English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 December 2012, 23:58   #1
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 54
can I play with amiga 32 controller old amiga 500 games?

I managed to make my own amiga compilation on disc(so many missing on regular ones, like pirates!). however the amiga controller doesn't work in most games except for the d-pad. do I need to get an amiga joystick too?
gjb1985 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 December 2012, 00:23   #2
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 54
also do aga games work generally? I've tried a few on my compilation disc but none seem to work. or did I have to put the amiag 1200 workbenches as well? amiga 32 is a 1200 in itself right?
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 01:26   #3
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 522
The red button on a CD32 controller should work fine on older games. The other buttons only work if a particular games specifically supports the pad.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 09:20   #4
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjb1985 View Post
like pirates!)
Do you have built in a HD or did you you use the special CD32 version (Pirates Gold)? No HD and A500-version = no possibility to save...
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 13:09   #5
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasajoe View Post
Do you have built in a HD or did you you use the special CD32 version (Pirates Gold)? No HD and A500-version = no possibility to save...
I didn't know I could not save old amiga games. amiga 32 has inbuilt memory right? still not too much of a problem as pirates games aren't too long.

@robinson: so it is better to get an amiga joystick as well?

and do you guys know if aga games work on it or not?
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 13:16   #6
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 2,832
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjb1985 View Post
I didn't know I could not save old amiga games. amiga 32 has inbuilt memory right?
Never owned one so my knowledge is only based on what I read here.

Yes, it has a NVRAM (NV = non-volatile I guess) of 1 Kb.
So I guess that most CD32 games tried to make the smallest save files as possible (or should have, in theory).

Even if you could save from the A500 version running on the CD32, you probably could not fit savegames that were made with floppy disks or hard disks in mind (much more free space than 1 Kb)


http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=9160
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=802760#post802760
lilalurl is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 13:34   #7
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 54
ok, thanks for your help. reading those links I don't understand completely though. you can make an nvram file to work on amiga 32 to save? or is it standard amiga 32 memory? I started up amiga 32 without any games in it and I had 3 save games. one being 1(block?) other 43 and another one of 20. so 1kb seems very small for few saves I have already.
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 14:02   #8
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 2,832
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
I think it is standard.

It is a bit like a Playstation or other console memory card, except that it is built-in (you cannot swap it with another "memory card"). Or like the SRAM in SNES cartridges, except that you can save from different games.

And yes it seems very small, but at that time such memory reached a high price. They should have planned a larger NVRAM, but I guess the price would have risen quite a bit. Or perhaps they did not think too much was needed (hoping that coders would prefer using level codes).


Back in the days, I never really followed news about the development of the CD32. Some experts might have better details to give and/or articles to point to.
lilalurl is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 14:13   #9
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 54
is there a way then to save amiga compilation games on a cd then? similar like how you could do it on a empty disk with winuae without it being a disk of course. I haven't been in amiga emulation since 2000, so I also recently found this whole whdload stuff.
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 14:20   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,280
No.
Unless you add a disk drive to your CD32.
Akira is online now  
Old 12 December 2012, 17:27   #11
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 54
which is hard, expensive? couldn't find much about it googling it.

does it improve the speed of loading games if I stick less games on my cd or not?
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 12 December 2012, 18:05   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,280
Expensive, and no.
Akira is online now  
Old 12 December 2012, 21:02   #13
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 54
another question. some whdload games I download like swos 97 come in the data folder with folders called grafs, saves and sound.

what do I do to get these to work?
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 13 December 2012, 09:33   #14
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjb1985 View Post
1kb seems very small for few saves I have already.
1 KB is correct. And yes, thatīs small. If you donīt "lock" your savegames in the CD32 menu they will be "kicked"/overwritten if the nvram is full and another game tries to save. Generally only the special CD32 versions (like Pirates Gold CD32 or Inherits of the earth CD32) of the games are able to save into nvram.

WHDLoad:

http://www.whdload.de/docs/en/cd32.html
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 13 December 2012, 12:21   #15
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 54
ok thanks again. seems most of my games are in small files. but some games won't run because the data file of the whdload game contains folders in it. what do I do with these folders to make them work? I tried putting all the stuff in subfolders into the root of the data folder but then the game doesn't even appear. just deleting all those subfolders also doesn't work. I don't think amiga can read folders of course, so what do I do? these folders called for instance fonts, libs, c, devs, exe
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 13 December 2012, 12:48   #16
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
I am not sure if I got you right. Generally if you use preinstalled WHDLoad-Games (like from whdownload.com) you should not change anything and leave the installs as they are.
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 13 December 2012, 12:58   #17
gjb1985
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: netherlands
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasajoe View Post
I am not sure if I got you right. Generally if you use preinstalled WHDLoad-Games (like from whdownload.com) you should not change anything and leave the installs as they are.
well all the games not working on my amiga 32 are basiclaly the whdload games that in their data folder have different folders instead of just the game files. it's bit hard to explain.

for instance my swos96/97 data folder looks like this:


http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/9827/kutf.jpg

I'm fairly sure it doesn't work because of (some) of those folders. maybe swos 96/97 is too hard to run on amiga 32 but I also have it with much older amiga games that have folders in them and should run on 2 mb memory, like bundesliga manager, while much bigger games like money island 2 don't have them and does run on my amiga 32

edit: why does [img][/img] doesn't work here?

Last edited by prowler; 13 December 2012 at 23:12. Reason: Image link fixed. Thanks, lilalurl! :)
gjb1985 is offline  
Old 13 December 2012, 13:03   #18
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 2,832
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjb1985 View Post
edit: why does [img][/img] doesn't work here?
It works. The link with a / at the end will not work as it is a link to a page. Right click on the picture to get the correct link to use with the tags:

lilalurl is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: Hdd Ide Controller - Amiga 500 Luposole MarketPlace 10 07 November 2011 01:05
Compatibility with Amiga 500 and 500+ games ErickDF Amiga scene 2 23 May 2008 21:16
Amiga 500 internal IDE controller Seblington MarketPlace 19 30 June 2007 12:40
Which AMIGA games do you play ? AmiGer Nostalgia & memories 41 17 November 2003 17:44
Can I play Amiga games on my Pc The Major Retrogaming General Discussion 2 30 August 2002 20:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32883 seconds with 11 queries