 19:15   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,933
havent tried that bastard for a long time, but you might want to consider the ultra-lite GT-ICQ
Akira is offline  
Old 04 October 2002, 20:44   #8
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Smile Can i use the icq lite on amiga?

Hi Akira i have an icq account already on the pc.I am wanting to use an icq clone on the amiga.
I don't think you can use the icq lite on the amiga??????????


I am going to try jabberwocky as this is supposed to support icq and msn i have been told???????????

AmIRC is cool on the amiga but cuts off after 30 mins and it seems a bit too much 20.00 to get the full regged version.
I am only able to use AmIRC with abime.net I need some more servers to add to it before i consider paying money for it

I have AOL Messenger on the amiga and thats ok
backtoskooldaze is offline  
Old 04 October 2002, 21:08   #9
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Re: Can i use the icq lite on amiga?

Quote:
Originally posted by backtoskooldaze
AmIRC is cool on the amiga but cuts off after 30 mins and it seems a bit too much 20.00 to get the full regged version.
Then try BlackIRC and BenderIRC They are both freeware
RetroMan is offline  
Old 05 October 2002, 21:10   #10
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Smile cheers retroman:)

Cheers Retroman i am using blackIRC and it's cool
It's even better than AmIRC there is more servers as default to connect to other than abime.net which i will be adding.
Would'nt mind a webcam to use on the amiga

I have downloaded the jabberwocky and installed but having problem starting it???when i click on the jabberwocky light bulb to start a window appears at the top saying cannot created mui application!

I have mui3.8 installed and is ok so i don't know about jabber if i will get that going and stricq i am not so sure but the ones i have running is AmIRC ,BlackIRC and AOL'S Messenger (but no buddies in the aol list)

Right i am off now to have some chat fun on the amiga bye for now
backtoskooldaze is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmIRC is now FREE ! amiga_user Amiga scene 19 10 July 2011 16:10
AmIRC key location blitter1 support.Apps 3 20 March 2010 15:18
Registering amirc? pan1k support.Apps 8 10 July 2006 16:15
AmIRC?? BarrySWE support.Apps 2 30 September 2005 09:43
Amirc ^SnOoPy^ request.Apps 6 30 August 2005 23:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15312 seconds with 11 queries