English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 July 2005, 00:32   #1
Deaths_Head
Registered User
Deaths_Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: cheadle
Age: 41
Posts: 65
UAE On Mobile Phones

Is There an AMIGA Emulator Available On Sony Ericsson Phones K700/750i Or Even C64 Emulation
Deaths_Head is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 July 2005, 01:56   #2
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,547
I very, very, very much doubt it!

Phones are only just powerful enough to do games that are programmed for them never mind run a complex emulator!
BippyM is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 10:16   #3
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Even if the phones were powerful you wouldn't want to emulate a computer on them.
 
Old 29 July 2005, 11:34   #4
MrZammler
Zone Friend
MrZammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Crete
Age: 40
Posts: 191
There are some C64 emulators for Symbian phones (not the K750i). I remember using one on my 9210.... was pretty ok.
MrZammler is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 15:12   #5
DanE
Registered User
DanE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lincoln, England
Age: 39
Posts: 113
The best handheld Amiga you going to get is with the PSP, The emu is only in its early stages but still plays very fast.
DanE is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 15:45   #6
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,338
I think a pocket pc can also emulate the amiga (and c64)...
kriz is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 16:15   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Phones will be fast enough sooner or later..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 August 2005, 01:56   #8
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
Phones will be fast enough sooner or later..
I agree with this, and when it is possible it'll be fab
BippyM is offline  
Old 27 September 2008, 14:27   #9
Phiber
Hardware Freak
Phiber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 222
Send a message via MSN to Phiber
Bought myself a nice Nokia 6210 Navigator running Symbian OS 9.3 S60 3rd Edition Feature Pack 2

Would love to see it running UAE and few of my favourite demos & games...

2,4" screen with 320x240 resolution to keep boredom away...

oh well, atleast ScummVM has been ported to it..

Last edited by Phiber; 27 September 2008 at 14:37.
Phiber is offline  
Old 27 September 2008, 14:42   #10
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 637
My HTC Diamond runs PocketUAE quite nicely! Its a pity that its not being developed further though
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 27 September 2008, 20:36   #11
Dimlow
Likes to be thought of as
Dimlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kent,UK
Age: 48
Posts: 529
Send a message via MSN to Dimlow Send a message via Yahoo to Dimlow
Dimlow is offline  
Old 21 November 2012, 03:05   #12
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 524
Best device for mobile Amiga emulation

Hi Stainy and all!

I have the chance to have a Raspberry PI (model B) and got in no time UAE4All to work to play Rick Dangerous: it is very cool and I would definitely recommend it!
tygre is offline  
Old 21 November 2012, 11:21   #13
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
I'd like one of these but they are way too expensive!!!

Why don't they just licence the product to a Chinese company, who could knock 'em out for £150 retail.....I just don't get it

I'm looking at a [ Show youtube player ] , as a good alternative?....just look at the price and spec compared
to the Pandora....or am I missing the point?
fatboy is offline  
Old 21 November 2012, 11:42   #14
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,632
JXD devices had only few firmware updates - last one removed all emulators from JXD V3. How anyone can trust them now. And what can you do when you brick your chinese console - there is no support.
s2325 is offline  
Old 21 November 2012, 12:01   #15
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,921
I really wish too the Caanoo got the attention it deserves, but yeah, GPH fucked up, and now I am stuck with a really nice console full of potential but with no devs interested in it.

If at least it had a decent C64 emulator I would bitch less. UAE4ALL runs really fast on it, it's a beauty.
Akira is offline  
Old 21 November 2012, 12:16   #16
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
JXD devices had only few firmware updates - last one removed all emulators from JXD V3. How anyone can trust them now. And what can you do when you brick your chinese console - there is no support.
After a 5 second Google search, help is here .....if needed?

As for emulators, it's Android, so plenty out there.

Nothing is perfect, I just wish other cost options where available for the Pandora, to make it more accessible to the average user.

I'd buy one at £150.00 but not £535.65 (current sterling price for 1 Ghz Pandora)

The simple question is, can someone produce the Pandora at a consumer friendly price point?....I'm sure sales would be much improved.

Look at Raspberry PI..... licensed and selling like hot cakes.
From Techcrunch.com


' TC: What are your total sales of the Raspberry Pi to date?

Eben: Currently we've shipped about 400,000 – that’s since March, we expect to pass the half million point in the next month or so; we expect to have sold about a million — looking at the projections – about 12 months in so in our first year we will have sold about a million'


OK this is £30 bare bones device, but the business model clearly works for them....much the same as ARM holdings....who don't make a single chip yet Billions are in everyday devices!!!!

I'm sure the Pandora developers are fiercely protective of their 'baby', but surely they would want everyone to join their club?

Sell me a 'Consumer Freindly' priced Pandora, and I'm in
fatboy is offline  
Old 21 November 2012, 12:34   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatboy View Post
I'd buy one at £150.00 but not £535.65 (current sterling price for 1 Ghz Pandora)
Dude, for 535 pounds, you buy one helluva portable computer. The price tag is RIDICULOUS.
Akira is offline  
Old 21 November 2012, 12:38   #18
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Dude, for 535 pounds, you buy one helluva portable computer. The price tag is RIDICULOUS.
Exactly!!!
fatboy is offline  
Old 21 November 2012, 13:28   #19
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
I have the Pandora 800mhz version I paid the origonal pre-order price for it and hadto wait years for it to turn up.
Was it worth it?
for me yes as Ive got emulation on the go, work in games dev, and nolonger have to cart an old laptop around.
Ipad and Pandora and Im good to go.
Besides my older model overclocks to 900mhz easy so is £500+ worth it for an extra 100mhz - no not really.

Last edited by prowler; 25 November 2012 at 22:08. Reason: Removed quote.
pubzombie is offline  
Old 21 November 2012, 13:56   #20
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 739
Of course it is. They are milking it for all it's worth. More & faster memory, faster CPU, and GPU. Trying to get every last penny out of a huge investment before the market is outright dead. It simply took to long to get the panda in the hands of it's users so the hardware they used is grandfather, and cant be obtained anymore. selling a updated version at the same price would piss all the old buyers of, so it's just as well they have a investment they need to make up for. I'm guessing there is a price drop when sales no longer surpass manufacturing capacities.
Mr B is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emulation of Graffiti chunky graphics device pmc request.UAE Wishlist 29 30 November 2011 18:52
K13 asm example of gameport.device and keyboard.device redblade Coders. General 29 20 January 2011 18:32
Amiga game ported to mobile phones erikstarck Retrogaming General Discussion 0 05 February 2010 17:31
Amiga Mobile Tones :) blade002 request.Modules 18 03 October 2008 15:06
uaehf.device and HDToolbox: Error 224 reading device description Ebster support.WinUAE 3 16 September 2008 09:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26949 seconds with 11 queries