English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 November 2012, 13:01   #41
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 41
Posts: 1,024
these are also fine on the amiga

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Transcend-...item4168dc1d9e
johnim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 November 2012, 13:08   #42
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
If you want like for like
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=980

@johnim, nice find, are those cards PCMCIA friendly?
Arnie is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 13:14   #43
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
I can vouch for that as that is the exact same card I use in my CF IDE adapter.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 14:30   #44
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
I can vouch for that as that is the exact same card I use in my CF IDE adapter.
Aye, but are they PCMCIA friendly?
Arnie is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 14:41   #45
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
I have never tried it in the PCMCIA slot but I don't see why they shouldn't work.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 14:57   #46
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
A card that works in the ide slot is no guarantee it will work in the PCMCIA slot and vice versa.
Arnie is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 23:34   #47
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Thumbs up thanks

Wow - cheers guys. Guess we need to be cafeful in getting the right hardware. Have seen people selling that Transcend CF as internal HD with a CF2IDE adapter. I guess that card is pretty solid for some miggy jobs, but not so much for using with the PCMCIA.

Thanks everyone
clitosa is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 14:23   #48
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Post Best Reliable Source - Although Not Cheap

Okay everyone - found a reliable source online from amigakit for those recommended SanDisk CF's for use with the PCMCIA. (Here's The Link)

It's not clear from their picture as to the exact type of SanDisk CF it is. But from recent communications with them, I have been told it is a:

SanDisk Ultra (not II) 4GB @ 30mb/s.

I hear that CF's with higher than 10mb/s is more than is necessary when using with the amiga. However I believe this is not problematic, unless anyone can say otherwise?

Thanks again for the guidance.
clitosa is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 19:58   #49
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by clitosa View Post

SanDisk Ultra (not II) 4GB @ 30mb/s.
That's the card I have, works in PCMCIA, haven't tried it in IDE as I dont want to format it.
Arnie is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 21:23   #50
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Eek does the SanDisk CF not need to be formatted to FAT32?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
That's the card I have, works in PCMCIA, haven't tried it in IDE as I dont want to format it.
Hi Arnie, sounds good. I have a 4GB SanDisk CF as a HD via an IDE adapter and cable. Seems to work good there too.

Out of interest, will i not have to format the the SanDisk CF to work between the amiga and pc anyway?

I was going to format the CF on the pc using the FAT32 GUI Formatter recommended on this thread. Before using with the amiga PCMCIA.

Thanks
clitosa is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 23:53   #51
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I got mine from AmigaKit, with the adapter, and it came pre formatted.
Arnie is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 23:55   #52
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
That's the card I have, works in PCMCIA, haven't tried it in IDE as I dont want to format it.

That's the Cf I told you, the one I like more, the one I use, the one that can give you PIO5 with a Fast Ata... the best. Great for Amigakit... I thought they would be using a cheap one like the ones of Ebay. And as I told you the "Ultra" is twice faster than the "Ultra II" (well, it doesn't mind much, as long as both are faster than what you can reach).

Last edited by Retrofan; 28 November 2012 at 00:01.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 28 November 2012, 00:13   #53
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by clitosa View Post
Okay everyone - found a reliable source online from amigakit for those recommended SanDisk CF's for use with the PCMCIA. (Here's The Link)

It's not clear from their picture as to the exact type of SanDisk CF it is. But from recent communications with them, I have been told it is a:
SanDisk Ultra (not II) 4GB @ 30mb/s.
I have just bought two of exactly those cards. They were quite cheap despite being a well-known brand and has a decent speed. However, they both identifies as removable media, causing problems with the partitioning with the original HDToolbox. Using the patched version solved the problem and it is now booting in my A1200 (IDE port).
My older Ultra-II card identifies as a fixed disk, so it worked without any problems with the original HDToolbox.
demolition is offline  
Old 28 November 2012, 13:52   #54
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Ultra 4GB @30mb/s better for PCMCIA

Thanks Dem - sounds like the Ultra 4GB @30mb/s are initially better suited to PCMCIA than as a HD. (Prior to patching anyway ) Good input
clitosa is offline  
Old 28 November 2012, 14:49   #55
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Amigakit can sell you that Cf already formatted with PFS3 for your HD.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 28 November 2012, 22:59   #56
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Floppy disk Testing SanDisk Ultra II 4GB 15mb/s CF with a1200 PCMCIA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Amigakit can sell you that Cf already formatted with PFS3 for your HD.
Thanks retro - will bear in mind amigakit can pre-format the CF.

Have purchased a second hand SanDisk Ultra (unfortunately it's II - could not find just an ultra) 4GB @15mb/s. If it needs formatting, we're going to format it with the FAT32 GUI formatter from this thread. Then we should be ok to use it with our a1200 PCMCIA.

Last edited by clitosa; 28 November 2012 at 23:27.
clitosa is offline  
Old 03 December 2012, 22:11   #57
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Thumbs down SanDisk Ultra Series 4GB CF not formatting

Hi all - Having got hold of a SanDisk 48GB CF, we're still unable to format the CF inside windows 7 to work with the amiga.

When trying to Format with the recommended FAT32 GUI Formater, we are given the error message in the first attached image.

When attempting to format using the Diskpart, we are able to clean the drive but not to format it. This can be seen in the second attached image.

Further efforts to format using windows disk management end with error message "The format did not complete successfully"

Final attempts to format with windows options gives us the error message "Windows was unable to complete the format"

Is there no way we can format this CF on our win 7 pc to work with the amiga pcmcia?

We have heard that these SanDisk Ultra CF cards are the best to use for transfering files bettween the pc and the amiga via the pcmcia. Presently our SanDisk CF is unreadable by either platform.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	REMOVABLEDISKE.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	312.2 KB
ID:	33337   Click image for larger version

Name:	eabpic.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	222.9 KB
ID:	33338  
clitosa is offline  
Old 03 December 2012, 23:09   #58
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
What kind of CF card reader do have, a cheap china knock-off model or a brand one (e.g Kingston, Transcend).

Have you tried using a different CF card reader in your PC ?
Retroplay is offline  
Old 03 December 2012, 23:35   #59
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Thumbs down cheap china knock-off reader

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
What kind of CF card reader do have, a cheap china knock-off model or a brand one (e.g Kingston, Transcend).

Have you tried using a different CF card reader in your PC ?
LOL - it's from china...

No one has pointed out a potential fault with the CF Reader. We do not have another reader to test the CF with.

We've looked at the kingston & transcend card readers. They look multi-functional. (CF, SD etc)

Before we look into buying one, can you recommend any reliable readers (such as Kingston/transcend) that are for the CF cards only?

Thanks, m
clitosa is offline  
Old 04 December 2012, 13:58   #60
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
It's not the first time I've heard of cheap no-name card readers being the culprit.

I have a Kingston FCR-HS219/1 that works with all types of cards I've tried.

Compact Flash for Amiga, MicroSD for NDS and C64+1541U-II, SD for Wii, Memory Stick Pro Duo for my old Sony Ericsson etc.
It just works.
Retroplay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error formatting SANDISK CF Card Gribnitz support.WinUAE 5 30 August 2013 18:39
Problem formatting upper half of CF card Canyon Matt support.Hardware 3 25 February 2010 21:47
Amiga 1200 with PCMCIA Card paulisthebest support.Other 5 22 October 2009 16:54
WANTED: Amiga Network Card (NOT PCMCIA pr PCI) Interceptor MarketPlace 10 30 May 2008 17:29
Amiga 1200 PCMCIA Network Card tihi support.Hardware 5 09 November 2002 16:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24885 seconds with 12 queries