English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 December 2012, 15:33   #21
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Thumbs down Disk Space Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
How much free RAM do you have?

Lack of free RAM looks to be the cause of all those errors you are seeing.

Of course, saving the dir.txt file to your RAM disk will eat up memory.

Why don't you redirect the directory listing to your hard drive instead (as DH0:dir.txt, for example)? Then you'll have more free RAM to execute those commands.
Hi Prowler - yeah, we have created the dir.txt file within both the RAM disk and DH0 now. But like Thomas says, it's more likely to be due to a lack of disk space than memory.

Appreciate your input though, many thanks
clitosa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 December 2012, 16:46   #22
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Question Drives look near full but not quiet (we think)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Obviously somebody has renamed the AmigaGuide program into Multiview. The original Multiview does not have these buttons (Contents, Index, Help etc.) when viewing text files. It only shows them for guide files.
Hi Thomas - Someone has renamed the AmigaGuide program into Multiview? That's a bit over our head, sorry .

Are we correct in saying that we can use the multiview.dir command on our version 38 of workbench to view our created dir.txt file?

As for our previous error messages, a lack of disk space rather than RAM would make more sense as we have a 4MB Fast Ram expansion board, which should be sufficient for those requested tasks.

Even though we are using an internal 4GB CF, the previous owner has installed thousands of WHDLoad games which can be found in the DH2 and even our DH1 (work) folder.

Thanks again for the help

Last edited by clitosa; 10 December 2012 at 23:34.
clitosa is offline  
Old 10 December 2012, 17:00   #23
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by clitosa View Post
Are we correct in saying that we can use the multiview.dir command on our version 38 of workbench to view our created dir.txt file?
No, Multiview needs WB 3.0 or higher (version 39 or above).
thomas is offline  
Old 10 December 2012, 20:21   #24
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Thumbs up Conclusions

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
No, Multiview needs WB 3.0 or higher (version 39 or above).
Okay thanks - so, drawing conclusions.

Best way to search for files on WB is by using the Shell/CLI and typing:

search DH(n): all file (name)

For printing a directory text file, enter the following in Shell/CLI

cd ram: (redirecting to the RAM disk ideal as it wipes when rebooted and is not the reason behind the experienced error messages)

list dh(n): all >ram:dir.txt (to create txt file of (n) drive in the RAM disk folder)

ed dir.txt (WB2+) multiview dir.txt (WB3+) - to view the created file.

That said, in our case somebody has renamed the AmigaGuide program into multiview, so this command can be used on our version of WB2.1 (pic 3 of post 16)

Further questions regarding our HD will be started on a new thread.

Thanks to everyone for their help
clitosa is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 01:42   #25
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
ahh the joys of cli

these principals of directing output to files is similar on all computers
in fact you can direct it to many different places, ser: for serial, par: for parallel.
this is the joy of pipes
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 11 December 2012, 07:29   #26
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by clitosa View Post
[B]
From the sysinfo we can tell that our drives are DF0/CF0, (Floppy Drive & Compact Flash) Workbench (DH0) Work (DH1) Games (DH2)
You can use "info" command on shell for that too.
jPV is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listing files, loading files and allocating all available chip ram. h0ffman Coders. System 16 04 April 2013 21:24
WB3.1 more languages *Help* D4Ni3L3 support.WinUAE 6 17 March 2013 21:42
Installing WB3.1 without losing files on the HD? clitosa New to Emulation or Amiga scene 56 30 December 2012 01:20
WB2.1 or WB3.1 or WB3.9 Olecranon New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 02 September 2006 18:42
UAE files! Where is the database providing these WinUAE setup files? taichi_tarot Retrogaming General Discussion 3 02 June 2006 00:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13338 seconds with 12 queries