English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 January 2013, 21:28   #1
JimNeray
X-bEnCh addict

JimNeray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: France
Posts: 202
Cracktro + Whdload ?

Ok so it's now really easy to find many package of .slave for whdload but i've a real problem with all that.

When i was young the cracktro/trainer was a really important time for me before the game start but with whdload all this pieces of the Amiga history doesn't anymore exists.

Does it exist anywhere a full set of the 80/90's with game+cracktro included or may this stay a dream for me ?
JimNeray is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 January 2013, 21:40   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
whdload was made for original games
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 03 January 2013, 21:51   #3
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimNeray View Post
When i was young the cracktro/trainer was a really important time for me before the game start but with whdload all this pieces of the Amiga history doesn't anymore exists.
I grew up in a community that were very religious, so imagine how fast i were pushing the joystick button when loading to play a game of (ivan ironmans) Super Off Road Racer to skip the damn cracker when i got friends from church over..

for those with bad long time memory banks..
[ Show youtube player ]
moijk is offline  
Old 03 January 2013, 23:05   #4
JimNeray
X-bEnCh addict

JimNeray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: France
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by moijk View Post
for those with bad long time memory banks..
[ Show youtube player ]
Yeah you're right !

I can't imagine that all that can't stay alive in my .slave
JimNeray is offline  
Old 03 January 2013, 23:19   #5
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,595
You could try here with your favourite Flash enabled browser and enjoy...

http://www.flashtro.com/

pmc is offline  
Old 03 January 2013, 23:27   #6
JimNeray
X-bEnCh addict

JimNeray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: France
Posts: 202
For sure i can. I allready know flashtro.com; it's cool but it's not the same thing
JimNeray is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 01:00   #7
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 597
@JimNeray, try this site for the real Cracktro .exe files; Cracktros - http://www.cracktros.org not much info about what config you need.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 12:16   #8
clownstyle
Registered User
clownstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by moijk View Post
I grew up in a community that were very religious, so imagine how fast i were pushing the joystick button when loading to play a game of (ivan ironmans) Super Off Road Racer to skip the damn cracker when i got friends from church over..

for those with bad long time memory banks..
[ Show youtube player ]
Ha, this made me laugh. I remember that cracktro!
clownstyle is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 13:08   #9
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,779
You could have a script to execute the cracktro then the HD game
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 14:54   #10
JimNeray
X-bEnCh addict

JimNeray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: France
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
You could have a script to execute the cracktro then the HD game
Yes this is a good idea but this can sadly not replace whdload for the non hd games.
JimNeray is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 14:56   #11
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Psygore supported the BTTR version of Project-X SE, with cracktro enabled.
It's on the file server and in the zone.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 17:22   #12
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,779
You can download cracktros or trainers as executables, execute them then start your WHDload game - Just for fun obviously the trainers won't work etc
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 19:52   #13
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
there's no reason why a cracktro cannot be whdload installed!

Maybe a bit overkill though!
BippyM is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 19:55   #14
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
http://www.whdload.de/ctros/alla.html

All of them are preinstalled.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 20:44   #15
JimNeray
X-bEnCh addict

JimNeray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: France
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
http://www.whdload.de/ctros/alla.html

All of them are preinstalled.
Thanks Retroplay. This 16 ones are better than nothing
JimNeray is offline  
Old 04 January 2013, 21:42   #16
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
Any particular crack intros you want to have installed? If so post a list and I'll see about patching/fixing them for WHDLoad.
StingRay is offline  
Old 05 January 2013, 14:07   #17
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
I have no need for a WHDLoad version, but is there any chance you could have a quick look at the Brat/Classic intro? The scroller does not work properly on machines with fast ram.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimNeray
When i was young the cracktro/trainer was a really important time for me before the game start but with whdload all this pieces of the Amiga history doesn't anymore exists.
I couldn't agree more, it's a real shame.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 05 January 2013, 14:39   #18
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
The music and soundeffects that came up when I loaded up games have a very strong nostalgic effect on me as well. I must admit, I kinda miss that with the WHDload. I sometimes consider going back to just using an A500 with ram expansion just for that oldskool feeling. Only for the "smaller" games though, with one to four disks maximum with little diskswapping.
StarEye is offline  
Old 05 January 2013, 15:30   #19
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
I've got the best of both worlds on the 2000. It is the perfect machine because you can run the crack intros and WHDload, and unlike the 500 it doesn't cost a large amount of money to add a hard drive + fast ram.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 05 January 2013, 15:56   #20
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
I have a pack called Commodore Amiga - Demos - Various - [EXE] (TOSEC-v2011-11-01_CM), and it contains about 280 cracktro's in exe format.

But i agree, whdload games just aren't the same without the cracktro's.

I'm lucky to also have a HxC Floppy Emulator so i can always use the cracked floppy versions instead
hansel75 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing cracktro KingNothing support.Games 13 17 November 2016 18:36
looking for a cracktro turrican3 Looking for a game name ? 1 29 July 2013 09:05
Looking for a cracktro.... alexh request.Demos 11 07 February 2005 14:34
Cracktro plasmatron Amiga scene 1 08 October 2003 17:33
Cracktro's musashi9 Amiga websites reviews 15 12 July 2003 20:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.61286 seconds with 11 queries